We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 8 stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    432
    170
    38
    22
See reviews for
340
392
53
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westphalia, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This motel is excellent location -easy to find, walking distance to downtown Monterey and easy access to highway to visit other areas such as Carmel, 17 Mile Drive and Big Sur. Rooms were clean and comfortable, have in-room safe, refrigerator and microwave. Owner was super friendly - gave good advice about places to eat and chatted with us every morning as we ate our continental breakfast at the motel lobby. Stayed here for ten nights when we visited Monterey for the Big Sur Half Marathon - would highly recommend this motel - the Del Monte shopping Centre located right across the street - grocery store, nice restaurants and lots of stores including Macy's. It was ideal for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience following your most recent visit with us.

We are very glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with the owner’s suggestions of places to visit. We would always do our best to make your stay special and worth remembering.

At the same time, sincerely appreciate your effort for even recommending our Hotel to other travelers who may want to visit our location.

Again, thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio De Janeiro
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My famiy and me stayed there for two nights. The service was very good, the owners( I guess they are the owners) were very polite and helpfull, giving me Tips about the way I should go take. The Hotel is very well located, in less then ten minutes you can go to the Aquarium and there is a market that you can go walking.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Positive reviews from our valued guests truly inspire us more to deliver the best service to our dear guests. Thank you for an enlightening feedback. Rest assured that we will continue to deliver the service that our valued customers expect from our Hotel. We will also extend your kind words to the owners and hope that he may be able to greet you once again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

We wanted to try out a 'motel' and got way more than we were expecting!

Well appointed with big clean room, comfy bed, free parking and free WiFi, which was the best of our entire West coast trip! The owners were super helpful pointing out local attractions, places to eat and the best routes into town.

Whilst some people might not consider it walking distance into the town, we were more than happy to take a stroll. Its a lovely town and the walk to the aquarium and Cannery Row was very pleasant. We were also pleased we'd walked as we were able to take a look at the street market and shops, something we would have missed if we had driven.

The location is also great for accessing the mall across the street. There are some big name stores and good food outlets too.

Would highly recommend staying here, the amenities and service is amazing value for money!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davinia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We will ensure to maintain the quality of service that you are most comfortable experience to enjoy during your next visit in our Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This Super 8 was good for a weekend stay in Monterey. It is not terribly far from the aquarium, and there is a large mall across the street. Breakfast is typical for this kind of accommodation. Everything was clean in the room.

I do want to comment on an interesting room option at this property.

We had our adult son with us. We are accoustomed to sharing one room as a family, but I imagine our son would prefer to have a little more privacy. Our room had a main bedroom with a small bedroom attached, separated by a folding door. Both bedrooms have separate door entrances to the bathroom. This gave our son a little privacy, and I am sure this room was less costly than the usual arrangement of two separate hotel rooms that have an interior door between them. It worked great for us, and younger children would no doubt like having their own room and TV as much as an adult child.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimsydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We will ensure to maintain the quality of service that you are most comfortable experience to enjoy during your next visit in our Hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It is cheap but it is not good value when the plumbing and heating roars. On the side of the bed facing the heater/air you are treated to a small hurricane every few minutes. The location is "highway central" but the only place you could walk to would be the Del Monte shopping center. There is no breakfast area other than a narrow counter facing the window.

The description "clean" did not fit our room which had a badly stained chair and stains on the bedspread.

I think many places that score well on TripAdvisor do so only because of the price and this is one. And our room request was ignored by the clerk. In Carmel better to spend a bit more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showmehteroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
We sincerely apologize for the very unlikely experience you had at our Hotel. We are saddened that we failed to exceed your expectations of our Hotel during your recent stay.

The comments regarding cleanliness and upkeep of our hotel are seriously taken and will be focused on more to ensure that you’ll have a much better experience in the future. We appreciate that you liked the rates we offer for our accommodations as we also want it to be equaled with quality services.

Again, thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

If you have ever been in a Super 8, you know what type of hotel they are, so to our surprise this one location was a bit different in regards the size of the bedroom, the double vanity, amount of towels and pillows you get and cleanness of it. Staff very amiable and very good location. Definitely a good option for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
It is indeed very flattering to know that you had a great stay at our Hotel. We are very glad that you well-appreciated the accommodation we had.

Our goal is to create a great stay with value worth paying for. We are very glad that we’ve achieved that during your stay. Your comfort and convenience is of outmost importance to us.

It has been a pleasure to serve and we are looking forward to delight you even more in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
1,003 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 55 in Monterey
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Property: Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super 8
Monterey Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing