We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plesant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    429
    169
    37
    22
See reviews for
339
391
49
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and this particular motel far exceeded my expectations for the Super8 standard! We stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. Granted that the space was a bit cosy for a room that should fit up to 4, we managed to find space for all our baggages. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was clean and spacious - it looked like the motel was recently refurbished. Room also included a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Sufficient electrical sockets for all, and they even included a USB outlet for charging my mobile! Parking was not an issue for us, although other guests who return later in the evening (past 10pm) may have some trouble looking for a parking space. Walking distance from the mall across the street, which had great food and shopping. Only a couple minutes' drive from the wharf.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harlequeen_yx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
It is so nice to hear such a wonderful review about our Hotel. The positive reviews we receive from our guests inspire us more to constantly seek for better ways to improve the services we offer to our dear guests. We are dedicated to excel in service delivery and to hear kind words from you means we’ve achieve our goal. Thank you for your business and we hope you continuously choose our property every time you have a family travel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This motel is excellent location -easy to find, walking distance to downtown Monterey and easy access to highway to visit other areas such as Carmel, 17 Mile Drive and Big Sur. Rooms were clean and comfortable, have in-room safe, refrigerator and microwave. Owner was super friendly - gave good advice about places to eat and chatted with us every morning as we ate our continental breakfast at the motel lobby.Room service was very good too.
It was very good deal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adp2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at our Hotel. We are very delighted to hear that your entire stay had been wonderful. It is enlightening to know that you were able to visit a lot of places with the suggestions given to you. It is our goal to ensure that our guests will be able to make the most out of their stay and help in every way possible. It is indeed a great pleasure to serve you and we are certainly looking forward to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This place was a very pleasant surprise. It was considerably less expensive than many motels in the area. They had mostly updated everything. The rooms were painted in contemporary colors. The bathroom and flooring was redone. They even went the extra mile and painted the tile surround on the bathtub and sink counters. We really liked this place. We would definitely stay there again. They could keep up on things a tiny bit better. The stairs could use a little repair and a lot of cleaning. The staff was very friendly. They called me at 8:30 pm to let me know that my credit card didn't work and that they needed a new number to hold the room. (I had replaced my cards after my wallet was stolen.) It is corporate policy to let the room go but the manager Mike Patel made sure to give me the benefit of the doubt and call me. Apparently Monterey was all booked up and my room had become quite valuable. I really appreciated this gesture. It went way above and beyond policy. There breakfast was supposed to be available from 7 to 10. My husband went down at 9:55 and there was no breakfast available. The next day we went down by 9 and had a decent continetal breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deliwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It has been a great pleasure to serve you during your stay. We are striving to constantly provide the best lodging experience to each of valued guests. It is indeed enlightening to know that our efforts are well-appreciated and was able to exceed your expectations. Please let us know of your next stay as we aim to serve you even better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alamo
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We just needed a place to sleep so we could go whale watching. Our room was spacious and clean. Service, though not friendly, was efficient. Breakfast was spartan but adequate. All in all, it was good value for your money.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. The comments we receive from valued customers help us improve the services we provide and encourage us to create an even greater stay each time you visit us.

Our staff, though efficient as you mentioned was not friendly enough. We will make a note on that and share your input to them. We want you to feel comfortable during your stay with us and a friendly staff will make your stay much different and even better.

We value your feedback and hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westphalia, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This motel is excellent location -easy to find, walking distance to downtown Monterey and easy access to highway to visit other areas such as Carmel, 17 Mile Drive and Big Sur. Rooms were clean and comfortable, have in-room safe, refrigerator and microwave. Owner was super friendly - gave good advice about places to eat and chatted with us every morning as we ate our continental breakfast at the motel lobby. Stayed here for ten nights when we visited Monterey for the Big Sur Half Marathon - would highly recommend this motel - the Del Monte shopping Centre located right across the street - grocery store, nice restaurants and lots of stores including Macy's. It was ideal for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a great experience following your most recent visit with us.

We are very glad to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay with the owner’s suggestions of places to visit. We would always do our best to make your stay special and worth remembering.

At the same time, sincerely appreciate your effort for even recommending our Hotel to other travelers who may want to visit our location.

Again, thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.8 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Property: Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super 8
Monterey Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing