We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We found the hotel very comfortable. The bathroom was very...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    441
    176
    38
    24
See reviews for
354
399
54
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ukguyz
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

we had booked one night at this motel on a recent vacation. What can I say it was a super 8. It was clean and tidy in all areas. The room was a little dated but very clean and very well equipped. The air conditioning worked well and we had no reason to complain about anything at this hotel

We did not partake the free breakfast as we wanted to hit the road as soon as possible.

Yes we can recommend this hotel and if we are in the area again we will use it again.

Room Tip: found our room to be quiet as soon as the sun went down. During the day light hours a number of othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for choosing top stay at our Hotel. We are pleased to hear that your visit was comfortable and that our accommodation was able to fulfill your needs. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and valuable feedback helps us gauge how well we are doing and what we need to improve more. We would like to express our great appreciation for recommending our property to other travelers. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to your next visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here as a stop off while driving from San Francisco to LA via the costal highway. This Super 8 is in a good location and offers good value for money. We arrived a couple of hours prior to check in time and the room was ready for us. The room was comfortable and had all the amenities that we expected. We did encounter some noise from what we assume were other guests talking loudly for about an hour on the walkways, otherwise everything was fine.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 2nd floor which meant carrying suitcases up stairs as we didn't see a lift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank si1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience and comments regarding your stay in our hotel. Your feedback is indeed of great importance to us. We sincerely appreciate your input regarding our great value accommodations and amenities. We always strive to exceed your expectations of our services and we are glad we’ve achieved that during your stay. Thank you for your business, we look forward to your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here over the Christmas holiday as a short getaway from San Diego. We were looking for a more budget minded choice so we could spend more money on the Aquarium and dining. This is a decent hotel/motel type place fairly close to the harbor. We walked to the wharf for dining and shopping options. The man at the front desk was nice and helpful. The rooms were fine and what you would expect for the rate. Chances are if you are in the area you are out and about and not in the room much except for sleeping. We did not sample the breakfast on offer as we wanted to get to the Aquarium early so I can't comment on that. Overall a decent place for the money. My one tip is ask for a room away from the stairs-just avoid people going up and down the stairs late or early if you are trying to sleep.

My only complaint was the rooms on either side of us had multiple smaller kids in them-pretty noisy too early in the morning for me. Of course this is not the hotel's fault as it was over a holiday and lots of families with kids at the hotel. Just a case of losing the room lottery as the place was fully booked.

I would stay here again as the price and location were totally acceptable.

Room Tip: I would ask for second floor (only 2 floors) less noise and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubuff1453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
We appreciate that you took time to send us a detailed review of your recent visit at our Hotel. It is always very nice to hear positive comments from our valued guests like you.

We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful Christmas Holiday at our Hotel. Our aim is make your Holiday extra special and we are glad that you have experienced our satisfying accommodation with great services provided of our dear staff.

Thank you for giving us the insight into how we can better serve our guests in the future. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

my husband and I stay there over the weekend. We were there for a relaxing mini vacation. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. the staff was friendly. We will be returning. We were very pleased and I'm thankful for all the reviews on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We sincerely appreciate your time and effort to write us a very insightful review. It is very rewarding to hear that we’ve achieved our aim to provide you a great stay. We are glad to be part of your special vacation and we are very happy to know that your entire stay was relaxing and comfortable. Rest assured that your kind words will be shared to our staff and we are certainly looking forward to serve you with same pleasant services that you enjoyed in your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
2.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 56 in Monterey
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Property: Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super 8
Monterey Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing