We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2.5 stars and tripasvisor has steered me wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I'm on a 2+ week trip in CA with 10 different hotel stays. All but one were booked because of tripadvisor reviews. This is the only past read reviews so far that is wrong. Here are my issues:

- hard beds; I woke up with a back ache
- tired rooms and bathroom; the cleaning could be a little better; they should vacuum occasionally along the wall
- there's a plunger in the bathroom - that doesn't give me confidence
- the clock radio doesn't keep time
- the cement floor under the carpet isn't even

The positives
- huge room with a door between the two beds. Great if traveling with kids. Also 2 tvs

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveling_mom-Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We appreciate that you've brought to our attention your feedback and comments regarding your recent stay in our Hotel. Our customer’s satisfaction is important to us as we want you to feel confident with your selection. The areas that need further improvements which you have included in this review will be assessed and handled accordingly. We want our guests to enjoy a stay they truly deserve for the value they've paid for. We hope that we can make things right with another chance of serving you much better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

427 - 433 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

we stayed at this hotel due to the favorable reviews on this site. The room was clean but we were told the sofa would be included in the extra cost we paid when we booked the room was included then at check-in was an extra $25.00. The room has paper thin walls you could hear them sneezing in the next room. the other room had quite a lot of people and was so noisy we called lobby twice called 800 number who transferred us to lobby again no answer. On my way to sleep in the car went to the lobby no one there gave up. To make a long story short I slept much more comfortably in my suv. The food is snack stuff for breakfast and they eyeball you as you eat so you don't take too much. Please I beg you for a good nights sleep go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traci C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

It is extremely disheartening to hear about your recent stay at our Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience. We would like to let you know that the least we want to happen is for you not to be comfortable with your stay especially that you traveled with your family. Our staff was also assisting another guest in an urgent situation- (locked in their room) and we are sorry that they were not able to answer your calls. We are also saddened that you felt uncomfortable during breakfast, the flat screen was right above our breakfast stands and with other guest and some staff talking about the missing plane in the news made you feel that they are looking at you. Please be assured that we want you to enjoy a fulfilling and satisfying breakfast as well as a comfortable and relaxing stay. Feel free to contact us if we can be of assistance in the future and hope for another opportunity to deliver superior services that you expected from our Hotel. Please do consider us again on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for 3 nights during Spring Break. First impression was great -- the manager was friendly and went out of his way to help me with a side issue not related to the hotel. Our rooms were fairly large and felt newly renovated -- clean, good size fridge and microwave, double vanity sinks, tub and shower. For such a nice place and being a holiday week, the price was very reasonable.
Next, the breakfast was great for a place listed as 2 star. There was the usual fair of cereal, toast, and juice, but the addition of toaster waffles and oatmeal was nice.
This place is on the edge of town, but the peninsula is small and the drives into Monterey and Pacific Grove weren't too bad. Plus, the hotel was conveniently right off the freeway and across the street from a shopping complex. Anyone traveling with children would love the proximity to Dennis the Menace Park -- a must!!
I was very impressed with this Super 8 and surprised it was only rated 2 stars by AAA. This is a great place for the value, location and friendly staff. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rsptchr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We sincerely appreciate that you've enjoyed your Spring Break stay at our Hotel. Your feedback inspires us more in providing our guests an excellent stay with superior services- fulfilling breakfast, fresh rooms and wonderful amenities, and your kind comments will be surely be shared with our staff. We are even thrilled to hear that you recommended our property with other travelers and made some great suggestions for them to experience during their stay. It was a pleasure serving you and we look forward to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked into this hotel for one night and I must admit when we drove to the entrance I was a little disappointed, however once we went to our room it was ok. The beds were actually very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The breakfast the next morning was good, not too much choice but it was sufficient .As we were only staying for one night it was ok however if it was for longer I would of preferred a different hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bud86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We deeply appreciate the insight shared by our guests as it helps us grow and improve in delivering quality services that our guest truly deserves. Your input regarding a more welcoming ambiance as well as more variety in preparing breakfast will be highly considered to provide you a more satisfying stay in the future. Again, thank you very much for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 April 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Rose Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed in Monterey for 8 days, and we slept well all nights. The room was comfortable and clean. Good beds and pillows. The hotel is silent and neat. The staff helpfull. Breakfast simple. We'll be there again for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2nd floor 2 queen beds very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernando A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is indeed of great importance to us. Our staff and team were pleased to hear that you appreciated our efforts to make your 8-day stay comfortable and relaxing. Your input regarding our comfortable beds, pillows and clean rooms will guide us on what we need maintain to ensure more delightful stays for our guests in the future. It was a pleasure to serve you, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#40 of 56 in Monterey
155 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £44 - £2,344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super Eight
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing