We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and very happily surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #27 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value and very happily surprised!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were looking for a cheap stopover on our way to big Sur. Excellent value, nice free basic breakfast, rooms clean and tidy (2 queens), pool cold but nice, grounds nicely maintained. Close to shopping and eateries (upmarket and dennys). Nice neighbourhood.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxy392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for stopping by on your way to Big Sur. Our accommodations are well-kept to ensure that our guests were satisfied. It was a pleasure to serve you during your visit. Please see us again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    426
    166
    37
    22
See reviews for
334
389
49
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Enjoyed out stay here. The owner was very helpful and found rooms for us when we could not get any around town. The location was ideal. There is a large shopping area right across the street. The rooms were lovely, at a reasonable prices, spacious and spotlessly clean, just made for a relaxing visit. The breakfasts were lovely and the staff are very friendly & helpful.

Would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Simi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
It was a pleasure serving you during your recent visit. Our manager ensures that our guests are well-accommodated and spends time to make them comfortable. We’re glad that you liked the great value stay we offer and hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stingy front desk Indian man. Clean motel room. Not the Ritz but decent for the location and price. Super 8 needs to fire the front desk Indian guy and hire someone who knows how to treat customers with kindness and compassion!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank Weihsien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am so sorry for the misunderstanding and inconvenience that you experienced during your most recent stay. I want to apologize for the fact that you encountered resistance and that you felt insulted by the inappropriate comment of the staff member. I hope you will forgive this error and the service that did not meet your expectations and that you will someday return to see how we have grown through guest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Happily surprised! The hotels we usually stay at were priced too high in this market so based on other reviewers tried this Super 8. Well run with nice friendly staff. Two king sized beds in the room! We are on a roadtrip and needed the guest laundry which worked well. Breakfast was just ok.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BennettMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are very happy to discover that you had such a pleasant experience with us! I am glad to hear that we have been an important part of your travel convenience. Thank you for taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,198 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Property: Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super 8
Monterey Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing