We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice for the very affordable price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really nice for the very affordable price!”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

First off, we were able to have the two bedroom layout with a total of three queens. This was perfect for my 3 year old son and 9 month old daughter to have the big room, while my husband and I could have a bedroom with a door to watch TV at night. It was spacious, clean, and very well kept for the price. The bathroom was nicer than to be expected with lots of towels, but the only weird thing was the shower curtain didn't exactly keep the water in the shower as it was too short (it looked like it was cut in half). I liked that it also had a separate room for the toilet, as it was super loud.

The only bummer was that the pools are not heated and with the temperature, it never really got warm enough to go swimming without freezing. And to top it off, the pools all sit closest to the road, which makes it somewhat awkward and loud with the traffic.

The breakfast was okay if you stick with the waffles, fruit, and dry cereal. I wouldn't recommend anything else. The other thing is that it doesn't open until 7 and our last day, we tried to be on the road by 630, which made us miss out on the breakfast.

It was nice to have free wi-fi, free parking, and an all around comfortable stay for cheap! Loved that part the most!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryUNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the privacy in our rooms with 2 bedrooms. Definitely a plus for our guests that are travelling with children. Thanks for feedback on the pool. We do keep our pool heated year around (82 to 85 degrees). We will get our maintenance department to check on the temperature monitor right away.

Thanks for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    343
    176
    51
    30
See reviews for
321
325
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

I was very disappointed when we arrived to our room. The room was full of flies and the room was not cleaned well. We also were forced to sleep on pillows smallerthan a throw pillow about 13 inches in size if that. When we asked for a regular pillow they had none to offer. Who sleeps like that? Never mind that the power went out and we were left with no TV. Im miserable here and can't wait to go home. I would never return or recommend anyone stay here. Cause IT SUCKS !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzosgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
WE are so sorry that you were disappointed! Totally agree about the pillows. Rest assured we will be changing as we were waiting for CHOICE Hotels to approve the new Comfort Inn bedding program. Once the new program is in place, guests will have choice of soft and firm pillows. Will check into power outage situation as we have not had a power outage since last storm which was in January. Again, your comments are noted and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I read another review that the rooms smelled musty but since I was only going to be there one night I went ahead and booked it. The room we got did smell musty to us when we checked into it. After being in the room it didn't seem too bad. However, whenever anyone left the room and returned the first thing everyone said was "It does smell in here". We stayedi n the room and slept through the night so the smell isn't that intrusive. If you have a sensitive sense of smell then I don't think you will like the room. We were guys only there for one night so we lived through it.

Room Tip: Ask to see (smell) the available room first before you check into it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfr4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Guest comments helps us improve upon the services we provide. Rest assured that our housekeeping and maintenance team are made aware of your comments. Please accept our apologies on the inconvenience that it may have caused during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Being a musician, I'm constantly looking for bargain places to stay to fit my budget. In Monterey, Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea is my choice.

I arrived a bit early than checkin time and the front desk clerk had no problem getting me checked in to my room. The room was big and comfortable and the beds too. Free breakfast in the morning made it all worthwhile. Breakfast included eggs and sausages plus the usual fruits, cereals and pastries.

An added plus is the close proximity to a Shopping Center right across the street. This made it so convenient to get last minute items or to replenish toiletries. There is no restaurant at this hotel but the Shopping complex across the street has some fine places to eat.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We are glad we could accommodate you on your budget. Appreciate your feedback on our services and location. Also keep in mind our advance rate offers available online when you visit us next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Nicest comfort inn that I have ever stayed at, and at a great value. The rooms was nicely updated and modern, facing tall trees and wildflowers with a little patio area. Beds were very comfortable. Short distance from all the monterey attractions. Free wi-fi in rooms. Free breakfast included fresh made waffles (regular and blueberry), eggs, sausage, toast, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee and juice, very yummy! Staff was very accomadating. Hotel had a pool, but we only stayed one night on our way down to Big Sur from San Fran. Would definately stay here again if I'm ever in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mgonz045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in Monterey. We were glad you were able to enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast and have a restful sleep in our comfortable beds! We appreciate you taking the time and sharing your comments on a "Great stay" at the Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We were in Monterey for a baseball tournament and decided to stay at this lovely little motel. The staff were exceptional helpful and very nice.. The room was an updated suite and it was very clean and well equiped. It had a microwave and refrig and coffee pot. Not all rooms even have coffee pots anymore. The extra room was very private and even a nice little view out the back window. The breakfast area I believe needs to be bigger, was not enough room for everyone to eat when they came for breakfast..They was a decent selection of food for different peoples likes. I am not a fan of scrambled at motels, so passed on them but the waffles were good and fruit and yogurt too. Overall, I would love to stay here again and would reccommend to anyone that asks...Price was very good too..

Room Tip: If you want a little bigger rooms, ask for the 2 room suites in the area behind the office..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just came back from lovely Monterey, CA. We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and left very pleased. Colorful flowers and clean kept grounds greeted us for a wonderful first impression and we were not disaapointed. Our room was very clean, the beds were very comfortable and bathroom was large enough (although narrow rectangle shape). We were surprised to see a granite vanity and granite shelves in a Comfort Inn. The room was a bit cramped, but since we needed a clean place to sleep and shower while exploring the area, we did not mind. Breakfast was much much better than many hotels we stayed at in the past, and Theresa was always smiling, polite and attentive.

If you are looking for a luxurious place with ocean view, then this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a clean, secure place that offers a great value and rivals higher rated properties in cleanliness, then give this charming hotel a try.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austin_techie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for recommending our hotel. Monterey sometimes gets a bad rap for being pricey! But if you do your research ahead of time, you can definitely find value. You do not have to compromise on cleanliness, comfort, friendly service and value for your money when you stay with us. We also offer great promos such as our advance rate purchase promos. Hope you can plan another trip to Monterey soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,306 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
1,008 reviews
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.3 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing