We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and just basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean and just basic”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

I had read previous reviews regarding the pillows being small, lots of flies... I tried to cancel and would not be able to due to our AA points would be lost. We stayed here for 3 nights. Well, I guess if you are looking for a clean, convenient, and not planning to "use" the facilities, this is fine. The rooms are very very small. The bedspread had ink writing on it. The bathroom door has pen marks as if a small child had scribbled all over it. The shower stall is so small. However, it is very clean. The front desk is so nice. I did request a bigger pillow and they were very kind. Breakfast lady was very nice and it was adequate. One pool was working and the other one was closed down. It says heated, but coming from Florida.. this is toooooo cold. There is a Fresh Market, CVS and easy access to anything you need. If you are looking for more ambiance, this is not for you. THis would be great for kids and families. Or a single. It was fine for my husband and myself as we were up early and just returned late at night after many days for just seeing sights... Bed was comfy, but the bedspread kinda freaked me out.... Furniture is dated, but again.. Very clean and nice staff

Room Tip: Choose to pick one on the end and in the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback and am glad that our staff was helpful and that you appreciated our clean rooms. I do apologies for the ink marks and have already informed our engineering department. See you on your return trip to California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    349
    177
    52
    33
See reviews for
330
332
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Clean well kept room. Nice staff. Attractive grounds with lots of nice plants and flowers. Recommend getting a room on the back lower floor if possible. Those rooms have a nice pagoda covered walk with bistro style tables and chairs. Great place to sit and enjoy a bottle of wine and chat or make new friends. Overall nice place but a great value. Paid $104 plus tax. 5 min drive to cannery row. BRING A JACKET !!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Widows-son32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
I am glad we were able to provide with a "great value" during your visit to Monterey. Hope it was Californian Wine that you enjoyed on our lower level area!!! True, you do need a light Jacket for the cool evenings. Especially if you are going to go down near the Ocean. Thanks for your kind comments. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This property is on Munras Avenue. There are at least five other comparable hotels right next to this one. We did not stay at the other properties, but they seemed in a better state than this one. Negatives: The smell of urine outside the rooms, the tiny shower stall and bathroom and the general state of disrepair on the property. Positives: Location and the staff (depending on who you get! Check in clerk was helpful with food recommendations, check out clerk took forever. They did open the breakfast room 10 minutes early for us though). If you're interested in a $100-150/night property in Monterey this hotel or the others down the street might work. If you're willing to pay more, the Marriott a mile awy might be a better choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Please accept our apologies in not meeting your expectations. We value your feedback as it helps us improve upon the service that we provide our guests. Thank you and we hope to meet your expectations on your return stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Room was very nice, breakfast offered quite a few choices as well as 2 kinds of waffles. Landscaping was beautiful. Was quiet for the location. Staff was wonderful. Wifi worked great. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edolphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay and especially our popular Hot Belgian Waffles at our complimentary breakfast!!! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our drive down the coast. The grounds were nice with lots of potted and hanging plants. The front desk staff was very friendly. The room was basic. While it was cheaper than the hotels in town, it was not such a bargain that I felt like the basic accommodations were totally worth it. With that said, the room was clean. When we arrived the window was open and the room was well aired out. The bathroom smelled of bleach when we first opened the door but it dissipated quickly (but this also assured us it was recently cleaned). The bathroom was partially updated but the shower was an outdated walk-in. The parking spaces are very tight and the hotel was fully booked so every space was taken and parking was difficult. It was too cool to use the pool but it was full of leaves anyway. The breakfast was basic but good enough to get us on our way. Overall this motel was fine for an overnight stay in Monterey.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that we were able to provide an affordable stay that included free breakfast. For the future our website offers advance rate purchase that provides promotional offers. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

First off, we were able to have the two bedroom layout with a total of three queens. This was perfect for my 3 year old son and 9 month old daughter to have the big room, while my husband and I could have a bedroom with a door to watch TV at night. It was spacious, clean, and very well kept for the price. The bathroom was nicer than to be expected with lots of towels, but the only weird thing was the shower curtain didn't exactly keep the water in the shower as it was too short (it looked like it was cut in half). I liked that it also had a separate room for the toilet, as it was super loud.

The only bummer was that the pools are not heated and with the temperature, it never really got warm enough to go swimming without freezing. And to top it off, the pools all sit closest to the road, which makes it somewhat awkward and loud with the traffic.

The breakfast was okay if you stick with the waffles, fruit, and dry cereal. I wouldn't recommend anything else. The other thing is that it doesn't open until 7 and our last day, we tried to be on the road by 630, which made us miss out on the breakfast.

It was nice to have free wi-fi, free parking, and an all around comfortable stay for cheap! Loved that part the most!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryUNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the privacy in our rooms with 2 bedrooms. Definitely a plus for our guests that are travelling with children. Thanks for feedback on the pool. We do keep our pool heated year around (82 to 85 degrees). We will get our maintenance department to check on the temperature monitor right away.

Thanks for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012 via mobile

I was very disappointed when we arrived to our room. The room was full of flies and the room was not cleaned well. We also were forced to sleep on pillows smallerthan a throw pillow about 13 inches in size if that. When we asked for a regular pillow they had none to offer. Who sleeps like that? Never mind that the power went out and we were left with no TV. Im miserable here and can't wait to go home. I would never return or recommend anyone stay here. Cause IT SUCKS !!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonzosgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravellerMonterey, General Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
WE are so sorry that you were disappointed! Totally agree about the pillows. Rest assured we will be changing as we were waiting for CHOICE Hotels to approve the new Comfort Inn bedding program. Once the new program is in place, guests will have choice of soft and firm pillows. Will check into power outage situation as we have not had a power outage since last storm which was in January. Again, your comments are noted and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing