We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Hayward
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding friendly service!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our stay was wonderful! The experience was exceptional because of the wonderful staff and how willing they are to go above and beyond expectations. Mala was an absolute gem and provided the most genuine service. Her constant smile and positive attitude made my husband and I so comfortable and feel at home. It is staff like her that make the experience unique and personable!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessicaBrown2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear JessicaBrown2,

Thank you for your review and your positive review about Mala. Our staff prides themselves on being friendly and helpful in every way possible. Thank you for mentioning Mala by name. She was thrilled when I shared your kind words about her great service. We are here to make sure every guest has a comfortable and enjoyable time with us here at the Comfort Inn – Monterey by the Sea.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town!

Warm Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    343
    176
    51
    31
See reviews for
322
327
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have visited Monterey many times over the last 20 years but it does seem to be getting more expensive so we had a change from the places we usual stay and gave the Comfort Inn a go. It is motel style on a strip that is mostly similar properties. Whilst fairly basic it was clean and had everything we needed. My husband needed to get a parcel delivered during our stay and the staff were very helpful dealing with this. The location is good, we walked to downtown in 15 minutes and the Del Monte Center where there is a cinema/drugstore/Whole Foods/restaurants is just over the road. I'm sure we'll be back in Monterey at some point and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear sjanes,

Thank you for your kind review! I am so pleased that you chose to stay with us. Guest comfort and satisfaction is something we take great pride in providing to all of our valued guests, so I’m thrilled to hear the staff was able to help you with your parcel. I am so delighted you took a leisure walk downtown, to see some of the sites that Monterey has!

Thanks again for staying with us at Comfort Inn – Monterey by the Sea, we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Warm Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed at the Comfort Inn this past weekend as we celebrated my sisters wedding.
We choose to stay at the Comfort Inn mostly based on price (the event was at the Monterey Plaza, so very expensive) but after comparing the two venues, I am so glad we chose this one!

The room and bathroom were both big. We had plenty of space in our two queen room, and the decor, while not particularly modern, was very clean and thoughtful. Little things like a microwave, iron/ironing board (full size!!), hair dryer, and breakfast buffet really make a family more at home. The grounds were well maintained and there were lots of flower boxes overflowing with color!
The location was excellent as well, less than 10mins to Cannery Row and the marinas.
I would stay here again, wedding or not!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your review and your positive mention of our guest rooms! I’m delighted to hear our rooms left such a favorable impression. It is nice to be able to have the needed space when you are away from home. We strive to make each guest feel at home with our plentiful amenities. Our hot continental breakfast is a big hit with our guests! Our flower boxes are so pretty this time of year. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more wonderful!

Best Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This was our first time here. We were warmly greeted by Richard at the front desk. He asked whether we wanted an upstairs or downstairs room. I said a quiet room. He gave us a very nice quiet and spacious room on the upper side by the 2nd entrance. The room was spotless and had everything we needed. Only wished we came earlier to use the pool. The breakfast was fine. I liked the blueberry waffles. There were pretty flowers hanging and growing on the posts.

Only thing I noticed amiss was the exercise bike's foot pedal strap was broken.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Patricia C

Thank you for taking the time to share your assessment of your recent stay at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea. I have shared your great compliments to Richard. He was thrilled that you mentioned him by name and the service he was able to provide to you. Next time you come to visit us please come a little early so you can relax in our pool! Thank you for letting me know that the exercise bike’s foot pedal strap was broken, I have made our maintenance department aware. We are looking forward to your next visit to Monterey!

Best Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Spent the night in March 2014. Nice hotel. The rooms were neat and clean. Very nice office staff. We enjoyed our stay. Our beagle enjoyed it too. We don't normally leave our dog in the room alone but note if that's your plan, you can't do it here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 04Kat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear 04Kat2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. Every member of our team is elated that you enjoyed your stay so much. Our housekeepers work hard to keep the Comfort inn Monterey by the Sea in pristine condition. We know how important our four legged guests are to their owners, so we are happy to hear he/she had a great stay too! We hope to see you and your cute beagle next time you are in Monterey!

Travel Safe,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel tucked into the hillside. Great locale and the flowers and vegetation are beautiful. Nice continental breakfast and clean rooms. Great for a family of four. The room was priced right for the area and it was easy to get to the attractions from the hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Cnieves3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Cnieves3,

Thank you for your sweet review! Our housekeepers work hard to keep the hotel in pristine condition. The hot continental breakfast is a big hit with our guests. I am so delighted you enjoyed it. We are located in the middle of many wonderful attractions; it’s hard to choose where to go first! We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit to beautiful Monterey!

Janea, Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We recently stayed for two nights. Great clean rooms, nice comfortable beds, newly updated bathrooms. Had small fridge and microwave in the room. Even my husband who travels a lot and stays in 5 star hotels didn't complain :-) great value, close to everything, would stay here again without hesitation. They do have breakfast, eggs, toast, cereal, and waffles. Great value for families.

Room Tip: Newer beds, updated bathrooms, quiet and has AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jocelyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Jocelyn L,

Thank you for such a great review! We are thrilled that you found our beds so comfortable and our rooms clean. I am so pleased that your husband thought so highly of our Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea! Our hot continental breakfast has so many varieties I am delighted you enjoyed our breakfast. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,035 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing