We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Santa Cruz, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfy Hotel”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It was a small but very clean room. There was a yummy, warm breakfast in the morning. We were able to take our Lacey girl doggie, which is important to us when traveling. It was a good value for a basic room you just want to sleep in, not spend a lot of time in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seashoregal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear seashoregal05.

I’m delighted to hear you found our hotel to be comfy and very clean. We take the cleanliness of our hotel very seriously, and know our guests do too! We are happy to hear Lacey also enjoyed her visit. Our four legged guests are just as important as our two legged guests! We hope you and Lacey will return soon!

Warm Regards,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    349
    177
    52
    33
See reviews for
330
332
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

was a very quaint hotel, clean, and had an old motor lodge type setting and feeling but was modernized....we stayed in a room with a king bed and a separate room had a twin bed with the largest bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel....was a nice place to stop for overnight accommodations or more if you are wanting to stay and visit all the shops and restaurants which are all within 5 minutes from the hotel

Room Tip: chose the room with separate bedroom if traveling with family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank missingsomeone2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear missingsomeone2,

I’m happy to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay for fellow travelers. It is the voice of our guests that we value the most. I hope you were able to take advantage of our close proximity of all that Monterey has to offer. We hope to be able to host you again in the future! Best of luck to you and your family.

Sincerely,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel was no where what i expected for the money-the only thing good was its location--the shower drain would stick causing me to manually hold it up from time to time to allow the water to drain-the desk lamp had one burned out bulb and one that was about to fall off-the room was musty-the pool was being cleaned the entire time and was never open to use for all 5 days i was there-the free breakfast was not worth it at all-i was disappointed with this place-the girl working the front desk was nice-i will not be staying here anytime soon,,,,,,one more thing-was never able to get on the computer from the lobby.

Room Tip: go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear JohnGenova,

Please accept my apologies for failing to meet your expectations. I’m sorry for the issues you encountered while our guest. I have shared your comments with our maintenance team and they have corrected any issues with your room. In regards to the pool, we actually have two pools. The larger of the two is always in operation, heated, and open to guests from 7am to 10pm. The smaller pool is beautifully maintained, although not used. Please always feel free to contact the front desk. We are happy to assist you any way possible. That’s what we are here for! I’m happy to hear you had a good experience with our front desk staff, and that our location was a good fit for you. We hope you will decide to give us another chance next time you are in Monterey!

Thank you,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked as a one night stop over on our way from SF to LA. Quick pleasant knowledgeable receptionist aided progress to our accommodation and choice of sightseeing. Room allocated was massive clean, tidy and well presented, comfortable bed with parking directly outside. Price included the breakfast which was not expected good selection, hot cold with a most attentive member of staff (very nice lady). Good location easy to find, good accommodation at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed clean and tidy with parking outside. We opted for first floor for additional secur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skeg289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
• Dear skeg289

We are delighted you chose our property as your stopover on your way to Los Angeles! Thank you for your kind words in regards to our knowledgeable staff, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and tasty breakfast. We appreciate your compliments and hope you enjoyed your stopover in Monterey! We hope to see you on your way home to San Francisco!

Drive Safe,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We wait 20 min to check in the front desk guy Lyle very rude to all the people there we were sharing our experiences and taking while we wait , I call 2 days before to ask for a remodel room with a new bed and new bed they say it was gonna be ok. To my surprise they gave me the worst one with wet carpet smelling like urine with wet dirty rug , the bathroom was dirty they forgot to flushed I complain and to my worst nightmare the mattress was old and you can feel the springs . No body helped me I had to sucked up , I didn't choose this crappy place I don't recommend it

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lillyjoe25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Lillyjoe25,

I would like to sincerely apologize for your discomfort during your stay. At the Comfort Inn – Monterey by the Sea we take our guest satisfaction very seriously. I wish you had asked to speak with me while you were still in house. I would have been happy to do anything in my power to make your stay better. We want each and every guest to have the most enjoyable stay possible and leave with a desire to return. We hope you will give us another chance when you are in Monterey. Thank you for your feedback and review.

Kind Regards,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was a wonderful place to stay. We had the Family Suite for our family of 6. The room was very comfortable for all of us to relax after a day spent at the beach. Our children enjoyed the outside porch area in front of our room. The beds were so comfy so we all got a great nights sleep. There was a great variety of breakfast choices in the morning to satisfy everyone.

There was a outside mall just around the street from the hotel. We found a great place to eat dinner and walk around to window shop afterwards. We will stay here again next year.

Room Tip: We had a corner Family Suite which was located in the second parking area down the stairs. I was ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Raquel,

I’m delighted to hear you enjoyed our comfortable family suite for your family vacation! After a long and fun day of exploring or playing in the ocean it’s nice to be able to have a little room for your whole family to stretch out and relax. Our grounds are fun for children to explore, especially finding and looking for the wildlife in the wooded areas in the mornings. We look forward to seeing you next year!

Thanks again,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Price was great for the area, impressive free breakfast (I am a waffle person so it was a very nice treat :)) free wifi and the room had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Bed was decent, but overall we were 110% happy with Comfort Inn by the Sea! It was a last minute idea to stay and it met with our expectations and more! The staff was wonderful and accommodating! Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management247, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Amanda,

I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay 110%! It’s always nice when a last minute decision turns out to be a winner! I’m so glad you decided to stay with us. Thank you! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed our waffles. I hope you were able to try are yummy blueberry flavor! It’s one of my favorites. All of us at the Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea thank you for your kind words and complimentary review! We are excited for your next visit to beautiful Monterey!

Best Wishes,
Janea E., Front Desk Manager
888-930-7666
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,050 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
2.8 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea

Property: Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Address: 1252 Munras Ave., Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Family Hotel in Monterey
#17 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn is ideally located in Historic Monterey, within close proximity (2-15 miles) to major attractions in Monterey plus beaches,golf and many more activities for families,couples or individual travellers. 1 exit away from Pebble Beach/Carmel. Walk to restaurants/shopping/theaters. Gateway to Big Sur. Book your next room, getaway package deals, or call direct for group rates and enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. Take advantage of our off season rates and Aquarium package, whale watching package and Romance package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monterey By The Sea Hotel Monterey
Monterey Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing