We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 31 December 2013

First let me say that had we arrived around midnight - we're from the East coast so it felt like 3 am for us - we would not have spent one night here. When we arrived there was no one in the office. Upon going to our room we found it to be hot and dirty. The comforter was badly stained. The air conditioning unit was directly below the window and when it was turned on it blew the curtains open exposing the bed to the parking lot and highway just beyond. We had to place our suitcases in front of the window and pull the handles up and lean them against the curtains to keep them somewhat closed. The walls are so thin that you can hear everything in the adjoining rooms - the shower curtain opening and closing in the rooms next to you, the chronic cougher, the television, etc. Calls to the front desk were repeatedly unanswered and went to voicemail. At 6:30 am my husband went out for a walk and came back a half hour later telling me that he had booked us at another hotel. He went to the office to check out. Again there was no one in there, the door was locked and no sign of the coffee and continental breakfast they advertise (although considering the condition of the room I don't think we would have wanted to eat or drink anything there). We were beginning to think we had checked in to 'Hotel California' and would not be able to leave. My husband had to come back to the room and after three attempts to phone the front office he finally reached someone. We had booked this hotel for three nights and checked out after one - the manager never even asked why. I guess it wasn't a remote experience. We moved to Hotel Abrego. It was more expensive, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Christopher & K... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very good selection of drinks and breakfast snacks.
Having TV in the Breakfast area is also very helpful.
Front Desk, very friendly and helpful.
Very quiet and comfortable rooms.
Convenient location close to the mall and to the freeway made our trip
very easy.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank for staying at the Monterey Days Inn & secondly
for taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip
Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel & we do appreciate your business.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Room was a little small but comfortable. The walls are very thin, I was able to hear everything. The complimentary breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Jezabel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank for staying at the Monterey Days Inn & secondly
for taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip
Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel & we do appreciate your business.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I love this motel and the Inn Keepers, the Patels are fantastic, friendly people. I love the location with the Del Monte Mall right across the street. I always sty here when I am in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all let me thank for staying at the Monterey Days Inn & secondly
for taking the time out of your schedule to complete the Survey on Trip
Advisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel & we do appreciate your business.
Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Before I forget to write this , I went to check in early , I know check in isn't usually u til later , I get there at 12pm, i tell Prana, " I'm here to check in early " ......from the beginning she was just plain out rude . She said " come back at 3" .......so I told her " I know it's early but can you at least check if any rooms are available" she doesn't even try, and was very quick to remind me " check out is at 11am, and check in is at 3, come back later " ..... My thoughts on this, plenty of hotels to go to in Monterry , why not at least try to accommodate customers right ....we could certainly take our business elsewhere and right now is not peak season . So then I mention " so my mom is disabled ." , what I meant , is we've been in a car for 7 hours, hint hint....she still said " come back later " .....I had to ask her " when should we come back " themselves he says " after 1" ....so I go park somewhere , call Travelocity to get a refund and book somewhere else that treats customers like they care.....In turn, Travelocity called Sohail ,the Manager and magically within 5-10 mins since we left the property, our room was ready .Sohail was nice but I asked him , " how was my room ready in 5 mins so magically and why didn't Prana even try to accommodate us earlier knowing my mom was disabled" he tried to make up some excuse ( I believe it's a husband and wife team so....he couldn't say much )...I talked to one of the other staff and guess what , out of about 22 rooms, when Prana sent me away , only 10 were occupied, AND the parking lot was EMPTY . Wow so she is just rude and lacks in Customer service skills, she just did not want to help. What a great person to employ and make your business look good .

For this reason , we only stayed one night , and for the rest of the nights, we took our business elsewhere. somewhere where they just gave us some basic good customer service and dignity, and they cared.

Other than that , and the only reason I gave more than 1 star, is because the room was decent, it was clean, the property was quiet. Typical budget motel. And everything worked. In fact, I did like the actual room. Very comfortable. The continental breakfast was decent, toast, muffins, juice, coffee and fresh produce.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daysinnmonterey, Manager at Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Christine,
thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying.

I apolozise if one of our employees came across rude to you.
The reason she said what she said was because the room with 2 beds was not ready on the first floor which was what you wanted.
We had all our rooms open on the 2nd floor.

Again I apolozise on behalf of our employee and It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#50 of 56 in Monterey
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
70 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#24 of 56 in Monterey
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium

Address: 1288 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £45 - £738 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman`s Wharf/Aquarium Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing