We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Monterey Hotel with Affordable Prices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I was looking for a Monterey hotel that was close to Monterey bay and Cannery Row, and this Days Inn Monterey was perfect. The prices for Monterey hotels is really high, but this one was much better than the rest and accomodations were good - the staff was very nice. Within walking distance for Monterey Bay, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2009

My 17 year daughter and I stayed in room 125 last weekend. The room had two queen-sized beds that were very comfortable and had three fluffy pillows each. The bathroom had been remodeled with large tiles on the floor and in the shower/tub. The floor was so shiny, it looked wet! The room was very clean & also had a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and hair dryer. The TV had great reception, a lot of channels to choose from, the remote worked, & it even had a "sleep" button. The inn is across the street from a large shopping center with a movie theater, grocery store, etc. It was quiet and the price was very reasonable (it is still the off-season). The young man behind the counter was courteous. Overall, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaJB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2008

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend of July 26, and it was fine for what we paid. The room was clean, not too noisy (except you would hear the fridge kick on every 30 minutes throughout the night), and everything worked. Lame continental breakfast, but no worse than at every other budget motel in town.

The location is good if you have a car, but seems a bit far to walk to places like the aquarium- although downtown Monterey (Alvarado street and the like) is definately within a 15-20 minute walk. Whole Foods across the street so if you want to do a picnic that's pretty easy. Also a movie theater near by so if the kids are bored of sight-seeing they have someting else to do.

I would stay here again if (like this time) they were the the closest hotel to the main attractions that was within my budget. Realistically, I think it's worth paying a moderate amount more to stay in a nicer place and closer to the things you come to Monterey for.

Having said that, it was fine in a pinch and I may stay there again if my budget is similar.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mikey4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2008

Staying at Days Inn was an unforgettable experience for me. The rooms are sunny and very clean, everything that was supposed to be working ( like TV, for example ) did, the price was more than reasonable. And the location! I've walked to the Fisherman's Wharf, to the Monterey Museum of Art, to Alvarado Street and our " Ghost Tour ". There are Trader Joe's and Walgreens for those of us who always end up forgetting shampoo, for example, within walking distance as well. I'm not extremely picky about breakfast, so their Continental Breakfast was more than enough. And you got a free copy of USA TODAY. Overall, I wouldn't dream of staying anyplace else.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ElizabethLDalyCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Stayed one night with grandkids and another family in two rooms. No ac so to keep cool needed to keep windows open to the auto court which let in noise from other guests and busy street . Non-smoking room but need to keep the windows open let smoke in from other guests smoking. Door had been recently reset and swings the wrong way for building and handicapped codes, so you walk into the chairs and have to swing it ALL the way open to come and go.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank reddogeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2008

This place sucked for several reasons. Firstly, it's the local boozer hang-out. When we arrived, at 4 in the afternoon, there were several units with their doors open and people hanging around the hallways drinking. The first night actually wasn't too bad...the rooms have been renovated and are clean but the second night there was a virtual block party with about three or four rooms partying together.....and they didn't even arrive together. This went on until 3-4 in the morning. It's way over priced and really it's a Motel NOT a Hotel. I'd never stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelJunkyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Checked in around 9:00 pm. The stairs up to the second floor were uneven and unsafe in the dark, especially for small children or parents carrying luggage. The toilet was running when we entered the room. You could see light and hear street noise through the gap between the door and the jamb. The cover of the heating unit was broken and lying on the floor in pieces of sharp metal. There was a coffee maker, but no coffee pot. The hairdryer in the bathroom was broken, the on button was jammed. The toilet clogged and then overflowed the next morning, soaking the bathroom floor and carpet. Couldn't wait to wake up and get out of there.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CleanMomAlameda_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#48 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 56 in Monterey
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#49 of 56 in Monterey
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#55 of 56 in Monterey
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium

Address: 1288 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6138
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £54 - £656 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman`s Wharf/Aquarium Hotel Monterey
Monterey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing