We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Tiny Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2011

Nice hotel located close to local tourist spots. Nice lobby area, great service, and decent restaurant with outstanding staff. But the room was too small for four people over two nights. Shower did not work properly on first night.

Room Tip: Check for Larger Rooms before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubba-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Thank you for taking time to complete the Trip Advisor Review on behalf of our hotel. I did receive your comments and I am so pleased to hear you had an excellent stay with us and liked our location. I appreciate your feedback on our customer service, and our staff’s performance. Thank you for letting us know the shower did not work propertly. We did look up your room number and have completed the repair. Our rooms are a bit small for 4 people since they have 2 queen size beds instead of the customary twin or double beds in most hotels. When you do return please ask for one of our junior suites, which are not much more expensive, but have a lot more space for the 4 people. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 1,612 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

Very clean, comfy. Lobby is large and welcoming. Free wifi in room, free covered parking. Nothing happening around the hotel, but 5-minute drive to decent shopping and entertainment areas. No breakfast included in room price, so can't comment. Heated outdoor pool and jacuzzi - looked nice, but I didnt use it. All in all, good value. I would stay there again (if I had a car).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2011

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay here at HGI Monterey. We are glad that you experienced a clean and comfortable guest room, and encourage you to try our breakfast next time you stay, it is one of the best in Monterey! Hopefully time will also allow you to relax in our heated pool and hydrotherapy pool or sit by the fire pit. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Maybe not the best location if you want to walk but that would be the only minus of this hotel.
Great comfy beds, nice quiet area, close to the 17 mile drive and you´re in the city in 2 minutes. Friendly staff and great war pool outside and nice fire place - which we enjoyed a lot - the only thing in regards to this was that you can not bring any drink to the pool - so maybe that would need change during the evenings.

Otherwise great hotel and if I am around Monterey again I would stay here again for sure !!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terka_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2011

Thank you for your kind comments about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey! We look forward to having you back with us again soon. And when you return, it is OK to bring food or drinks to the heated pool, whirlpool and firepit area as long as they are not in glass containers. We appreciate you taking the time to submit this review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

When we arrived to Monterey we called the hotel because the navigator (me- sorry honey!) was lost. The young woman at the Hilton stayed on the phone with me as my husband followed her instructions until we reached the driveway of the hotel. Who else can give such service? Check in was a breeze and we were on our way to our room in minutes. They have free parking (thank you) and security at night- so we were very happy about that. Our room was fabulous- the bed was amazing and the patios here at the Garden Inn have very high walls so that you have complete privacy. We dressed for dinner and chose our destination for dinner. The staff was wonderful in suggestions and arranging our car service!! The next morning, I used the computer in the complimentary Business Center to catch up on my emails (thanks to the desk clerk for reminding me about that courtesy) and off we went for breakfast & sightseeing in Carmel. This is definitely going to be our "luxury away from home" destination.
THANK YOU HILTON GARDEN STAFF!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank studiocitysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

Thank you so much for posting your check-in experience at HGI Monterey.
We are thrilled you had such an easy recovery to being lost navigating to the hotel.
Thanks also for making us your "luxury away from home" destination.
We look forward to warmly welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards,
Kathe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I contracted with this hotel last June for my wedding reception and I was evicted from my bridal suite on the night of my wedding. The hotel staff informed me that some of the guests at my reception were being loud and that they evicted my entire bridal party. A couple of hours later the security guard and two police officers barged into my bridal suite while my husband and I were in bed and said they were evicting us because of excessive noise. It was all lies. The guy at the front desk had a problem with some of my guests and I feel like he was out to sabotage me and my family that stayed there. Every single person with the same last name received a phone call to their room saying that they were being loud. I doubt my husband's parents and grandparents could have been making all this noise. It's ridiculous. I've never been so embarrassed in my entire life and I will never get to have my dream wedding night back again. Anyway, it was a horrible experience for me and one that I never imagined to happen on what was supposed to be "the happiest day of my life".

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Service
1  Thank relaine2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

Thank you for expressing your feelings about the experience you had during your wedding at HGI Monterey. Our staff and management are also disappointed that the happiest day of your life would end the way it did. -- especially after such a successful wedding reception/dinner and receiving so many compliments on the food and service.

In hindsight, we wish we could have come to a more amicable agreement about the events surrounding that evening. Unfortunately we have to take other guests comfort into consideration.

Although there will never be a way to recapture the bliss of your wedding night, we regret the unfortunate end to an otherwise beautiful evening.

Thanks,

Kathe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2010

We did enjoy our stay, the workout room is great and our room pleasant. My annoyance was the lack of afternoon or evening coffee in the lobby; and not having a newspaper or magazine in the lobby Saturday morning when coffee was served.
I find it interesting that a Quality Inn or a Comfort Inn serves all day coffee and at least a continental breakfast, but the Hilton does not.
This Hotel is right on Hwy 1, not in walking distance to the Aquarium or shopping; it is next door to the college.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borinstein, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2011

Thank you for posting your review of HGI Monterey. We appreciated that you enjoyed your stay, guest room and fitness center. We have taken note of your request for all day coffee and thank you for the idea.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Regars,
Kathe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Room not ready - sat in the lobby - not offered the usual warm bottle of water that you come to expect at HGIs. We were finally given a room on the second floor, at the top of the parkade staircase. There is no carpet in the hallway of the parkade staircase. The room is so very small. The bathroom contains a tub/shower combo and a toilet. The door opens to a bed after just one step. No sink. IT is located on your immediate right as you enter the room (where a closet should be) and barely contains the sink - nevermind the coffeemaker and all the other usual bathroom stuff. The closet is an afterthought and is too small to keep a suitcase. Trying to make the best of it - we climb over a chair to open the patio door.... only to be welcomed by the noise of a busy kitchen - dishes clattering, loud voices. Waking up to this plus the greasy smell of cooking at 6 am is not our idea of a vacation. Late at night & early am - no sleep to be had. Hard to describe the sound of suitcase wheels bumping off of a carpeted hallway to the parkade concrete (right in front of our door, remember) and then disappearing with a bump onto another carpeted hallway.

We were so thankful that they gave us another room the next day - we were there for 3 nights. They did not help us with the switch. We would not have stayed but were travelling with another couple. This second room was fine and clean with a patio door opening to the parking lot. We considered this to be a huge improvement.

I have no idea why a chain with a decent reputation would have guests stay in our first room.

Indifferent service - nice pool area that was off limits to hotel guests one day of our visit from midafternoon to evening. No discount or apology.

Lots of better options in Monterey.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRSM1THAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £119 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, bedfinder AG, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing