We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our room was spacious and clean. Little to no outside noise was evident. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast at the restaurant was fresh and delicious. We were very close to Cannery Row and the wharf. A very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CotteyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    594
    244
    96
    32
See reviews for
510
500
61
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed in town for the Spartan Beast Race, was a great hotel, but the pool area seemed a bit mall for all the action that was going on. Only disappointment was that the pool closes at 10pm. Aside from that, the hotel is a bit older and exterior. Not a sense of security, but no problems with cars or room for the days we stayed.

Room Tip: Get to pool early if you want to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We only stayed in the Hilton Garden Hotel for one night unfortunately! The setting in Monterey was beautiful and so easy to navigate. On walking into the lobby- there was an open fire, a spacious loungs with comfy seats and a cookie tray with iced drinks there to welcome guests.
The reception staff were so friendly and helpful and our room was just perfect to rest and relax in. The decor was tasteful, a comfy chair with foot rest, huge TV screen, free Wifi, lovely views and just the right temperature. The bed was so comfy I didn't want to get out next morning! We had a scary experience with our rented car the previous day but Yaria, one of the reception staff was so helpful in sorting it our for us - she really went far beyond her normal duties to help me.
In the dining room they had an early-bird menu for $15 which consisted of a 3 course meal- it was fantastic value and delicious. Next morning we had a buffet breakfast with all varieties of food from cold meats, breads, cheese, fruit, a waffle maker and a chef who cooked your eggs as you like them- a fantastic start to the day.
All in all- this hotel was worth a visit - next time I might stay for much longer. Thankyou to all the staff who made our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-operative Travel

Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Dissatisfied with room location. Wanted a pool room and could not get to it without extreme detour. They had our hallway completely blocked off as well as the parking intended for our room location. Parking blocked for private event. Had to walk down road with suitcases. Was offered no help by staff even though they knew their was an issue both with room location and parking. Staff was rude. Hallway was loud and had construction workers in it during stay?? Also had all furniture at room next door on balcony in our view. Must have been remodeling. Could see pool from our room but had to walk around whole complex because entrance blocked off.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a family trip with our 5 year old. Initally booked and paid for a pool view room and on checking-in early was given an accessible king room quite a distance from the pool, so we asked front desk to relocate us which they did into a beautiful 2 queen bed room, a more spacious corner room on the 2nd floor (241). It was very quiet, conveniently close to elevator (not noisy so that was a good thing), and a great view of the pool which we used during our stay. Although air temperature was cool, the pool was warm enough and spa pool was gorgeous. The room rate included breakfast & was excellent in the adjoining Pacific Grill restaurant, full hot and cold selections with the freedom to order directly to the chef any range of omelets or other cooked item. For convenience we also ate in the evenings as well having returned from our days out. Small limited menu but again excellent food and service. Would definitely consider staying again, having become a HHonors member!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room it will be more spacious and in our case (#241) provided a great balcony view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAGooner2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is new and clean. but this is about it for this hotel.
Location is outside town, so staying here one totally misses the Monterey experience.
The rooms are quite small for a hotel located outside a city, and the bathroom not comfortable.The elevators were located far from our room, which also added to a "motel" feel when we had to take this long walk through the corridors to our room.
Wifi connection is very good and free. Breafast OK.
For the price we paid I expected more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachelIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
I am sorry to see we did not meet your expecations of a Monterey Hotel. Compared to the other large properties in town we typically compare quite well for value offering complimentary wifi, parking and a fantastic location only 1.0 miles from the beach and downtown. It sounds like you were preferring an exact downtown type location which altough very convenient can come at a very steep price during weekends and Holidays. Altough our busy season is a bit more expensive we always strive to offer excellent service that brings more value to your stay. We appreciate your feedback and as always will always look towards improving our experience in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in July while attending a wedding and sightseeing. Friendly staff, well-groomed grounds, nice lobby and bar area. Our king room on the second floor had a comfortable bed, nice fresh linens, had room for an armchair and ottoman as well as a desk, and I loved our balcony overlooking the pool - would sit out there in the morning to drink my coffee (btw, the Starbucks coffee in the lobby is much better than what can be brewed in the room - it's worth the effort to get yourself a cup there.) Nicely groomed grounds with some lovely flowers; the pool area was sparkling clean, towels were picked up and fresh ones provided; there is a fire pit with cozy seating around it, and an elevated patio area where you could sit and enjoy the sun without the danger of being splashed. Free parking, free wi-fi, a short drive to downtown Monterey or the beach, and easy access to Highways 1 and 69 if you are going elsewhere. Now, the small issues: 1) The parking spaces in the garage are tight and you can end up in dead ends down there. By the second day, we just parked outside. 2) The building has long corridors - lots of breaks for access by stair, but only one elevator down to the garage. It's a long walk when you are moving your bags in or out. Not a problem for health folks, but if you have mobility issues, talk to the hotel staff about your room placement.

Room Tip: Get a poolside room if you want to enjoy your balcony. The outside rooms overlook driveways, parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Thank you for your very detailed review. You listed some of the great attributes of our property including balconies on every room, expansive landscaping and our outdoor large heated pool. As you mentioned we also offer complimentary underground parking which is a great amenity in Monterey. We hope you are able to visit us again in the near future and thank you again for your loyalty!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,398 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#6 of 56 in Monterey
278 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing