We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel, though moderately priced has the nicest personnel that I have ever run across. The beds are comfortable and supportive and the linens, including the bed duvets are white and clean. Since my stay is for over two weeks, I am more than happy with the service that includes changing my sheets every day if I so wish. There is good coffee in the new Keurig coffee makes and a restaurant on the property. I continue to be well taken care of here and would highly recommend this place especially for a long term stay. Yes it is off the beaten path but that makes it a relatively quiet and serene place to stay. The only negative is the constant door slamming. And though I will stay here again because it is clean and hospitable, the nickname for this hotel is "the door slamming hotel".

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. Rooms facing the pool are sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsundra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you loved our staff and they treated you like family. I hope we can change the nickname from Door Slamming Hotel to Ultra accomodating Hotel. Our goal is to provide this type of service every night in hopes that if any of your neighbors happen to slam their door we can overcome that small issue with over the top service. We hope to have you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    562
    227
    87
    29
See reviews for
469
475
61
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We visited the Hilton Garden Inn in Monterey hoping to get some rest and for me to work on a book. The business office had schedule 3 wedding bookings while we were there. The noise level was off the charts bad. We were there for 4 nights and 3 of the 4 we were awakened 6-7 times by doors slamming, drunk adults being excessively loud and obnoxious, and high levels of noise in the room next to us. The staff is excellent. They were very helpful, congenial, and pleasant. It would seem that a reputable chain like Hilton could find a solution to such a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
3 Thank Rattlesnake6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your excellent service experience however I am very sorry to hear that some of our newlyweds parties had kept you awake. Occassionally we will have a high demand for weddings on the same weekend in Monterey as it is a great place to celebrate a marriage. We staff overnight security every Friday and Saturday night to minimize this noise as we do have a strict noise policy in palce after 10pm to ensure our guests have a relaxing night of sleep on their vacation. From June-September we staff security 7 days a week. We hope you are able to return in the future as I believe it is not a norm that we have obnoxious guests but rather a one off chance it happened near your room. Thank you for choosing us and we hope we can take care of you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in August. Hotel is pretty nice, room was clean and spacious with a deck facing the pool. Plenty of parking, I'm not sure why another reviewer had said it can be an issue; theres semi-underground and outside (uncovered) parking. It was nice and quiet too. You can walk from the hotel to the wharf, about a 15 minute walk. The beach is only a 10 minute walk away. I got two breakfast buffet passes for being a Hilton Gold member which was pretty nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for mentioning your experience and how it was more positive vs another reviews posting. We do have large underground and exterior parking lots and it is completely complimentary. We also value that you appreciated our breakfast and we also appreciate you for being a Hilton Gold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Given the out of the way location, price, and noisy room, this hotel was a disappointment. I expect more from a higher end hotel.

We liked the look of the lobby and there were nice amenities (we checked out after one night so we didn't get to enjoy them), but our room was very noisy. Every time the upstairs neighbors walked across the floor, we could hear their footsteps and the creaking of the floor. We could also hear every time they opened their patio door (very loud), could hear their conversations, and their toilet flushing. I've stayed in much lower-end hotels that weren't nearly this noisy.

When I complained the next morning, they did offer to let me try another room, but we doubted the other rooms would be much better, so we checked out instead.

Room Tip: You might find the upstairs rooms are a bit quieter. I would not recommend a first floor room or any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hsquared68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for writing your concern about your room stay. We are dissapointed you were unable to have a completely comfortable stay while here at the Hilton Garden Inn. We are a uniquely designed building with balconies on every rooms and much more spread out and spacious than the typically designed Hilton Garden Inn's. Many of our guests due to enjoy the 3rd floor rooms however we get several great stays from guests staying all over the Hotel. it appears the people above you might have been overly active which we apologize this happened to you. We appreciate your comments on our positive amenities and hope you will experience a quieter stay where you see more of a typical experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nice place to stay in Monterey. The hotel is off the beaten path a bit and parking could be an issue. I was lucky someone left as I was pulling in. Nice rooms. Starbucks coffee in the morning. Their restaurant has a $15 breakfast. Looked good, although we didn't try it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for selecting our Hotel for your recent trip to Monterey. We are always striving to be recognized as a great Hotel so we are always looking for ways to improve. Although you experienced tight parking while here one great amenity for our Hotel in Monterey is that we offer free parking to our guests as well as free wifi....no resort fees! It is unfortunate you didn't get to try the breakfast, it has been recognized as exceptional! We hope you can return soon and give the bfast a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel was in a decent location right off the highway and about a 20 minute walk to the wharf. Pros: Free parking, outdoor fire pit, nice outdoor porch on the room, free coffee in the lobby. Cons: Not that easy to get your bags into and out of the hotel if you are staying in certain parts of the hotel (limited elevators), older hotel.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MoBayBrideToBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay. We appreciate you pointing out so many "pros" to staying at our hotel including like you said the convenient location to all of our area attractions. We are not like most Hilton Garden Inn's in the fact that we offer a full seperate restaurant for breakfast and dinner and we have such an expansive pool courtyard and fitness center. We are an old property like many properties in Monterey however we did just complete a full renovation of all guest rooms and public and meeting space. Many of our travelers really like our new product. We hope to have you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco CA, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have stayed here four years in a row and attended the Monterey Jazz Festival. This hotel is perfect because it is clean, neat and has a great staff all at reasonable rates. There are shuttle buses to take you to the festival and they are free of charge. We have a great time each time we come.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for visiting Monterey for your annual trip to the Jazz Festival and choosing to return to our Hilton Garden Inn. It's great you mentioned the shuttle pick-up because it is very convenient having the event Shuttle pick-up right in front of the Hotel, not everyone knows that. Also, we love having you come back and you probably noticed this year that our Hotel was recently renovated with all new furnishings, paint and carpet. We look forward to seeing you again next year and bring some of your friends and family to enjoy as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing