We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well positioned”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This Hilton Garden Inn is well positioned to take advantage of all that Monterey has to offer. Only tried breakfast - it was acceptable. The fitness centre was excellent. We could not rate the PacificGrille as we did not eat there except for 1 breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Joel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for rating our Hotel a 5 Star. We always strive for consistently 5 Star Service and experience. I am happy to read you loved our Fitness Center, it is one of the most expansive in the Hilton Garden Inn Portfolio of 555 Hotels and we are very proud of the variety and space it offers. We hope you can return soon to experience it again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,538)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2013

I checked in on a Tuesday afternoon and was well taken care of. A very pleasant and affable African American guy took care of us. Upon leaving, I discovered that I had "borrowed" one of the nice hangars from the closet. I called the front desk because I didn't want to be considered a thief. "Don't worry about it," the pleasant lady said. "It would cost you more to send it than it's worth."

Other places would have charged me $20 for room theft. Or more.

This makes me want to stay with Hilton again.

Also, GREAT fireplace in the reception area with cozy lighting and such. The music wasn't too loud and the vibe was just PERFECT. Can't wait to come back. Hats off to the staff.

Lastly, Filipina house cleaning lady was very kind.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Daletravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your honesty with your "hanger theft" story. This is the type of service we would like to call "normal" at our Hotel and we want every guest to feel as special as you have. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Close to the freeway, the beach, and local tourist attractions. The pool and firepit are a great place to hang out with friends. Peaceful atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Melisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for your response. Many others also enjoy our location as it such easy access to all of our neighboring attractions like Pebble Beach, Carmel, Big Sur and of course our Downtown. Thank you for choosing us and of course rating us 5 star!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

staff is always friendly. rooms are comfortable. covered parking is nice. overall it is a very comfortable and secure place to stay. fresh baked cookies are a nice addition and the breakfast, cooked to order, adds to the overall experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Dominic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

We are always looking to provide an exceptional experience so I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed our cookies and the cook to order breakfast. Many others also love those amenities. Most important to me is the service so I am also excited to read that you enjoyed that as well, please return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel was quite good, although more expensive than other places we stayed during our time in the USA. It has a really nice pool area, with a spa and a "gas" open fire. The double queen bed rooms were just big enough for our family of four (pretty cramped). It is a nice quiet location, but you cant walk into the main restaurant area in town (Cannery Row). The bar and restaurant area at the front is very nice. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenMilne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

I always love to read the staff were helpful and friendly. We recently completed a renovation and it made the Hotel look and feel wonderful. It is the staff service however that will create a great stay and make you want to return. We thank you for your business and welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hotel, though moderately priced has the nicest personnel that I have ever run across. The beds are comfortable and supportive and the linens, including the bed duvets are white and clean. Since my stay is for over two weeks, I am more than happy with the service that includes changing my sheets every day if I so wish. There is good coffee in the new Keurig coffee makes and a restaurant on the property. I continue to be well taken care of here and would highly recommend this place especially for a long term stay. Yes it is off the beaten path but that makes it a relatively quiet and serene place to stay. The only negative is the constant door slamming. And though I will stay here again because it is clean and hospitable, the nickname for this hotel is "the door slamming hotel".

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. Rooms facing the pool are sunnier
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsundra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

I am so pleased to hear that you loved our staff and they treated you like family. I hope we can change the nickname from Door Slamming Hotel to Ultra accomodating Hotel. Our goal is to provide this type of service every night in hopes that if any of your neighbors happen to slam their door we can overcome that small issue with over the top service. We hope to have you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We visited the Hilton Garden Inn in Monterey hoping to get some rest and for me to work on a book. The business office had schedule 3 wedding bookings while we were there. The noise level was off the charts bad. We were there for 4 nights and 3 of the 4 we were awakened 6-7 times by doors slamming, drunk adults being excessively loud and obnoxious, and high levels of noise in the room next to us. The staff is excellent. They were very helpful, congenial, and pleasant. It would seem that a reputable chain like Hilton could find a solution to such a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
3  Thank Rattlesnake6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for posting your review of your excellent service experience however I am very sorry to hear that some of our newlyweds parties had kept you awake. Occassionally we will have a high demand for weddings on the same weekend in Monterey as it is a great place to celebrate a marriage. We staff overnight security every Friday and Saturday night to minimize this noise as we do have a strict noise policy in palce after 10pm to ensure our guests have a relaxing night of sleep on their vacation. From June-September we staff security 7 days a week. We hope you are able to return in the future as I believe it is not a norm that we have obnoxious guests but rather a one off chance it happened near your room. Thank you for choosing us and we hope we can take care of you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £123 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing