We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but the room was a bit tight.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a great time at the Hilton Garden Inn in Monterey. If you are a HH Gold member then you will also get vouchers for free breakfast which is phenomenal for a hotel breakfast. The only issues I saw with the hotel was the fact that there are stairs to enter into the hotel so if you have a lot of luggage then you will have make multiple trips and can't use dollys from your car to the room. The only other thing was that the room with 2 queens was a bit tight. It was good enough for our family but it could be a bit small for 4 adults.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dky1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for providing your feedback on your last stay. We are so greatful you chose our Hotel for your stay in Monterey. We always want to provide an excellent experience so we focus on very attentive service and keeping our property updated and worth the value. You commented on the size of the room which from experience is very similar to other Hotels in the area but with many adults we possibly recommend upgrading to one of our larger Junior Suites or One Bedroom suites next time. We also have a nice outdoor space with a patio on every room which helps make the room feel bigger and you can enjoy our beautiful year round Monterey weather. We hope you are able to make it back and soon and hopefully experience a bit larger room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,077 - 1,083 of 1,611 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stopped here as part of our pacific coast road trip for two nights (happened to be Columbus Day weekend) to enjoy the area - And I gotta say this was a great Hilton Garden Inn. This is an extra large HGI that has been recently renovated and has a number of amenities; location is just off the highway and a few minutes away from aquarium, wharf, Carmel, as well as a short drive to Big Sur. Our room was on the first floor of the lobby side wing and was very spacious, with a quiet outside sitting area, microwave, fridge, etc. The room was very clean & fresh smelling with a large comfortable king bed. We liked that there was covered parking and elevator access to the guest rooms. We also took advantage of the washer and dryers on site. We did not eat breakfast but did grab some comfort food in the bar area so we could enjoy both the baseball playoffs as well as college football. The cookies in the lobby were too good also.

The folks at the front desk were very nice and very helpful. Can't say enough about their help when placing our reservation and the assistance provided at check-in.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay and highly recommend for travelers to the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from CA-1 to ensure one does not hear traffic in evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mini6322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for riding such a wonderful positive review. We really do see ourselves as one of the most unique Hilton Garden Inn's in the Hilton system as we used to actually be a Hilton Resort about 7 years ago. Our large bar and seperate restaurant along with expansive layout and large pool area really set us apart from the rest. Thank you for noticing and commenting to others. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We were in the area for a business trip and decided upon the Hilton Garden Inn. Overall, it was a pleasant experience. The rooms were spacious, internet worked well, and the fitness area was decent for this type of propery. Breakfast only started at 6:30 which I found inconvenient. I guess people in CA start their days laters. Location wise, it was easy to get to Monterey for dinners. Getting on and off the highway is a bit tricky, but not a major problem.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the highway. It can get a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for the positive review. We appreciate you choosing our Hotel for your business stay. Our Brand HGI Is designed for business travelers and luckily our Hotel is fit for that as well as the Tourist traveler. We apprecaite your comment about our large Fitness Center which we are very proud of. We also offer 20MBS Internet capacity and hope to upgrade this as well very soon to enhance your working experience even more. Thank you again and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We chose this hotel for its location. We were amazed with the friendliness of the staff, the room comforts and completely blown away by the breakfasts each morning. We were also pleased that we could park our car in a secure underground parking lot attached to the hotel. It was a lovely stay and can't say enough nice things about. I highly recommend this hotel to guests looking to be pampered. Our only problem was that we had to check out and keep traveling on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

We are so pleased that you had a great experience at our Hotel. We strive for Top Notch service and experience and it sounds like we achieved it! Thank you for mentioning our great location as many guests feel that is what makes our Hotel the right destination as we have easy on and off access to the other area attractions such as Pebble Beach, Carmel, Big Sur and all of the Monterey Peninsula. We are also only less than a mile from downtown and the beach! Thank you again for your stay and we hope you return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are in Monterey. The service and hotel are top notch. I was travelling in a group of 8; therefore, we needed four rooms. One of the rooms was going to sleep 3 adults and staff at the front desk upgraded us to a larger room with a roll-away bed for no charge! They were also able to check us in at approximately 9:00am because they had rooms that were ready to go! They even accommodated our group with late check out for no charge! Overall, the experience I had at this hotel was superb!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santiago U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

In today's Hotel world a great experience starts and ends with top notch service. Our staff works at creating personal experiences and providing consistency from check-in to breakfast. We always want our guests to trust that no matter how many visits they have the service will always be consistently great. Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Friendly staff, manicured room, easy and central location to everything in the tourist areas. Highly recommend and the rate was great compared to other properties. The best surprise of the property was the breakfast buffet. Staff was so friendly we were lured in by their willingness to serve us. Great offerings and could not beat the price for everything you got. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scout109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for posting about your wonderful experience. We always striver for an excellent stay and we do that by providing consistent service and amenities. We love to hear that things went well and we hope you will return soon to experience our Hotel once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Upon arrival, I was welcomed by friendly staff who provided me with great directions & details about the area. My room was spacious & comfortable. The hotel gym was amazing, the pool & jacuzzi provided an added luxury. I will return to this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank GinaSantaBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for the 5 Star review and for pointing out you enjoyed our very large and well appointed Fitness Center and spacious and enjoyable pool/jacuzzi. Within in the Monterey area our Hotel boasts one of the best pool areas with cabanas and fire pits as well as definitely one of the largest fitness center. We have recently completed a full renovation of our entire Hotel and these areas were also a focus of enhancement to ensure our other guests experienced the same you had while staying here. Thank you again for the review and we welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#8 of 56 in Monterey
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £119 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, bedfinder AG, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing