We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

My family had another great stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. We arrived very late, but our room was ready and comfortable. I liked the placement of the lights in the bathroom. The heater was a little loud, but everything else was great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Njcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, we are so pleased you chose our Hotel again and we delievered to your expectations. We always love taking care of our guests because if you love your stays and we are consistent, you will always return. Thank you again for your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    562
    227
    87
    29
See reviews for
469
475
61
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

As a single father, I was looking for a classy, yet kid friendly hotel for me and my boys. This hotel provided this with flying colors! The heated pool and hot tub were a big hit - even in November! Its just minutes to downtown and very affordable!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank SBviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for your great review and we are pleased to hear that your kids really enjoyed their stay. We have many guests that agree our pool and spa our top notch in this area and I woulld like to point out that while much of the US was below 40 degrees F we were in the 70's over Thanksgiving! We always strive for a 5 Star review and service so if there is every anything you feel would take us from a 4 Star Review to a 5 Star Review please let us know so we can improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altadena, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Very nice hotel with friendly staff & very clean well appointed rooms. Room had a mini-fridge, microwave and coffe maker in room. An excellent value for the rate I paid well in advance. Breakfast buffet was good and right there on site. Location, while not in the center of town is a short drive from everything. It is a 20 minute, 1 mike walk to Alvarado St. bars & restaurants. My only complaint is that the coffee & tea from the Kierig machine in the room tasted awful. I tried bottled & tap water and still the same. Suspect the machine needs cleaning or replacing. Also parking on site was free, but that is changing as of Jan. 2014. That is unfortunate since there is no place else to park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cutter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We can typically judge a successful stay based on if a guest would want to return. We usually achieve this through our Service. In our industry service is what creates loyalty and success. We focus on this throughout our staff training and culture. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level Contributor
140 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

The surprise on arrival at this hotel is that it is not the "standard" HGI design. In fact the layout and plan of this hotel, along with the look, is far removed from the look that HGI aficionados will be familiar with.

The rooms though are familiar enough, although may be slightly smaller than those in the traditional HGI design. They still feature a microwave and coffee maker, and this was one of the newer Keuring pod based machines HGI seem to be rolling out. The coffee quality was good. The room was clean and my only real niggle was that the hotel appears to be use sheets that are too small for the beds. So, if like me, you like the sheet tucked in at the sides as well as the end of the bed, you will not have luck here!

The bathroom was also a slightly non-standard design - the toiler is very close to the main door to the bathroom making navigation a bit of a challenge at times.

The restaurant area is down some steps and across the drop off lane, in a building of its own. Breakfast (free for us due to Hhonors status) was good - I had big fluffy omelettes, plus the usual trimmings, and a cold buffet with cereals, pastries etc was also available.

We also ate in the restaurant one evening. I expected the worst as there are so many well-rated eateries in Monterey (although our experience of one of those was very average), and the hotel restaurant was empty. But all 3 of us had different mains, each was excellent, plus I could have a good local wine without having to worry about driving!

It is worth noting that the hotel is not in the heart of the action in Monterey, although to be fair it does not claim to be there. But if you expect to walk to Fishermans Wharf or The Cannery, you will have a log walk ahead of you - it' a good 10-15min drive to the attractions, and then you have to either pay for parking, or fight parking meters!

But the hotel was a good base. It does not claim to be central, is clean, the staff friendly. I would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for the very thoughtful detailed review. We always appreciate when our guest's tell others first hand of their good experiences. One thing you point out is how delicious the dinner experience was. We are quite different from the "typical" HGI. In fact for many years our Hotel was a full service Hilton Hotel. We have a seperate restaurant, catering, pool area, over 200 rooms and a full bar area. If you are looking for a full service Hotel at HGI value, I agree to recommend staying here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately I think this hotel looks lovely and offers you a fantastic pool area, fitness centre and laundry ( be it only two washers and dryers) ...

But, the rooms are tiny there is no space for a family suitcases and NO SAFE which meant we carried all our personals with us at all times!!!!

The walls and floors have no insulating at all so none of us had much sleep at all.

And for near the $200 with taxes a night that seemed like reasonable money to expect a sleep.

We had someone up stairs that spent all night walking and we could hear every step!!! And the corridors echo so rooms quiet loud.

Disappointed from that part as rest was our main objective!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
We always take our guest's feedback very seriously and always look for ways to improve. One of the unique features of our Hotel is the large patio area on every room and the natural suurounding. We are not located in downtown so we offer a very peaceful surrounding that typically is very quiet. Occassionally we might have a loud guest at night that needs a reminder to keep quiet for our other guests. Our weekend security does a very good job of monitoring this on a weekly basis. We hope next time you visit you might possibly get a top floor room and hopefully a more enjoyable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a mid-price hotel for Monterey as it's located several miles outside of downtown and is easy to drive to the local attractions. We didn't have to pay for hotel parking which is one blessing as parking is very expensive and somewhat out of control for a small town but it helps with their city revenue and keeps the locals from having their taxes raised....The hotel's swimming pool and spa is very nice and warm for November.....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 698d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for the review and staying with us. We understand the Monterey customer has a very high expectation and want the best value when staying in Monterey. We do offer a fantastic pool area, in fact one of the best in all of Monterey. Our location is just 1.0 miles from downtown but it is much more convenient for parking and access to the other area attractions like Carmel, Pebble Beach and Big Sur. We look forward to seeing your return to enjoy our pool and cabanas once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Different hotel layout but it worked out great. Best breakfast with very good chefs. Great location, then again everything in Monterey is 5 mins away. One of the best HGI I have ever stayed at. Had a very relaxing stay at HGI Monterey.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I always love reading that we are one of the best HGI's. We truly believe that we are the most unique HGI in the Hilton System. We offer 204 rooms all with balconies and we are a very spread out property that in reality acts and feels like a Full Service Hilton. We hope others will be able to see it for themselves as we offer a great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing