We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Noisy Room”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Very nice lobby. Restaurant was good, but every night there was lots of noise in hallways and lobby. Also noisy pool area and trucks starting up very early just outside my patio. Two queen beds in the room left almost no room to walk around beds or use desk area. No closet. Just a wardrobe in which the doors would not close properly. Very average stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We value our guest's input and will always look to improve our operation in order to enhance future guests stays. Our goal is certainly not to be average and as you read our reviews and rating a majority are always above average. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future so that you may see the norm vs your recent experience. Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    589
    238
    95
    31
See reviews for
501
494
61
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

On my second night of a two night stay for work. Easiest to break this into Pros and Cons

Pros: Staff was nice, genuinely seemed to care
Lobby is nice and updated
Location is decent
Pool area is nice, although I was here for work so did not get to enjoy.

Cons:
OMG the noise from the road is AWFUL.
They tout a "Powered By Precor" gym. The gym is one of the top items for me. THey have a decent gym. 4 treadmills. 3 ellipticals 2 bikes and weights....BUT. 2 of the 3 ellipticals werent working. The third shook like a leaf and the tv didnt work correctly with blurry picture and no sound. Of the 4 treadmills, one was so shaky I couldnt run on it. None of the pictures on the tv were clear enough to watch. One TV didnt work at all. So overall, the gym wasn't acceptable.

Beds are hard as a rock

Overall the hotel outside the lobby needs an update to match the lobby.

When I return I would likely spend the extra money and choose the Marriott. This just needs a little too much right now. Perhaps because I am accustomed to a new property when choosing the HGI. I would consider once renovated.

Room Tip: Absolutely make sure you will not be on the road side. HORRIBLE road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilovelamp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for pointing out the pros and cons of your recent stay. As I always say in my review responses we always strive for a 5 Star experience and we will continue to work towards achieving that goal. We appreciate the feedback as this is how we can improve as a Hotel destination. We have immediately called our treadmill technician and hope to remedy this asap. Also, we are sorry you experienced noiser than usual conditions, we always work towards notifiying roudy guests when we hear noise complaints. We appreciate your loyalty to Hilton Garden Inn and for staying at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Would definitely stay here again in a heartbeat. Front desk staff were welcoming, and went out of their way to be helpful. I stayed in regular guest room; and it was clean and nice, with a large flatscreen. The rooms also have a mini-fridge and mini-microwave, which is nice. Their fitness room is also large for a typical Hilton Garden Inn; however, two of their ellipticals weren't working properly (TV doesn't work, can't adjust difficulty level on the other). Overall, hotels in the area don't come cheap, but this is one hotel you can trust will be friendly, clean, and comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool/jacuzzi area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imandy0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review. We work very hard to offer exceptional service levels and a consistently enjoyable experience. Thank you for informing us about the treadmills we have called out our service technician and are looking to repair them immediately. We look forward to another great stay in the future and hopefully next time we achieve a 5 Star rating Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This is pretty much a typical Hilton Garden Inn. The staff was friendly and the hotel was clean. It is not a new property and it needed a bit of TLC, but overall it was very good. One of the features of HGI that I like is the cooked-to-order breakfast. No issues with the food, but we had to wait about 10 minutes to get a table because the breakfast room is small and we were there on a busy weekend. When we left, there was a much longer line; could have been a 15+ minute wait. Keep that in mind if you're on a tight schedule. This hotel offered (as I think all do in the area) and advance purchase ticket to the Monterrey Bay Aquarium. Same price as walk-up, but you don't have to wait in line once there and the ticket is good for two days (although that didn't help us since we were only in town one day).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALP1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience booking our Aquarium Package. It does save quite a bit of time in line at the Aquarium. Every once in a while our restaurant will get hit with one big rush on a morning and fill all of our tables at once, it sounds like you might have had that experience. We always want to offer a better value for our breakfast that the typical Hilton Garden Inn's so we offer additional fruit offerings (5 compared to the typical 4) and we cook to order everything from Croissant French Toast to Spanish Omelets. Something atypical of our restaurant is that is a stand alone restaurant seperate from the typical Hilton Garden Inn lobby restarant/bar. We operate this restaurant as its own and offer a great Dinner as well. We hope you get to experience the dining room on a less crowded day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here for a week on business and had a very positive experience. The hotel was accommodating, clean and staffed with the nicest folks. We were able to utilize several of the conference rooms to store materials for our onsite presentations without any trouble and were fortunate to have help from the staff as we tracked down packages shipped from the other side of the country. Overall a great experience and a very nice location.

Room Tip: Watch out for the rooms by the stairs. The doors are loud when opened and closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PghBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We always strive for a 5 Star experience so I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your business trip with us. Next time if there is anything we can do to improve our operation and achieve that 5 Star please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

One of my Monterey "standards." But, walls are paper thin and they now charge $10/day for parking which is petty, especially in a cramped garage. But, I will go back because it is a better value than the nearby competition.

Entrance is awkward. Breakfast ok, but nothing special. Avoid outside rooms on east side next to road - they are noisy.

Room itself was nice. Good bed, free wifi. But as mentioned above, we had very noisy neighbors on a Friday night. The walls are just too thin for a modern hotel. I'd expect that noise in some properties but not here.

I read manager's justification of parking charge. What he doesn't mention is those other hotels are in different parts of town. And the Embassy up in Seaside does not charge for parking.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank abd1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for writing your review and especially for reading my posts. We always appreciate honest feeback so that we can improve our operation. Thank you for understanding our parking fee and wanting to return to our property. The Embassy Suites began charging for parking as well starting in September of 2013. We will continue to make it our Goal to provide 5 Star service and add even more value to our parking and the rest of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Nice place to stay, but their prices are becoming outrageous. Now they charge for parking and it isn't even warranted. We have stayed here over 4 years and the prices keep going up and the value isn't there. Hotel management needs to increase the value before increasing rates.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review and expressing your concern about our new parking fee. We had held off for many years without charging for parking in a Monterey Market where all of the larger Hotels including Best Western, Hyatt, Embassy Suites, of course downtown Marriott and Portola Hotel and all of the Cannery Row area Hotels charged for parking. As it is customary in Monterey to charge for parking we decided to update our landscaping, resurface and redo our parking lot and offer a better experience for parking at our Hotel. As we invested in these upgrades throughout our lots we felt that it was now the time to become even with the other Hotels and we even kept the parking fee below the average of $17 at a reasonable $10. We apologize that you are dissapointed and we will work towards adding even more value to your experience as we are adding designated painted walking paths, new landscaping lighting and also new landscaping in areas that never had been addressed in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 56 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing