We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked this hotel for a one night stay this past weekend. Monterey has always been a quick getaway trip for our family (2 adults 2 kids) and we try to experiment staying at different areas of Monterey. We paid over $140 for the night plus $10 for parking. They have a late check in time of 4pm. I called at 3:15pm to see if we were able to check in a little early but I was told the room would not be ready until 4pm. The parking lot looked desserted when we got there. We got there at about 4:20 and our room was still not ready so they gave us another room on the other side of the hotel. It was not convenient at all with kids. We had to walk across the exit of the parking garage (no sidewalks) to get to a side entrance to walk to our room. The room was very compact and cheap looking. When when we walked in, the toilet was adjacent to the front door so you had no choice but see the toilet when you first enter. The walls are paper thin so that you are awaken by every sound your neighbor makes during the night. The bathroom was very small and felt dirty still. So this one was a disappointment to us. Don't think we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 168. It is right next to the stairwell and you get a lot of noise and traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tiffgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

We sincerely appreciate you posting feedback about your recent stay. We apologize that your stay was less than excellent and that you experienced a delay in getting your requested room type. Due to our Monterey Vacation destination often times we have our visitors checking out late and this can sometimes back up certain room types. We deeply apologize for not being able to accomodate your request when you arrived, we always strive to get this done by 4pm if not earlier. I will take your feedback to my Operations team so that we may improve your next experience with us and others as well. We hope you will try us again to experience what so many others have reviewed as a very pleasurable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

988 - 994 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

I'm a long time HHonors Diamond member and have stayed at a number of HGI. I normally try to avoid them as they normally aren't to the quality of a Doubletree, Embassy or full service Hilton. The Monterey HGI is different. The room I was in was spacious and had a small deck to relax. Entry/lobby was very nice. Restaurant breakfast was great. Although I didn't use it, the pool/spa looked fantastic.

Overall, a great stay. I'm not likely to be back in the area, but would consider this property if I return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5cott5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2014

What a great review, we really appreciate your enthusiasm and your interest in our property. Our goal is to always provide a 5 Star experience that our guest's want to recommend to others. We thank you for your visit and we hope you do get to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Went to Monterey for a business trip-- previously I had stayed in the downtown area, but this time chose the Hilton Garden Inn. While it's not in the downtown core of Monterey, it's close enough to walk there easily, yet far enough away to avoid some of the more unpleasant aspects of Monterey (such as finding a place to park!). We arrived fairly late, but found the hotel easily. Checkin was a breeze and our Second floor room was very nice. No view other than the pool, but it was still lovely and light. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but the breakfast buffet was very good (pricey, but that's breakfast in nice hotels now)-- try an artichoke omelet! Only even slightly negative thing was the rain- it was raining pretty hard and the way the roof is arranged, it meant the rain from the third floor dripped from the edge of that roof onto the roof of our room-- which sometimes got a bit noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnHMapleValley_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for wonderful review. We appreciate you providing your insight into your stay especially the details regarding our breakfast and restaurant. Unlike most other Hilton Garden Inn Hotels we have a full seperate restaurant and it does serve a fabulous dinner as well. In addition to this we also have our Lobby Bar which offers a great experience and also serves the same menu as the restaurant. I am sorry you got some rain, I will tell you that is very uncommon for Monterey, in fact this years marks the least amount of rain in the past 30 years. It is typically very warm and sunny in our area so hopefully you can return and have an even better experience than the first.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

Went to a conference here. This is the third Venue I've been to conferences here and by far the worst. Forced to park in the back forty. Had to order and prepay for a boxed lunch ( I went out see review of the Wild Plum) The room went back and forth from too hot or too cold. Most likely won't go back to a conference here and don't think I would be a guest either

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Yosemitek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for posting your recent review about your Conference stay. We always pride ourselves on offering a great venue to host a conference and to stay while attending a conference. Our service standards and our amenities typically allow travelers to stay productive and have fun during their event. I apologize that your last visits have not gone well here, I will definately listen to your feedback in order to improve for others in the future. We just recently installed brand new air conditioning and heating in all of our recently renovated event space which never existed before last year. Overall the feedback from our event attendees is that they are really pleased with our upgrades in our space and enjoy the F&B lunch offering even though we are closed for lunch in our restaurant. We hope that we are able to see you again in the future to see if we can provide this same level of service and experience that our other guest's have indicated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Location good - rooms need updated and deep cleaning. Very loud - busy hotel, would recommend third floor to control sound. Service good but housekeeping staff not so much. Prefer drinking glasses vs paper cups. Located in wine country but no wine glasses in room & you must purchase wine opener.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at our Hilton Garden Inn and for posting your feedback in your review. We always appreciate recommendations that can enhance our Guest's stay. I am glad that you love the wine tasting experience in our area, many do not know that we have several wineries nearby that you can enjoy tasting. We will ensure to have wine glass available at all times through room service to enjoy your wine on your patio upon returning from tasting. Thank you again for your feedback and we will continue to try and improve our cleanliness to ensure you want to rate us a 5 star in this area as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for 1 night during our California road trip. Very nice and clean,close to downtown and highway. Plenty of choice for breakfast and the staff is friendly.
Rooms are spacious and with everything you need.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alebraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for stopping in for your quick drive through stay. We always wish our guests can stay longer than 1 day as there are so many things do within 15 minutes of our Hotel. You mentioned we have a convenient location which many others agree, we are so close to area attractions including Carmel, Carmel Valley wine tasting, Big Sur hiking, 17 mile drive and of course all of our gorgeous beaches and coastline, We hope your next visit is longer than 1 night and that we can deliver a 5 Star experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Great Hotel. Great Staff. Great Location. Great Pool ,Hot Tub, Fitness Center, Lobby Bar, Desk Staff, and Restaurant. Well situated to get downtown or out of town. Next trip I plan to spend more time enjoying the hotel and its amenities.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for your raving review. Our goal is always 5 Star Ratings and to create a great experience. I am pleased to read that you really enjoyed each aspect of our Hotel from Service to amenities. We look forward to you returning soon to enjoy it all over again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,549 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,341 reviews
1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £102 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing