We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel. Close to everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Altamonte Springs, FL, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel. Close to everything.”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Really like this hotel. I stay here often. As a female traveling on business alone I like it because it has everything you need without having to leave the premises if you don't feel like it. Has a nice fitness room - bigger than most chain hotels. The bar area is very comfortable to eat in by yourself. The restaurant is lacking a little on atmosphere but the food is always very good. Everything is well lit and close. I always request to be near the front of the hotel. Only complaint is that they started charging for parking - like most hotels do.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Allison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for the great comments and for your feedback. We always strive for 5 Stars so we will look for ways on your next stay to improve from 4 to 5 Star Rating. We look forward to seeing your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    572
    230
    88
    29
See reviews for
474
480
61
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey had its good and its bad points in our recent stay.

When we checked in, as a Hilton Hhonors Silver member, they gave us a room that was 'well located' according to check in staff. It was in fact on the first floor, next to a noisy entrance door, with a balcony facing the freeway. After making a significant issue of it, we were given another room, but it was a bit of a production to get it. I would have thought Hhonors silver would have given me more preferential treatment.

Once in however, the room was well appointed and the beds VERY comfortable. The pool and hot tub are nice, as is the adjacent fire pit.

Most staff were helpful and knowledgeable, but housekeeping seemed a bit pushy. They called our first morning at 10 AM to ask when we were checking out, and were we leaving late? This despite the fact that we had 3 more nights to stay there.

The price was somewhat 'average' - but at $145 (non refundable rate) a night, I don't expect to need to pay for parking on top of that - especially as this property is not anywhere near downtown.

Location is decent however - only a 5-10 minute drive from Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row.

I would consider returning, but only if the price is right.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tizmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your great detail about your recent stay. We appreciate the goods and the bads so that we may improve. In Monterey we always have to consider the price to value ratio as our Hotel rates tend to be higher than much of the country due to the demand in the market. We have so many travelers coming to Monterey (especially on weekends) that prices in the entire area can increase dramatically. With that said we all need to focus on adding more value to our Hotels with things such as great amenities, exceptional staff service and a welcome and comfortable environment. We boast one of the best pool areas in the area and although we charge for parking, many of our outlying Hotels such as Embassy, Best Western and Hyatt all charge for parking as well. Some value added items coming soon include Pool Social Happy Hour, Tesla Car charging stations and increased internet speed. We hope you are able to return soon to experience some of these value added items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The location is good, but I'm familiar with the area. In comparison to other Hilton properties that I've stayed with, I would rate this hotel a 4 out of 10. The hotel room I received was directly over the lobby and faced the drop off/ pickup of the hotel, so there was constant noise from people arriving and departing the hotel. I couldn't change rooms because the hotel was overbooked and nothing else was available.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lynn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for returning to Monterey and choosing our Hotel for your recent stay. I am sorry that you felt our Hilton did not rate up to your previous Hilton Stays. As I read it appears you were unhappy with the location of your room however we always strive for better than the average and one of the best Hilton Garden Inn Hotels in the system. We typically are able to accomodate guest requests but sometimes have no flexibility due to occupancy. In all cases we try to provide exceptional service the rest of the stay from FD to Bar to Breakfast and Housekeeping. I will ensure to take this message to our team as a learning opportunity and hopefully next time we will WOW you during your stay, regardless of room location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple nights while we traveled up the coast on our honeymoon. Initially when we got here we went to our King room and it was located on the first floor by the pool and a lounge area. Literally right outside our window. I wasn't comfortable with that as the gym and vending machines and most guest traffic would walk right past our room. I called and the girl at the front desk was very nice and accommodated us by moving us to another room on the second floor. It was a 2 queen room but it had a private balcony overlooking the pool and at least it was more private. The hotel walls are pretty thin, you can hear a lot and it would really benefit the hotel guests if they installed no - slam door hinges. The walls shook and I about jumped out of my skin every time a door closed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your comments about your most recent stay. I am very pleased to read that although some of our other "noiser" guests were not helpful, our FD staff agent seemed to very accomodating. We understand in our industry that occassionally we will have issues with connecting guests and our mission is to be able to accomodate and/or service you in any way possible. We always strive for 5 star service no matter the situation. Thank you again for understanding and we hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We found the layout of this room to be quite awkward. You walk in and there is your toilet staring you in the face. The bathroom is cramped. You can NOT open or close the door if someone is sitting on the toilet without hitting their knees. This could be dangerous if someone has a medical problem. They managed to squeeze two queen beds into the room, but this means that we were constantly tripping all over our luggage, etc. The walls are thin and you can hear others moving around.

On the good side....the beds are very comfortable. The desk is well laid out for business people: huge surface, small drawer, pull out side surface, good lighting, etc. The internet, while not particularly fast, does work. It was offered free of charge. We appreciated the small fridge and the microwave.

The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Cannery Row.

I don't see any reason for the hotel to charge $10.00 per night to park the car. They have more than enough room and they are not located near anything that would attract non-customers to their lot. Just a cash grab.

There is a restaurant on site, but we did not try it. We were informed that breakfast was served until 10:00 am and was $14.95 per person. They have cookies in the lobby until 9:00 pm. Again, we never got in before that, so did not have a chance to sample them.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor. You can hear footsteps, etc. above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your recent review and we appreciate your comments and feedback about ways we can improve as an operation. Our building was built in the 1970's and although we deal with some of the architectural designs. We recently went through a full renovation featuring all new decor and soft goods in the rooms and the Hotel. We hope that many of the upgrades we went through help provide a better overall experience. We will continue to look for ways to add to the overall value in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

While this hotel is decent a recent stay had us scratching our heads. Due to its location one pretty much has to drive to this hotel. But upon checkout we found they had charged us an extra $10 for overnight parking - this in a parking lot that completely surrounded the hotel, was open-air, and never full. I feel it's just a petty way to grab extra $ .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SummerLilyBeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your recent stay. We apologize that you were unaware of our customary parking fee of $10 for self parking. We always strive to offer a great price to value ration especially considering the other large Hotel options in town also charge for parking, in many cases more. We strive for a fantastic service, breakfast offering, bar/lounge at night and patios on every room as ways to feel the value in our stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback and will look for ways to continue to add more value to our experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cordova, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent hotel. The layout is a bit unusual and can require a lot of walking to get to your room if you do not use the underground garage. The hotel is comfortable and quiet and meets the quality you expect from a Hilton property. The hotel is not walking distance to the waterfront and other scenic stops offered in the Monterey area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
I would like to thank you for your wonderful 5 star rating on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and of course for staying with us. I understand your notes about proximity to the beach, we are about 4-5 blocks walking and for some that could be just too long, for those avid bikers and joggers it is sometimes just right. We thank you immensely for rating us a 5 Star and we hope we can continue to provide this type of experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing