We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“near the action but away from the high cost.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“near the action but away from the high cost.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is near downtown but in the trees and the cost is reasonable for the area. The basics like parking aren't downtown or Caramel prices. The staff is considerate and helpful. This isn't like my other Hilton Garden Inn experiences. It had a resort feel along with a restaurant if you didn't want to dress up and spend money in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We really appreciate your detailed comments regarding our "resort-like" Hilton Garden Inn. We certainly are not like the typical layout HGI. We boast a large outdoor pool area with the Hotel wrapping around the entire courtyard. Every room of our 204 room Hotel has it's own balcony to enjoy our year round sunshine. To share some history, before 2006 our Hotel was actualy the Hilton Monterey before it was converted to the Hilton Garden Inn. We still act and feel just like the Hilton's! Thanks again for the great comments and we look forward to hosting your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    549
    224
    83
    27
See reviews for
451
464
59
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This property came in at exactly twice what I wanted to spend, but in the end we saved in other ways, so it turned out to be almost worth it. If you are in a group, this is an ideal meeting spot. The lobby lounge is a good spot to "hang out and catch up", and our small group did just that. We found infused water and were able to refresh after a long drive. Daniel, the front desk manager, added a lot to our experience. Certainly worth chatting with. He did help make our stay a better one and help us create special memories with the area's unique attractions. We thought the bed was decent quality, and the balcony allowed for a welcome bit of fresh air. Refrigerators are always welcome, too.

One knock was getting startled by a loud group near us, and then receiving a call from the front desk - at almost midnight - asking why we created a noise complaint for the people below. I'm sure the snoring next to me was all the indication they needed that their call was both unwarranted and unwanted. It was a small thing.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms really don't have much of a railing, so if you have kids, might want to go for a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina_onthe_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We appreciate your comments and rating from your recent May stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our Guest Experience and enhance our service. One note you reviewed was opening the door for fresh air, one of the great things about Monterey is our year round mild climate, wonderful for escaping the snow in winter and the heat in summer, please come back and visit us again throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Arrived after staying on night at another hotel in the area that was very unacceptable. What difference ! Cost a little more but the Hilton Garden In was far superior in every way. Pillows were a little to soft and the extra $ 10 / night to park in the garage seems a little much since there was ample parking everywhere. Otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank TCODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are pleased to read we provided an experience that was worth your money. We focus on every aspect of our Hotel especially the service experience. We believe we will continue to add to the experience with even more improvements in the future. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Great location. Nicely appointed grounds, easy parking areas. Within 2 mile drive to the sights. Super professional staff, excellent breakfasts, nice large room with balcony & chairs. Quiet rooms, hot showers, clean bathrooms, small frig, Keurig coffee maker in room..,Bed very comfy!
We would come back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thumper19712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed comments and for rating us 5 Star. We appreciate the comments about our in-room amenities, in particular pointing out our brand new Serta King Mattresses! Please come back and experience our Hotel once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We recently traveled with a group of 50 + runners for the BIG SUR Marathon. The hotel staff was so wonderful, friendly, helpful, and accommodating! They arranged transportation for us to the race start buses (we got picked up in a limo! how cool is that! :) at 3:15 am when we needed it. The staff was also knowledgeable about the race and that was very helpful. They gave us great tips. The breakfast was delicious, the rooms were so comfortable, clean, and had great space. They also helped us coordinate a private dinner for our group after the race in a private room. The catering department, catering sales manager and the Director of Sales and Marketing were amazing! They were also very helpful at giving us information on what places to visit and tour, and how to bets get there. I highly recommend this hotel and I can't wait to go back. They made me feel right at home. Best hotel experience I have had so far (and I travel quite a bit)Thank you Hilton Garden Inn for such a wonderful time! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
I can't express how pleased I am on the exceptional stay you recently enjoyed. From exceptional service to personalization and WOW experience, we are very greatful for your comments. Please make sure to visit us on your own time and again next race year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed here on business. The staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and the location is convenient for activities planned in Monterey. I would stay here again, without concern. There is a decent sized fitness center. The iron in my room was defective, but not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for writing the fantastic review of your last stay. We appreciate you posting how you were able to experience all of the close by Monterey area attractions. This would be my number one recommendation to travelers coming to Monterey, make sure to spend enough time to experience the close (within 20 minutes driving) attractions such as Point Lobos hiking/views, Carmel, Pebble Beach, Laguna Seca and all of the beautiful Coast Line in Pacific Grove and Monterey area. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here in April during our CA road trip. Although just outside of town its only a 25 minute stroll to Fishermans Wharf. The rooms were spotlessly clean and had a nice private balcony where to sit for a quiet spell. There is a large 42inch TV in the room and free WiFi through out the hotel. They have nice bar to have a drink and chill after a long day. All the staff were very nice and helpful. We had a small problem with our booking via the travel agent but the front desk staff sorted it out no problem. You have to pay for parking but it didn't detract from an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fujiman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
We appreciate you posting a very positive review about your recent stay. We always focus on providing friendly, professional service and I am pleased to read that you had a great stay. We hope you can visit us again soon and possibly next time we can provide a 5 Star experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing