We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Fresno, United States
1 review
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

It was clean, it was quiet, and it was beautiful. The icing on the cake was the combination of a small refrigerator, a microwave and a keurig coffee maker included in the room for no extra charge. I was there for four days and I will definitely return. I loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you staying for four days at our Hotel! With that much time you certainly were able to experience a lot of what our area has to offer. I am glad you enjoyed the new Keurig Coffee Maker and the fidge and microwave, that is a bonus for our Hotel versus some other Hotels in town. We appreciate your the great Review Title "Awsome Hotel" as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    550
    224
    83
    27
See reviews for
451
464
59
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Its clean, everything works, plenty of parking, easy drive to Monterey, even a reasonable looking swimming pool, and the folks who work there couldn't have been nicer. On the other hand, my room was a little bigger than there was furniture to fill it up. The restaurant food was perfectly fine but you'd never ever go there to eat if you weren't staying there. The food won't make you sick but you'll never remember what it was you ate and you wont want to hang around any longer than it takes to eat the meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fsilverstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to read the service was outstanding and we also really appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant. In our recent renovation we have addes several amazing upgrades to our dining room at Pacific Grille but we always are looking for even more enhancements to our menu and outlet. Thank you again for the great comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Hotel is a bit rundown for exterior areas and fitness facilities. Rooms are nice. Noisy on Hwy 1 side. Hot tub was tepid. Pool side area is nice with a firebox. Staff are curteous. Location is somewhat remote from downtown. Two or three nice jogging routes around hotel but had to scout them myself.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank John M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for comments and review of our last stay. We always want to improve our guest experience so we greatly appreciate the comment regarding jogging trails. Monterey area is such a beautiful place to be oustide and we have one of the longest recreation trails spanning along our coastline (just perfect for hiking and biking.) Thank you again for the feedback and we hope we are able to provide a 5 Star experience on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

A beautiful property with an impressive lounge and entry. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. We were upgraded to a huge 2-room suite with a wrap-around balcony. Thank you! Loved the outdoor pool, even in April it was warm enough to swim! We walked 3 miles to Fisherman's Wharf and back. It was a little tricky crossing the big intersection at Fremont St and Aguajito where 10th St and the Cabrillo Hwy off and on ramps all merge. So on the way back we walked toward Monterey Peninsula College and crossed Fremont St there. The room rate is on the high side for a Hilton Garden Inn, but it is Monterey. Our only suggestion would be to drop the $10 fee for parking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank to_wherenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for comments and the 4 Star Review. We are always striving for 5 Stars so we will look into your suggestions and discuss ways to add even more value in the future. We are very pleased you got to enjoy your fabulous rooms (which sounds like one of our 3 large suites.) We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This is near downtown but in the trees and the cost is reasonable for the area. The basics like parking aren't downtown or Caramel prices. The staff is considerate and helpful. This isn't like my other Hilton Garden Inn experiences. It had a resort feel along with a restaurant if you didn't want to dress up and spend money in town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We really appreciate your detailed comments regarding our "resort-like" Hilton Garden Inn. We certainly are not like the typical layout HGI. We boast a large outdoor pool area with the Hotel wrapping around the entire courtyard. Every room of our 204 room Hotel has it's own balcony to enjoy our year round sunshine. To share some history, before 2006 our Hotel was actualy the Hilton Monterey before it was converted to the Hilton Garden Inn. We still act and feel just like the Hilton's! Thanks again for the great comments and we look forward to hosting your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This property came in at exactly twice what I wanted to spend, but in the end we saved in other ways, so it turned out to be almost worth it. If you are in a group, this is an ideal meeting spot. The lobby lounge is a good spot to "hang out and catch up", and our small group did just that. We found infused water and were able to refresh after a long drive. Daniel, the front desk manager, added a lot to our experience. Certainly worth chatting with. He did help make our stay a better one and help us create special memories with the area's unique attractions. We thought the bed was decent quality, and the balcony allowed for a welcome bit of fresh air. Refrigerators are always welcome, too.

One knock was getting startled by a loud group near us, and then receiving a call from the front desk - at almost midnight - asking why we created a noise complaint for the people below. I'm sure the snoring next to me was all the indication they needed that their call was both unwarranted and unwanted. It was a small thing.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms really don't have much of a railing, so if you have kids, might want to go for a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christina_onthe_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We appreciate your comments and rating from your recent May stay. We are always looking for ways to improve our Guest Experience and enhance our service. One note you reviewed was opening the door for fresh air, one of the great things about Monterey is our year round mild climate, wonderful for escaping the snow in winter and the heat in summer, please come back and visit us again throughout the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penfield, New york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Arrived after staying on night at another hotel in the area that was very unacceptable. What difference ! Cost a little more but the Hilton Garden In was far superior in every way. Pillows were a little to soft and the extra $ 10 / night to park in the garage seems a little much since there was ample parking everywhere. Otherwise everything was great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank TCODY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are pleased to read we provided an experience that was worth your money. We focus on every aspect of our Hotel especially the service experience. We believe we will continue to add to the experience with even more improvements in the future. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing