We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Peaceful place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Stayed for one night on drive down highway 1. The male receptionist was lovely very helpful. We had dinner in restaurant which was an early bird deal which was excellent. The room was lovely nice and clean and well equipped. Good nights sleep in comfortable bed. Breakfast was very good in morning. Only downside was when we left in morning young guy on reception when I checked out could hardly manage a word no thank you for staying with us or have a nice day, which was a shame as the older guy who checked us in was charming.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for recent review and for the comments regarding the service experience. We always work towards a consistent, exceptional service experience so we will ensure to discuss your experience to improve in the future. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the arrival experience as that is your first impression. We great appreciate your business and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    500
    551
    224
    84
    27
See reviews for
454
464
59
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Everything really was fantastic. We were there for a wedding and arrived an hour before check-in. We called ahead and were allowed to check-in early so that we could get ready! It was SO nice! We ate breakfast in the morning and while it was a bit pricey, it was DELICIOUS! The room was clean and well maintained and I especially liked the Keurig coffee machine!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Shawnee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank for staying with us during your recent wedding visit. Monterey area is a fantastic place to have a wedding with all of our historic churches/missions and our beautiful outdoor coastal areas and golf courses. We appreciate you raving about our new Keurig Coffee Machines in every room. We hope you return for another visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed here while we were in town for the Big Sur Marathon. This is an attractive hotel with a friendly and courteous staff. The place seems well taken care of and we felt well taken care of as well. The location is somewhat removed from the action downtown, but is walkable, albeit a longer walk. Be prepared to pay $10/night for parking. That was the only real negative for us.

Overall, the Hilton Garden Inn is a great place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you for the fanstatic 5 Star Review rating of your recent stay during Big Sur Marathon. That event is a fanstastic time to be in Monterey and we always enjoy the runners and spectators. Parking is a new fee for us this year but very customary for all larger Hotels in Monterey. We hope you are able to return again next year and enjoy the area once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Really cooperative staff. Rooms are large, quiet and comfortable. Nice, clean, freindly facility with very good conference rooms and great food. Located in close proximity to local attractions, freeways and the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for writing the wonderful 5 Star Review. We always strive for providing excellent service that allows our guests to enjoy everything beautiful Monterey has to offer. We would love to have you return soon to continue to explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel offers a very comfortable and family-like environment. You do feel as if you are at home. The staff is on-hand to answer any question and to assist with any help you may need in your room. Our Keurig coffee pot was not working and they came immediately to exchange it with a new one. They also have cookies freshly baked in the lobby and the Receptionist charged my I-phone free of charge. I had a great experience there!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 828suzannem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We certainly thank you for visiting us for your trip to Monterey. We would definately not want you to have your vacation with access to your I-Phone, most of us use one as well. We will always be at your service when staying with us, please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

It was clean, it was quiet, and it was beautiful. The icing on the cake was the combination of a small refrigerator, a microwave and a keurig coffee maker included in the room for no extra charge. I was there for four days and I will definitely return. I loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jose G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Thank you staying for four days at our Hotel! With that much time you certainly were able to experience a lot of what our area has to offer. I am glad you enjoyed the new Keurig Coffee Maker and the fidge and microwave, that is a bonus for our Hotel versus some other Hotels in town. We appreciate your the great Review Title "Awsome Hotel" as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings On Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Its clean, everything works, plenty of parking, easy drive to Monterey, even a reasonable looking swimming pool, and the folks who work there couldn't have been nicer. On the other hand, my room was a little bigger than there was furniture to fill it up. The restaurant food was perfectly fine but you'd never ever go there to eat if you weren't staying there. The food won't make you sick but you'll never remember what it was you ate and you wont want to hang around any longer than it takes to eat the meal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fsilverstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. I am very pleased to read the service was outstanding and we also really appreciate your feedback regarding the restaurant. In our recent renovation we have addes several amazing upgrades to our dining room at Pacific Grille but we always are looking for even more enhancements to our menu and outlet. Thank you again for the great comments and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing