We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mr”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Ca, United States
1 review
“Mr”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The over all stay is very good. The restaurant food and services was good especially the breakfast. My only complain was that the occupant right above our room, you can hear loudly when such occupant walks across the their room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Onofre Manalans... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for posting your recent review and for providing valuable feedback about your stay. We always want to create a environment of relaxation and comfort for our guests while providing outstanding service. We will certainly take your feedback to our Managment team and see if there is anything we can do about your note. Thank you again and we look forward to your next return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    519
    562
    227
    87
    29
See reviews for
469
475
61
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
172 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

this is the place to stay. Needed a one night stop in Monterey-without the hordes of tourists and tacky tourist scene that Monterey can be. Although close, this place was far enough away to avoid all that. The only negative was a $10 parking fee-why? What next-a charge for each piece of luggage we take to our room?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanR27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We greatly appreciate you choosing our Hotel for your recent stay. We agree that our Hotel is in a location and layout that will allow you some relaxation away from the Downtown hustle and bustle. All of our major Hotel's in town charge for parking and recently we have been investing these fees into an even better overall exterior experience including lush landscaping, resurfaced parking lots and more lighting. We hope you enjoy our future upgrades and see the value in the rest of our Hotel services. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to offering a great stop in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

A one night stay on our holiday.
Hotel is well located, it is near highway 1 junction, a short drive from Monterey centre.
We arrived earlier than expected but were checked in without a problem.
We had a pool view room which was spacious and clean. There was a it of noise from adjoining rooms but not too bad.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and plentiful, enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petecee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Greetings and thank you for visiting all the way from the UK. It is great to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at our Monterey, CA Hotel. We always strive for 5 Star service levels in our Hotel and we try to create a nice retreat point to enjoy all that Monterey has to offer. We hope you are able to visit us again in the future and thank you again for the positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a good option in MRY without breaking the bank. The staff at the front desk is incredibly friendly and hooked me up with a free razor. They charge for parking. The food at the restaurant is very good and they have a good breakfast, though a bit pricey. No breakfast room service. Room service dinner was good with amazing chicken wings and sub par steak salad.

I have stayed here many times and no major complaints. I have noticed that the sheets slide around like crazy and get twisted around. I'm not sure if they are some shiny material or if I dance in my sleep. I always have to wake up and pull the sheets back on, which doesn't happen at other hotels

Tip: if you see a sign and arrow for the ice machine, turn around and walk the other way if you want to find it

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_and_Morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you and we really appreciate all of the great detailed feedback. We like to hear from our guest's as you understand our experience the best of all and I am so pleased to read that you love our service. I will follow up on the arrow sign and thank you for pointing out how delicious our expansive breakfast is. We appreciate your loyalty and hope you return to our Monterey Hilton Garden Inn once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights and we didn't have a car. There are no "food options" past 9pm, even on the weekends, the restaurant on property closes at 9. We found this a little early. To walk to town is under a mile, so not too bad during the day. Pool and gym are really nice and it's nice to have a fridge in the room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JJL1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for posting your 4 star rating of your last stay. We always want to provide an exceptional experience so thank you for the feedback regarding the restaurant hours. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed our very spacious fitness center as well. Thank you again and we look forward to your retun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Second long term stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Monterey. The manager has done very well in the selection of personnel all of whom are friendly and helpful.
The room had a balcony that looked out onto trees. The bathroom was clean. The housekeeping was done efficiently.
Nothing fancy here, but you can count on clean sheets and a comfortable bed.
Walls are thin and full conversations can be heard in the adjacent rooms.
Thank heavens people went to sleep early.
Thanks Monterey Garden Inn for providing a trustworthy spot to stay when need to be in town.
And the cleaning ladies along the alley facing side of the hotel on the second floor are just
wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms along the alley in back are the most quiet, away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsundra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for the great review of your last stay. We appreciate your loyalty and for returning to our Hotel for the second long trip. We always appreciate our guests pointing out our associates and service level. This is the area we put the most focus on every day to provide the best value for your stay. Thank you for praising out Housekeepers they work so hard and do an excellent job. We hope you return soon and next visit we will strive for a 5 star ratingf!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We spent the last two nights of our California tour in this hotel. The room was quite small and the bathroom smaller yet. The bathroom door was too close to the stool. It was just awkward. This was the least favorite of the five hotels we stayed at. There was a positive side: the hotel was close to the wharf and all the great sea food restaurant choices.
The breakfast was good.

For a Hilton this should have been much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyrocks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your last stay in Monterey. We appreciate you pointing out that we are close to so many nice attractions and dining. Monterey has so many fabulous things to do during the day and night. We hope on your next visit you will be able to stay in possibly one of our JR suites. Thank you again for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing