We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Just great”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have stayed here twice. The front desk staff is friendly and accommodating. I recommend getting the breakfast included if you don't have Diamond or Gold with Hilton. You get eggs Benedict with it! The room are clean. We had rooms facing the pool and this time we had a room with a sun deck! So ask for that. The pool in nice and they have some cabanas. This is one of the better Hilton Garden Inns I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sun deck facing the pool and buy the breakfast if you don't have a tier wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tschniddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Excellence is our goal here at the Hilton Garden Inn Monterey. Thank you for pointing out the excellent Guest Service from our Staff. We always discuss ways amongst our team to provide the best service possible. We look forward to servicing you on another visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    589
    238
    95
    31
See reviews for
501
494
61
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I spent one night here on my bike ride to LA and was very happy with the hotel. I was upgraded to a suite with a deck and got to enjoy the sun for a bit. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk to the water, which worked well for me. I thought this was a good base to explore the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigGFoodie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for visiting our Hotel and posting this great review. We always strive for excellent service and an excellent service. We greatly appreciate your recommendation of our great Hotel. We look forward to another visit in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is an older HGI for sure. It's been very well maintained. Check in experience was OK, people seemed efficient enough and well-trained. The pool area is nice, they have bartender service in the afternoon. Really has a resort feel about it.

Saw one guy get into a discussion with them on the $10/day parking charge he thought had been waived. I got into a discussion them, when looking at the three of us standing there, they said, "you know, these breakfast coupons are only good for two people", I said, "we have three people". Sorry, they said, Hilton Honors is only two. Had they taken the time to look they would have seen that my level is diamond and this is the first time I've ever had anyone complain about an extra person. Ever. On the previous night the Hilton Santa Cruz upgraded our room to a suite and comped all three breakfasts, no questions asked without making us feel like we were trying to cheat them.

That's where I'll stay next time when I'm in the area. This morning, we're going out for breakfast.

Room Tip: Free wi fi with honors gold only
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rzrnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
I would like to thank you for giving your feedback and for choosing our Hotel for your last Monterey stay. We always strive for excellent service so I wanted to take this moment to apologize for falling short of that goal for you. We greatly appreciate your loyalty to Hilton and would like to welcome you back to our Hotel. I would ask that you reach out to me before arriving so I can ensure your next stay goes to your 100% satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Rooms not worth the price. Noisy. Breakfast is buffet style & short order combined, but you place your order to the cook. Very chaotic. Restaurant cannot accommodate the volume of hotel guests...line forms out the door for a table. Stayed 2 nights, didn't use any other hotel amenities. Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jose E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We would like to thank you for staying at our Hilton Garden Inn in Monterey and we want to give our sincere apologies that it did not go as you expected. Typically our reviewers have wonderful things to say about our Breakfast as it is is cook to order breakfast with so many options. It appears that you were in the restaurant at a very busy time and had to wait to be seated which is very unfortunate. I would love to have you return as I am confident our staff would take care of you and I believe the lines were a one time case. In any case we greatly appreciate your business and we hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Fridge was going on and off all night with too much noise, enough to wake you up abruptly from sleep when it came on. We were too tired to call in the middle of the night to move to another room. Hopefully that was just specific to that room. Location is excellent. Clean. Front desk should have done more to compensate lack of sleep. We were given free oat bars and a newspaper, but should have been given points or deduction from the bill.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank DiscrimTaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank your comments in your review about your last stay. We always appreciate feedback as it is the only way that we can improve. We apologize that you heard so much noise above your room, we hope that next time we can find a nice quiet area of the Hotel for your stay. We are very pleaed to read that the rest of the stay was enjoyable and we will always continue to focu on making the entire stay 100%.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Good location, within walking distance to the wharf, Dennis the Menace park, cannery row, monterey aquarium and Alvarado Street (downtown).

The front desk was extremely helpful and very customer service oriented. They gave excellent recommendations for off-site dining and entertainment. They were very accommodating with my late check-out request and maps of the area. They even gave me multiple recommendations that gave "complimentary" appetizers with my meal purchase.

The pool view is a must. The non-pool view rooms have a view of the traffic on HWY 1 and the surrounding streets. The doors and windows are thin, so you'll hear people in the hallway and at the pool. Double pane windows and door sweeps would definitely help out. That's why it lost a star in the rating.

The beds were nice and comfortable. The linens were of good quality & the towels were plush.

Warm, fresh baked cookies in the lobby everyday @ 5pm.

The balcony was very nice. I enjoyed having my morning coffee while sitting outside and relaxing in the sun.

There is a Keurig coffee maker, microwave and mini fridge in the room. The K-cups for the Keurig are easy to use and they have hot tea and decaf coffee options as well as regular coffee.

The price was pretty steep for the hotel and although I probably would stay here again, I'd probably only do so if I had a discount of some kind.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your very detailed and honest review. We always love to hear recommendations and suggestions from our travelers. You also pointed out so many great attributes of the Hotel including the service level. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant recommendations as there are so many great restaurants around Monterey area. We hope you can visit us again in the off season when prices around Monterey tend to go down significantly from our Peak summer season. Thank you again for the great comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Room was very good, even though would recommend to not choose a "Pool view" room since noise level can get high and windows are not insulating the noise.
Hotel is an older HGI facility, but well maintained. Depending where your room is located it will take some walking on long floors before reaching the lobby. Location is not too bad, but you will need a car to get to cannery row / aquarium etc.
Staff was attentive and very friendly.

Room Tip: If you want less noise do not choose a room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayson Z, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Monterey, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We appreciate your very good review and for staying at our Hotel for your previous July stay. We always strive for an excellent 5 Star review and we do this with an intense focus on achieving top notch Guest Service. One benefit of our expansive layout that you mention is that we are able to have a balcony on every room. This allows our guests to enjoy the beautiful year round Monterey weather while relaxing in the fresh air. We hope you got to enjoy this weather as well and we welcome you back to have an even better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 56 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing