We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
LEEDS, uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We stayed at the Hilton Monterey In July 2010 with my husband and 14 and 12yr old daughters.
We arrived late at night after our drive from Yosemite-about 3-4 hours(stopped for dinner).
we were quickly checked in-fabulous reception area with open fires-very welcoming!

we share a room with our daughters and I think there was ample room!
Beds were high and linen very clean and gorgeous.there was a microwave in the room which we made some popcorn!

Loads of free parking(I say free cos many hotels charge for valet parking these days that you have little choice but to use and at great expense)

FREE WIFI IN EVERY ROOM!

A LAUNDRY AND WASHING POWER WHICH IS PAYABLE($1.25 ) but so handy when you are travelling the West coast and need to freshen your clothes.

Was a 5 min drive into Monterey centre(Cannery Row) but the hotels we looked at there all charge valet parking approx $30 per night.
There is no view to speak of at the hotel but the pool was a lovely refreshing break for our kids in the afternoon with towels provided.

There is also free Tea and coffee provided in the hotel foyer in the mornings and cookies in the afternoon.

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL AND THANKS FOR A LOVELY 2 NIGHT STAY.
Really could not fault this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addicted2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    570
    230
    88
    29
See reviews for
474
479
61
268
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I booked this trip for my Mothers 65th Birthday. We wanted to get away for the weekend and have a nice relaxing stay in the Monterey area. I am partial to Hilton Hotels so this is where we decided to stay. Big mistake.
I used my HHonors points to book the room. Upon Check in, they did not "have any rooms available" which was incredibly strange since I had the confirmation and they had already depleted my account the amount of points for the night. Once that was straightened out, they finally gave us a room. It was clean, and well kept but there were multiple spiders(3) that would fall from the ceiling fixtures such as the sprinkler heads, during the evening (hence the score of 2). This was very disconcerting to me, it kept me on edge for a while. After the spider fiasco, we finally started to relax and then the banging started... it sounded like major construction or somebody decided to move furniture right behind our headboards. And this wall was the outside of the building not another room so there was nothing we could do. It made us jump all night long, it went on from 11pm through 5am.
This noise, spiders and banging were all brought to the front desks attention when checking out and the person at the front desk could care less... It was so incredibly frustrating to spend valued points on a supposed 3 diamond hotel stay and have it be one of the most un-enjoyable experiences. We requested some point compensation from the front desk, she called management and they said it would be taken care of... that never happened. Very frustrating. Unfortunately, as much as we love Hilton, we will not be staying here again unless there are major changes.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocketgirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We stayed here for one night as part of our Highway 1 'road trip'. We wished we'd stayed the extra night in Santa Barbara instead! We arrived at the hotel around 5pm and found ample parking. Check in was swift but once we'd got to our room we couldn't wait to get out again. They'd squeezed two beds in to a room that should have only had one! The corridors smelled very stale and it was a strange layout - a maze of corridors. We went to The Inn at Spanish Bay for dinner - pricey but well worth the sunset views if you time it right and the food was delicous. Upon returning to our hotel later on - around 11pm, we struggled to find a parking space. We were not the only car driving round in seach of somewhere to park and we had to all reverse out of the underground car park. We opted for breakfast at the hotel rather than search on the road and whilst the breakfast was ok, it was overpriced. Overall, we were eager to get back on the road and forget this hotel; which for us says a lot, as we normally don't set high standards for one night stopovers.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnJo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed two nights at this hotel. It's right off Highway 1 and was very easy to find and just minutes from all you'd want to do in Monterey/Carmel. The staff were very friendly and we were greeted frequently in the hallways, etc. The room was a little tight, but very clean and smelled "fresh". There wasn't really any room to put all three of our suitcases and leave them open. There was an armoire that was more in the way than anything else. We could hear the people above us walking around (there are three floors and we were on the first.) The coffee in the room wasn't very good, but the coffee in the lobby was. Our room overlooked the pool and had a small, nice balcony. The pool was heated and the entire pool area was great. There was a hot tub and a nice fire pit to hang around at night. The parking in the underground garage was a little tight and sometimes hard to find spots later at night. All in all it was a very nice place and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacaygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The good news: great location (as other reviewers have pointed out) to serve as a base for exploring; really good customer service. The room was very clean.
The bad news: the living room furniture is from the Reagan administration and is worn out - not just dated - really worn out and almost useless. The sofa bed in our suite was threadbare and worn and the mattress was in need of replacement. This is the kind of furniture that one would see on a curb for disposal - not what one would expect in a resort hotel. The room is spacious but completely lacking in functionality - only one little oval cocktail table for the sofa and chairs, one small built-in for the tiny fridge and coffeemaker - so much space, so little (good) furniture! The ice machine was broken on floor 2 and it was quite a walk to find the one on the first floor in working order. The room had quite a bad odor upon arrival - and then again upon returning to the room at the end of each day. Noise is a bit of a problem - thin walls and ceilings allow running, jumping and most visitor movements to be heard at all hours.
The tiny on-site restaurant lost us after we waited in line for a breakfast table for 10 minutes without a word about what was happening - even a greeting would have been welcome - just a total lack of concern from the stay-behind-the-desk greeter. (The line was long and getting longer by the second.)
Bottom line - Keep your expectations low. If you get a really great deal on the rate, then you will be ok with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shopgirlblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Excellent hotel, very clean with adequate services. Kept to a very high standard of cleanliness with all public areas kept very tidy - including pool area. Setup a bit quirky, but fine once you get your bearings. Soundproofing could be better but not too noisy.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

Location was very convienent to Hwy and downtown Monterey and Carmel. Great covered parking garage.

Room was large, but configured very poorly. TV was wayyyy too far away from the bed. Walls are very thin but didn't cause too much of a problem.

Nice treat in the afternoon delivered to your room. Snacks and bottled water.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triptaker215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
0.7 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.0 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Monterey

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Address: 1000 Aguajito Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Monterey
#9 Family Hotel in Monterey
#11 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Monterey 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Monterey just completed a full property renovation April, 2013 and sits nestled among majestic Monterey Pines and mature Live Oaks in a dramatic and colorful garden setting. We are conveniently located near California's scenic Highway 1, 1/2 a mile from the beautiful beaches of Monterey Bay, and less than three miles from Monterey Peninsula Airport. Our tastefully appointed hotel guestrooms and suites offer: Individually controlled heating and air conditioning, Private outdoor balcony, In-room refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker, complimentary wired and wireless high-speed Internet access and 42 inch flat screen hi-def TV's.Self-parking is available to all guests for $14/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey Hotel Monterey
Monterey Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing