We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn Monterey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Monterey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Nice location and a good value. You can walk to all the sights. Staff was not all that helpful when asked for restaurant recommendations. Clean rooms and nice breakfast buffet in the AM.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intnltrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write in and let us know about your stay. We're glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and rooms, and hope that you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    316
    87
    31
    6
See reviews for
284
275
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We're (family of 4 of 2 adults and 2 teenage girls) just back from our West Coast trip, including a couple of very pleasant days at the HIE at Cannery Row. Now if I had a pound for every night I've stopped in a Holiday Inn/HIE I could probably pay to fly back to the USA again, so what I'm saying is I'm very familar with the experience. So, from a hotel point of view the HIE at Cannary Row was what I expected, nice rooms, pleasant staff etc. I guess because this was an HI Express there were a couple of differences, it's smaller than most other Holiday Inns I've stopped in. For example, there isn't a dedicated dining area. The hotel does a free breakfast, which was pretty good, but was served in the hotel foyer and was usually pretty packed.

However, the real up side of this hotel is it's location. It really is superb, in that we dumped our rental in the (free) car park, and walked to all the local attractions such as the Monterey Bay Aquarium. So overall it was a great experience, and we'd definitely go back next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottingham_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row and very glad that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location! I would agree that being able to walk to the shops, restaurants and Monterey Bay Aquarium are what sets us apart from other hotels. Thanks for such a nice review, and thank you for being our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We chose this hotel based on price, location and allowing all 5 of us in one room. The hotel was clean, nicely appointed, and had a friendly staff. The room was plenty big, and breakfast, while not the Ritz, was definitely more than adequate and offered everthing from yogurt to bacon to pancakes. Very gool location and value for the money. Parking was also good and free.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidwestMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you so much for this review! It's so nice when things turn out better than expected, isn't it? :) We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Cannery Row hotel and were able to take advantage of our close proximity of local attractions. Thanks again for writing such a great review, and we hope to see you again next time you travel to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Though an older remodeled Express it does fit the location image wise. We were on a top floor and found the wind noise from window leakage a bit of a bother. Short walk to Cannery row in one direction and 15 min. walk downtown in the other. Breakfast was okay.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
We're so glad that our location close to Cannery Row and the Aquarium worked well for you, and thank you so much for your compliment to our staff! We really appreciate that. Hope that you will come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey, and thanks so much for writing in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
233 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed one night here and it was fine - good value, good location, and good breakfast - it was quiet for us on top floor, but our friends had people above them and said it was very noisy. No bottled water available, only soda machine and it only took dollar bills.

Room Tip: Stay on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you so much for your review! We're really glad that you enjoyed yourselves here. And thank you for the tip about the sodas - there was a problem with the dispenser but we are working with our supplier to be sure to offer bottled water as a choice from now on. Thanks so much for bringing this up!

Thanks again for your review, we hope that you will choose our Cannery Row hotel again next time you're in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed on the 3rd floor and it was quiet but an odd array of stairs are required to reach it. Front desk staff were accommodating and breakfast was okay but the location is what makes this hotel worth it. Just steps away from a trail that goes ten miles down the beach. It's also a shortcut to cannery row. Right across the street is a very fancy hotel Montery Plaza so you can enjoy their courtyard,restaurants,and shops and the beach. It's so beautiful there. Also everyday in the lobby at 530 they have cheap wine,crackers and cheese which is a nice touch.The price of this hotel --almost 200/night is steep but it really is about location and comfy beds.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
We're so glad that you liked the hotel and were able to enjoy our convenient location on Cannery Row. Congratulations on being able to enjoy so many of the nearby attractions! We hope that you will be able to come and stay at our hotel again next time you're in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We spent 3 nights here and had a wonderful time. The property is neat, clean, and in a great location. It is an easy and pleasant walk to anything you would want to do in the area: Cannery Row, Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, dining, etc. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MOB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thanks so much for letting us know you enjoyed the hotel! We're so glad that our proximity to Cannery Row was convenient for you and you were able to enjoy the local attractions. Please come and stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row next time you're in Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Property: Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing