We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good price considering the location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good price considering the location”
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Wasn't expecting much as it's a chain hotel but the location is superb for Cannery Row and the aquarium etc. Rooms were a decent size, clean and well appointed. Check-in and check-out was very quick and easy with good friendly and helpful staff.

Only gripe, as with many hotels of this size, is that the breakfast area was very busy when we needed it so we skipped and walked in to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
So glad to hear that you liked the hotel, and sorry that the breakfast room was crowded when you came down. We do have additional seating in the courtyard, which is pretty nice this time of year when the weather is so nice. Hopefully you can come and see us again and give it a try!

Thanks again for writing in, we appreciate it and appreciate your business, as well. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    332
    93
    31
    7
See reviews for
300
287
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My review is just about a repeat of the previous one.
Stayed one night - really nice room and facilities (the TV selection was outstanding) - great location - friendly staff - wish we had arranged to stay longer - definitely would stay again.
The breakfast was standard HIE fare, one downside was that the breakfast area was a bit small.
Otherwise, the best stay during our road trip around California

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichieRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 2 October 2012
Wow, this is great! We're so happy to hear that you liked the hotel so much, and wish you could have stayed longer as well. Thanks so much for the review, please come and see us again when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

While this hotel is not the newest in the Holiday Inn chain's ownership, this turned out to be a hidden charm. The hotel, which is located on Wave Street, is just one block away from Cannery Row. That means the Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as Fisherman's Wharf is within walking distance, so if you leave your car there, you receive free parking. I said the rooms are a nice size, and easily handled us and all of our luggage. The express breakfast was nice with a different main course each day, but with the great little cinnamon buns that one comes to expect from HI.
The access to the upper rooms require a ride on the elevator and then a walk down a few steps. The price of the rooms was moderate and I would not hesitate staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the first floor to eliminate the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signals1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Thanks so much for your generous words! We're so pleased that you discovered the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row and enjoyed its close proximity to Cannery Row and the Aquarium, room amenities, breakfast and free parking. We hope that you will stay with us again when you have the chance, and thanks again for writing in. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Well situated 10 minutes walk to Cannery row, 15-20 minutes walk to Monterey Bay Aquarium, very clean room, good wifi connection, nice staff, had wine & cheese every night at 5:30 pm courtesy of the hotel... Interior garage for parking, very pleased , would return , decent breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grosminet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
Thank you so much for this terrific review. We're so glad that the location and amenities at the hotel worked out so well for you, and really hope that you will come back again some time. Thanks again for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We decided to extend our stay in Monterey and after checking out of the Portola Hotel down by the Wharf, we found a room left at this HIE on Cannery Row. After the so-so room at a 4-star property, this is in fact a step up! The rooms were very recently remodeled, Direct TV LG 32 inch LCD, great AC, curtains block all light, free high-speed WiFi, FREE parking underground, a free light breakfast, a free wine & cheese reception every night, and very friendly and helpful staff!

In all candor, I had a reservation at this property and I cancelled it for a 4-star bid on Priceline and the room I got at the Portola Hotel was not as nice as this at Holiday Inn Express! Better amenities and easier to get in and out of the area and an overall better room experience.

Next time I come to Monterey I will stay here! It's convenient and a great room!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeNMiSelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
WOW! What a fantastic recommendation! Thank you SO much!!

We're really glad that the hotel met (and surpassed) your expectations so well, and thank you for letting us know that you appreciated the value and accommodations at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row. We're so pleased that you were happy with your stay, and really hope that you will be able to come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed for a night as part of a road trip around the USA room was one of the smallest our family of 4 had but as it was only for a night was not a problem. It was clean and that was more important. Friendly staff at check in and a nice little area for a quick breakfast on a morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonomousdurhamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
So glad to hear that you liked the hotel! Thanks so much for letting us know, we're very glad that you found us and hope that you will come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

This is a pretty typical Holiday Inn Express, nothing too fancy. The room was clean and lobby seems to have been updated recently. And, the location was excellent for exploring Cannery Row (including the Aquarium) and the Wharf. All within walking distance. Nice to have breakfast available as well.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kmoeller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
We're glad that you enjoyed the hotel and breakfast, and found our location to be convenient to Cannery Row. Thank you for being our guest, we hope that you will come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,981 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Property: Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing