We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Tehachapi, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good location but pricey”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here October 11-13 in order to attend the CSUMB open house. The two double bed room was quite pricey at the AAA rate; no view except of the lower level roof; no gym & no spa; no sunlight into our particular room and the two windows were hard to get open in order to get the air circulating. The double beds were extremely non-supportive & small even for double bed standards (and I am a tiny, petite gal), the decorative pillows dirty/stained. However, the rest of the bedding, and for the most part the room itself was clean. There was no walking room between the wall & beds & it appeared that that area was not vacuumed. I always know when kids stayed in the room because that is a dead giveaway when you see cheerios or other food items on the side or under the corners of the bed where the housekeeping staff don't bother to vacuum. And how hard is it to wipe the dust off the top of the TV & clean the sticky stuff off the tv remote? We always bring our own Lysol & Clorox wipes for minor clean up but do we have to start bringing our vacuum on vacation too? Come on people! I think my next career move will be to go into hotel management. I've stayed in far nicer Holiday Inn Express facilities (thank you HIE Turlock, CA for our 7 years worth of quality stays) than this one. Basically you are paying for the location. The expanded continental breakfast was very good & varied both mornings we were there. There also was wine & cheese in the evenings. The only down side was the extremely limited seating for the breakfast - right smack in the lobby in front of the check-in desk area. We were up early both days so we had no problem with seating but witnessed many guests having to balance their meals & bowls of cereal with kids in tow & have to retreat back to their rooms. Front desk staff were extremely friendly; grounds were clean & well-kept and the parking was underground & easily accessible.

That being said, the location was great & within walking distance to great restaurants, the Aquarium, and all the shops & bay. Just keep in mind you are paying for the convenience of location, location, location. Would we stay here again - possibly. My sister happened to be in Monterey a few days before us (mid-week) & stayed at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa for three nights & had an upgraded room with an extremely lower rate with an ocean view. Go figure! Was HIE worth the price we paid - not in my opinion but was high due to the weekend rate increase.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Wave Street & not the back. A high floor will alleviate an early morning w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
We thank you for your comments, although I find myself at a bit of a loss as to how to respond.

Our double beds are, in fact, standard double extra long sized and were replaced within the last couple of years as part of our last remodel. I'm sorry if you didn't find adequate walking room between the bed and the wall, the hotel was built as a boutique hotel and all of the rooms have a slightly different layout. We've tried to maximize the available space as well as we can.

We certainly apologize if the room seemed to be less than perfectly cleaned, and will speak to our housekeeping staff about this. We do hold to a high standard of cleanliness in our rooms and make every effort to hold to this; again, our apologies if this wasn't the case in your room.

Regarding the rates at the hotel, as you noted weekend rates are considerably higher in Monterey than weekday rates. I would also point out that our hotel includes free breakfast for every guest, as well as free wifi internet and free parking which can add up to a considerable amount at some of the resorts in town. We do think, and many of our guests seem to agree, that all told we represent a very good value on Cannery Row.

Again, thanks for your comments and we're very sorry that you weren't completely happy with your room. We hope that you will come and stay with us again another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    329
    91
    31
    7
See reviews for
297
284
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The hotel well exceeded our expectations - the whole place looked to have been given a refurb very recently, the rooms were large and very well maintained. We had a partial sea view, but some rooms clearly get a full view - perhaps this is worth requesting at time of booking (didn't matter to us much as we weren't really there in the daylight!) What was superb was the location of the hotel - literally 2 minutes walk to Cannery row, 5 minutes to the Aquarium, 10 minutes to Fisherman's Wharf and with dozens of bars and restaurants within 2-3 blocks. However, the hotel itself still managed to be incredibily quiet and undisturbed. Being able to park for free was perfect, as we abandoned the car for our entired stay and switched to walking / boat rides.

Room Tip: Request a King room with sofa bed and a sea view - the premiums are small and make your stay even be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
We are so glad to hear this! Exceeding our guests' expectations is our goal and we thank you for letting us know that you were so happy at the hotel and were able to walk to all of the nearby attractions, restaurants and bars on Cannery Row. Thanks so much for writing in, and we hope that we will be able to see you again on another trip to Monterey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Lovely room, clean and a good size with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was included in the price of our room which was amazing as it was a very competitive rate. We visited lots of the local restaurants which were all very good and the Aquarium which was AMAZING - managed to stay there all day - and it was just a short walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting the Monterey Bay Aquarium nearby! Thanks for writing in and letting us know how things went, and please come and stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Our first stay in a Holiday Inn Express, so we were not sure what to expect. This hotel is in a fantastic location with free parking. You can leave the car and walk to Cannery Row, the Aquarium and Fishermans Wharf. The hotel is very attractive, built around a courtyard with sofas and pictures of local hero John Steinbeck. The rooms and out door spaces are spotlessly clean. We stayed in a KIng sofa room which was very spacious. The breakfast buffet was great and had hot items as well as cereals and baked goods. The staff were happy to provide trays to take food back to your room or a grab and go bag. There was wine tasting on our first evening and then wine and cheese in the lobby on our second night. The reception staff were very helpful and organised as were the staff in charge of the buffet. Very impressed with this hotel, we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Wonderful! Thanks so much for your feedback, we're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and do hope that you'll be able to visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willaston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

This hotel is in a fantastic location. Our room was large with views to two sides including a sea view. Continental breakfast was served each morning and drinks and snacks were available throughout the day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. Considering the prices of Sonera nearby hotels, the price was incredibly reasonable. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Monterey.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenHerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad that you enjoyed your room, our convenient location in Cannery Row, and the various other hotel amenities. We really appreciate your writing in, and hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

This was not a typical Holiday Inn Express because no microwave in the room and no laundry facilities. However, the front desk has a microwave and will gladly microwave your food if it is not SEAFOOD... They said that no microwaves were in the rooms because people would microwave their leftover seafood meals which would leave a very strong fish odor that was difficult to remove.

This is not a good hotel for elderly or handicapped because you may have to go up and down stairs to get to your room. We stayed on the second floor and when you got off the elevator, you had to go down a set of stairs... then we had to go up another set of stairs to get to our room. Not good when you have to tote suitcases.

Ask for a room on the first floor if you do not want to carry suitcases up and down stairs.

Now, having said this... parking was free, restaurants and shopping within walking distance, including an antique store. Easy access from the road.

Room Tip: ask for a room on first floor if you do not want to drag your suitcases up and down stairs. Even th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maui4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Thanks so much for your comments, we're really glad that you liked the hotel and found the location to be so convenient. Yes, we did have to remove the microwaves from the guest rooms as the smell of seafood was becoming a problem in the rooms... very sorry about that! As mentioned we do indeed have mini-flights of stairs to navigate, please do ask at the front desk for help (or request a room that doesn't require climbing any steps).

We hope that you will come and stay with us again sometime, thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burbank, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We stayed at the H.I. Express--Cannery Row on September 4, 2012 for 3 nights. We would have stayed a 4th, but we were locked into our next destination. Had a great stay, starting with the check-in. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable, but we have to give a special thanks to Alex at the front desk for the great room and for going the extra mile when we had some questions.

The location is fantastic: right near everything, yet somehow just enough away from it so that you weren't constantly in the hubbub. The Aquarium is a 5 minute walk, most of Cannery Row even closer. We really enjoyed the Coastal Path (paved and unpaved in areas) that is literally right outside the front. It's a beautiful walk along the harbor to Old Monterey and both Wharves. Very easy, very very pleasant. We walked mornings, and at night, felt perfectly safe all the time.

The hotel itself was super clean, with a very comfortable bed, a great bathroom and shower with plenty of thick towels. The "little" things were nicely done, too. For instance, there were plenty of convenient outlets right where you needed them at the desk in the room, in order to plug in/charge your laptop, cell phone, what have you with no hassle. The wi-fi worked fine in our room (306 I think) and the TV had all the stations we needed. Parking was fine too. Yes, some spots were tight if you had a big SUV, but there were many that were just fine for any size. And, best of all, free!

One drawback was the coffee at breakfast. We like a strong cup and this was just not up to par. BUT, right across the street is a coffee place that serves Peet's. So, for a couple of bucks, we got the coffee we liked and still had breakfast at the Holiday Inn. Sure, nothing fancy, but enough variety to hold you until lunch time.

Many people comment on the stair situation. It's just the nature of the property. It was a bit odd the first time, but after that, totally ok. Down a few steps, then back up a few. If you are disabled or otherwise not able to climb a few stairs, sure, it's a problem. But if you are anywhere near "able-bodied" it's not an issue.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors in the front have a view of the Bay (fog permitting!) We had a corner room with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zzyzx6986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Wow, thank you so much for such a great and detailed review! We're delighted to hear that you liked the hotel so well, and thank you for mentioning that the stairs weren't a problem, as they really aren't for most of our guests. We're glad that you were able to find a nearby solution for the coffee problem, and that breakfast otherwise was satisfactory. Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review and we really look forward to welcoming you back another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,356 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Property: Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing