We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely and welcoming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We were looking for a comfortable one night stay with 2 children. The reception was friendly and very informative. They made great recommendations for dinner away from the usual touristy traps. The rooms were recently done up and there was plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children with an abundance of luggage. The bathroom was in good shape and the shower pressure was great. The only minor complaint would be that the heater/air conditioner was very loud and would wake us up when it was turning on and off so we just rugged up and turned it off. Breakfast was included. It was simple but had enough variety for everyone in the family. It was within walking distance of everything and parking was free. Everything was easy from checking in to checking out.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biggles32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Wonderful, we're delighted to hear that you liked the hotel so well, from our location on Cannery Row to the free breakfast in the morning. Thanks so much for a wonderful review and we hope that you will be back to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    322
    89
    31
    6
See reviews for
290
278
24
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

The hotel is in a very good location. Ideal as a jump-off point for exploring Monterey. Lots of secure parking spaces beneath the property. Nice rooms with blackout curtains for that extended sleep-in. Join the wine and cheese cocktails at 5:00 pm, then walk out to cannery row for dinner. Perfect! My soulmate (who's into 5-star hotels) says: "It delivers". Enough said.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingHoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
We're so glad that the hotel fit the bill for both of you... high praise, indeed! :) Thanks so much for writing in, we're glad that you found us and really hope that you will be back to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn, Missouri
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

It's in a great location...easy access to all shopping and restaurants. Pretty typical hotel. Nothing fancy but just fine if you need a one night stay.. price is a little steep but that's because of it's location. Pretty kid friendly, no complaints. Bed was extremely comfy and room was clean. Have stayed here many times in a pinch.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSArchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
So glad that the hotel is able to meet all of your needs. We look forward to seeing you again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

The Holiday Inn Express in Monterey near Cannery Row is a hidden gem. It has a great location and is easily accessible to all of the area attractions and near the Bay. You can hear the sea otters! It is within walking distance of the Aquarium and shops. The rooms are spacious and lovely, and parking private available under the hotel. The complimentary breakfast is good and acceptable, and the rates are reasonable for Monterey. We definitely will return to this hotel and can recommend it. The only caution is if one has trouble walking, unless you request a ground floor room, there are a lot of steps. Staff is friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesdogs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review and recommendation .We are so happy you had such a great time while visiting our area and were even able to enjoy the sea otters. We will pass on to the staff your great compliments and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My family and I stayed here a couple of times and love it. You can't beat the location as a great home base to explore Monterey. The staff is very helpful and pleasant, the rooms are clean and well appointed and the price is right, Highly reccomend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
We're so happy to know that you liked the hotel so well and have returned to stay with us again! Thank you so much for your recommendation, we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

Great location next to Cannery Row. Room was large w king bed, desk and reading chair. Nice outdoor courtyard with sofas to enjoy a bottle of wine. Staff very friendly and helpful - loaned me an umbrella. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thanks so much for your positive comments, we're so glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Monterey and Cannery Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

This small terraced level hotel is perfect for all who wish to be within walking distance to aquarium , shops and restaurants. It's perfect for kids as well as adults. Very surprised to find this little bargain in such a wonderful location just a couple of block from the Monterey Bay.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed similar ( we occupied 3 rooms on 1st and 2nd levels) with double beds and not on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
We're so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that the location and layout of the hotel worked so well for your and your family. Thanks so much for letting us know!! We appreciate your review and hope that you will be back to stay with us another time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Property: Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing