We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Love this hotel. We have stayed several times in the room with 2 doubles and pull out queen sofa bed. Room spacious, over sized, great bathroom, fridge is a plus. Simple breakfast but perfect start since our big meals are lunch and dinner when vacationing. Fruit available in lobby through out day. Didn't do the happy hour but its a nice touch for wine drinkers, cheese and crackers included. Also, there is a free trolly car from aquarium to wharf that runs till 7 pm..so you can have an early dinner and drinks and not worry about driving..

Room Tip: I called the hotel directly rather than use the 800 number ..since that was just a reservation takin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

We're so glad that you enjoyed your room and the hotel so much - and thank you for letting us know! Thanks for the tip on the trolley, and particular thanks for your tip on calling the hotel directly to make reservations. This really is a good idea, for exactly the reasons that you pointed out.

Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel one night on our way from Santa Barbara to San Francisco. The hotel is located along the quiet Wave Street (almost at the Cannery Row and Wave Street junction). It is an excellent location as the Cannery Row waterfront with great dining and Monterey Aquarium is just around the corner. The hotel building structure is quite lovely with a simple garden courtyard in the centre. They have 43 rooms spread over 3 levels. We stayed in Room 315, this is a Twin Room with two comfortable double bed. Our room is large and overlooks the antique store next door.
What we liked about the hotel :
1) FREE indoor parking (basement) with elevator access
2) FREE breakfast - sufficient and decent
3) FREE wifi
4) Quiet location but very close to the main attractions of Monterey (5-min walk)
5) Easy and friendly check-in and check-out
6) Nice, clean, comfortable, cosy rooms
7) In-Room Safe
8) Decent-sized Fridge in room
We enjoyed our one-night stay in Mar-2012. I would choose this hotel again if we do return to Monterey for holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin-sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you so much for your very nice review! It is really terrific to know that you enjoyed the hotel so much, found it to be clean and quiet and the location so convenient to Cannery Row. We certainly hope that you will be able to come and stay with us again, and thank you again for writing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Pluses: Location + free parking (walk 10 minutes to the aquarium!)
Minuses: Service + mostly gross free breakfast

For a holiday weekend, we paid the rack rate per night through Orbitz. Upon check-in, Sanjay was extremely unhelpful and told me that I would get no points for our stay. He refused to even look up my priority club number. For the price we paid, we could have paid just $50 more and stayed at the Intercontinental down the street (and gotten points for our stay, and had a 4 star experience).

The room was small, but adequate. The bathroom was clean. The walls were a bit thin, so you could hear other people in the adjoining bathroom. I hate wall AC units because they're noisy, so we turned the air off and opened the window (we were on the 3rd floor), but the gulls had a fight about 2am (and again at 5am) and woke me up.

Would I stay here again? Maybe? Maybe not. It certainly wasn't a good deal for Memorial Day, and I feel like we didn't get our money's worth.

Room Tip: The -15 and -16 rooms are on the elevator landing (potentially noisy). Other rooms require steps to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Former_grad_student
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

I'm very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, although it does sound as though various aspects of the hotel did suit you well. Regarding the service you received at the front desk, Sanjay has been with us for years and honestly he gets so many wonderful reviews... I apologize that your experience was not the best, perhaps we were exceptionally busy when you arrived or there was some type of miscommunication? In any case, once again we really are sorry that your welcome was not what you'd expected.

We're glad to hear that your room was clean and comfortable and that you enjoyed our close proximity to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. We do appreciate your feedback, and thank you for writing in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Monterey CA because it has a wonderful location, walking distance to the Aquarium. The place is like most Express hotels, clean, fairly priced and with a real breakfast. The staff at this hotel were exceptional. My only complaint is that some of the rooms in the back require dragging your suitcase up some stairs. Tough for an old guy.

Room Tip: Stay on a floor that the elevator knows about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRenfrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy to hear that you liked the hotel and hope that you will come and stay with us again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I only stay at this hotel because of Sanjay and all the other wonderful employees that make this hotel a great one. It's always a pleasure to see a friendly familiar face and know that you are going to have a great stay. Thank you Sanjay!

Room Tip: Any room here is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isaac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2013

It is a wonderful thing to be appreciated, and even better to have your own fan club! :)

Thank you so much for this, I know that Sanjay and the rest of the front desk staff really appreciate it. They work very hard to make sure that our guests know they are welcome and valued, and I am very glad to hear that that message is being heard.

Thanks again, we look forward to see you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

When we first arrived I thought the hotel was adorable. It fits into the beach theme perfectly. The front desk agent was very nice and professional. When we got to our room though there was a little problem, on our sofa there was a huge wet spot like water was poured on it or they had just finished cleaning a stain and it didn't dry. But we called and they brought another cushion right away. Second problem was the view. We opened the window to what looked like a construction site. That was disappointing. I would request getting a good view when making your reservation. Other than that the rooms were very clean, the beds were extremely comfortable, and I loved the pull out sofa bed for our daughter. The location was amazing we went to the aquarium first and by the time we got our GPS up and running to find the hotel we were already there lol. We saved so much in gas because everything we had planned to do was no more than 5 minutes away. I was happy to see that they had free full breakfast like they usually do at the holiday inn but I was a little disappointed with the food. They don't have a full kitchen so everything is instant or microwave food. Including the eggs, pancakes and sausage. I was glad that we could eat breakfast but some of the hot food I had to spit out. I would stick to the bagels, yogurt and juice next time. But I can honestly say that because of the beautiful property, great location and friendly staff I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShanG88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you for your nice review, we're so glad that you liked the property! Sorry to hear about the less than perfect view (due to the way that the hotel is built, some rooms have ocean views and others do not. We're sorry that you were disappointed with yours).

Regarding breakfast, we're actually in the process of upgrading our kitchen facility which should hopefully be done soon and make our breakfast service even better than it is now. We are restricted to serving only what's on the approved Holiday Inn Express menu, but again with our new kitchen we hope to be able to improve our breakfast offerings.

Thanks again for your feedback, we appreciate your compliments and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Ideally located not on but next to Cannery Row midway from downtown and the aquarium. Get a high floor room. Free parking is a ++ in Monterrey. Do not miss the antique emporium next door up street, one of the best in North CA and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: High floor facing east have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGJ1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

We're so glad to hear that you liked the hotel and enjoyed your stay! Great to hear your comments on the Antique Emporium, as well. Thanks for taking the time to write in and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £129 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing