We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Really lovely hotel with a pretty courtyard. Did have to lug suitcases up and down a few stairs even when gone up in the lift which was a bit of a pain. Great location right next to cannery row and couple mins walk to the pier would recommend

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie120183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

We're so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and our location right on Cannery Row. I apologize about the stairs and hope they weren't too much of a problem. (Our front desk clerk is always happy to help with that!) Thanks so much for your recommendation, we hope that you will be able to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

356 - 362 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

Exceptionally cosy lobby/breakfast/reception area, comfortable rooms and practical parking. Walkin distance to the famous Aquarium, and just a few minutes drive to the marina and the restaurants at Fisherman's Wharf and its
sea lions.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolfgang u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row. We're so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and found our location to be so convenient. Please come and stay with us again next time you're in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

2 nights in Monterey at the Holiday Inn Express on Cannery Row in a 3rd floor room. Overall, a very clean and modern hotel that is centrally located to Cannery Row / Aquarium and about a 20 minute walk from Fisherman's Warf via the pedestrian / cycle trail that is right outside of the hotel.

We had a king size bed in one of the corner rooms and were very comofortable there. Rooms are modern with good sized bathrooms / showers. Our room was at the back of the hotel right along Lighthouse Avenue and therefore street noise was an issue. Also, multiple stairs down and up are required to reach the back rooms. I think this hotel also has the slowest elevator in California.

I would recommend staying there but the weekend rate upcharge for a Friday and Saturday night is, in my opinion, a little too much for what you are paying for. Parking in the underground garage is very convenient and free but only for passenger cars.

Room Tip: Rooms located at the rear of the hotel are exposed to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_M42141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2013

Thanks so much for your review! We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and liked your room. We hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Spent 1 night after a day at the aquarium. We had a big room with 2 full sized beds and a sofa bed, more than enough room for me, my husband and 2 children. Breakfast the next morning was included. Room was clean and comfortable. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Room 310 was a really good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Soccermum21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

We're glad that the hotel and your room worked out so well for you, and glad that you enjoyed your stay in Monterey. Please come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Location, location, location; the HIX Monterey California is just one block from Cannery Row and the ocean, now that is sweet! The property is not a large one, with 45 rooms and what I think is a very nice design; it fits right into the atmosphere of old Monterey. They offer underground parking, but it is designed for compact vehicles only. Midsize and larger vehicles have five parking spots outside the lobby, of which two are handicapped designated; otherwise you will have to park on the street. You enter the lobby, tiled not carpeted which makes perfect sense being by the ocean. Here is also the small breakfast and sitting area and if I remember correctly a computer for guest use. The elevator from the underground garage opens onto the lobby and there continues up to the second and third floors, or you can choose to take the stairs located next to the elevator. Our room, a one king with sofa bed, was located off the Patio Garden just outside the lobby. Upon entering the room is a closet to the left with a sliding frosted door, next to that behind a sliding frosted glass door is the mini frig and room safe, no microwave. To the right is as nice full length mirror. Next is the desk and chair with a light on the desk. The light had two outlets which is a big plus for charging phones, cameras and out electronic “stuff”. The dresser has four half drawers and the bottom drawer is the full width. A flat screen TV sits on top of the dresser. A round end table sits next to the large sofa that is a sofa sleeper. The floor lamp between the round end table and the sofa you turn on by lightly stepping on the floor button. The king size bed faces the dresser with the flat screen TV. The two bedside tables have a desk/table top that pulls out from under the top, than be low that is space for putting some of your stuff, like glasses, books, whatever and then two drawers. Each bedside table has a lamp with more outlets, can’t have too many outlets in this day and age, plus a clock radio on one. The bathroom is on a smaller size and has a pocket door. The lock on the pocket door does not work, but was no big deal for my husband and me. The towels and linens are good; towels I can wrap around myself after a shower are a big plus. BEST YET, the large magnifying makeup mirror AND great lighting in the bathroom for putting on make-up. I don’t use much make-up but what I do I prefect to not look like I just joined the circus as a clown. The Patio Garden outsider the lobby has a small raised area above the “lower” Patio Garden. Tucked in a corner of the Patio Garden is the Ice and Vending Machines. The front desk clerk and the breakfast room attendant were very friendly and accommodating. This managers evening reception is crackers, cheese, wine and beer; we did not attend as we had dinner reservations with relatives. As with all the HIX we have been too; the breakfast is the stand HIX fare; I would prefer so additional low calorie/low sugar/low fat choices but it is not realistic for a company to please just a few rather than the many. I would return to the HIX Monterey Row again, you can’t ask for a more than this reasonably priced, superbly located property. NOTE: No pool, no on site guest laundry no fitness room. You have the ocean, who wants to do laundry on vacation, see the front desk to have e laundry sent out and for fitness get out there and walk there is so much too see and do right outside the lobby door. I was going to mention free Wi-Fi, but you'll be too busy having fun.

Room Tip: Go for a room larger than standard, it will be worth it. If just sleeping is all you want the stand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NVSallyReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

WOW! Thanks so much for such a thorough review. We're so glad that everything was to your liking, and that the hotel and its amenities fit your needs so well. And that you were able to enjoy walking all over Cannery Row! I agree, it really is terrific to be able to just step out the door and see so many things.

Thanks again for your great comments, we look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Monterey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Nice, clean and within easy walking of Cannery Row the bay and aquarium. Be care full of room requests if you don't like steps our room required going up a few steps but had a sliver view of the bay and a sunny room though a little noisy. The staff was all nice and did a good job of keeping our room clean and the breakfast area clean and stocked. If you haven't been to this area before bring a jacket even in the summer

Room Tip: Book early and shop pricing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyclint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2013

Thank you so much for your review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel. We appreciate your feedback and hope that we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

It's a funky little hotel but it's a pretty cool place, seems new, very clean, really friendly staff, and very very convenient to Cannery Row. Yes even with the elevators you may have to traverse a couple of short flights of steps (not all rooms would require this) but, having read about this in an earlier review we were ready and had very little baggage anyway. Free parking is a big bonus. While we chose to have Sunday Brunch elsewhere the free breakfast being offered when we checked out looked to be as good as any HIEx. Would definitely stay here again.

PS I gave the pool 5 stars but I don't know if they actually have one. Checked it by mistake and you can't (un) check it here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stcroixscuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephanieHilton, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

I'm not sure we've been called funky before but I like it! Thank you for your great comments, we're very glad that you liked the hotel so well and appreciate your letting us know. Glad to hear that the steps were not a problem... and no, actually we do not have a pool at the property (unfortunately strict water restrictions in Monterey prohibit building one).

Please come and stay with us next time you're in town! thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,643 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £133 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing