We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay for the average traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2009

If you need your every wish attended to or are terribly out of shape, then chose a different hotel. If you want a nice room, a great location, free parking, and a money saving free breakfast, then this is the place. Our room was up a flight of stairs but it was worth the walk. It was a very large room with 2 beds, a very large couch, 2 other chairs, computer desk, a table, and a decent sized bathroom. My family of 4 had plenty of room to get out of each others way and we were pleasantly surprised. We walked to Cannery Row daily and enjoyed walking by all the store fronts and restaurants. The aqaurium is also easy to reach. The pedestrian path right out the front door and keeps you off the main roads, especially nice with a 4 year old. Fisherman wharf is a short drive as well as much of the city. Monterey is not all that large and easy to negotiate, and I live in a town of 3,000 people, walk to work and hate traffic. I would not hesitate to stay here again and saving over a $100+ a night made it even better. So if you can't afford the Plaza or the Intercontinental, make your reservation now.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (764)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 764 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2009

If you love stairs, you'll adore this place. Be very aware that very few of the rooms (I think it's four of them) can be reached without climbing stairs - they are unusually steep stairs and in most cases you'll have to go down and up stairs to get your room. The hotel has been shoehorned on to a sloping site, and the architect was obviously not told that guests like to be able to wheel their luggage trollies, or guide their disabled spouses along level corridors.

The location is excellent, just steps from Cannery Row, but that is just about the hotel's only plus point. It's a depressing place painted in dull grey-blue, and the rooms are grouped around a central courtyard which sees little sunlight. Rooms are okay, but nothing more, and those at the rear suffer from traffic noise. When I was there the receptionist spent most of his time occupying the small lounge area watching television. It didn't give a good impression.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2009

This was an immaculately maintained facility, located ideally in Monterey Bay. The manager, Jay, put us in a large upper floor room, that had views of both the water and the mountains. It was an easy drive to Pacific Grove, the 17 mi. drive, and Carmel. It was also an easy walk to Cannery Row and the downtown area. I will stay there next time we visit Monterey

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHOCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2009

This hotel is located in a perfect area, just walking distance to Monterey Aquarium, stores and restaurants.

It's a remodeled old-factory surrounded by a very nice and care garden.

Breakfast is served at lobby and it's very good taste and varied.

We only stay a night in a trip from San Francisco to LA through coastal road.

The down point was the room, even it's spacing enough, smelt bad. It looks like an old smoking room, where treatment was done to eliminate the smell, but is not enough since the smell is impregnated in the room.

The hotel is recommended if your key is the location in Monterey, but only for a night, arriving late and leaving soon.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chonguito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

I booked two nights at this motel and had to cancel due to an emergency. They charged me anyway even though I gave them over two weeks notice. Don't book this hotel unless there is absolutly no other room anywhere available and you know for sure that no one you know gets sick and dies because you will be paying for a vacation you cannot take whiel you are attending the funeral of a loved one.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank saddaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2008

My family stayed in the Holiday Inn Cannery row.The day before we arrived in the US we had to cancel our credit card as it had been used fraudulently. Some hotels made a big deal of the fact that we did not have a credit card. This hotel and the staff made us most welcome and made sure that it was not a problem. The location is great. Nice clean rooms. Parking is free. Breakfast was included and included eggs, omelettes , Sausage bacon juice toast muffins & coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for two nights. We appreciated the central location of this property; within reasonable walking distance to the aquarium, cannery row and wharf area. Parking is free--a big plus. The grounds felt open, clean and inviting. The breakfast exceeded our expectations: cheese omelets, scrambled eggs, cinnamon rolls, bagels, English muffins, juice. The coffee left so much to be desired, however. If you enjoy a decent cup of jo, do yourself a favor and walk over to Starbucks. It's worth the effort!

A couple of cons. While clean, our room felt somewhat cramped, dark and cave-like. Perhaps the room felt this way since we were on the ground level and our small window was facing north, just inches above the ground. Secondly, the neighbor above us had an annoying, daily ritual of taking a rather long bath at 5:30 each morning. The water rushing through the pipes to fill the tub (and empty it) was unbearably loud at this hour. Made us suspect the walls in this place are thin.

That said, I believe this property to be a decent value (in comparison to the surrounding properties) in this area. It is not luxurious nor does it provide a good view of the bay. But...If you are looking for a basic, clean place to sleep, then you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hikers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.2 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £145 - £323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing