We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great combination of price, quality and location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2009

It isn’t the most luxurious or exciting hotel in the world, but it offered exactly what I needed…a very clean and comfortable room, in a perfect location. The desk staff were friendly and for a downtown location the whole place felt safe and reasonably quiet. You can’t ask for much more at this price point.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (768)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 768 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2009

pretty much endorse all the positive comments made by the previous reviewers. Didn't think it was rundown at all, the clapboard building has been built to blend in with Cannery Row and adds to its charm, lots to see and do within a very short distance but if you have a car "17 mile drive "is a must-- to take in Pebble Beach golf course if you like seeing how the other half lives--$500 a round!! We also enjoyed a tour round Julian Winery one of the best we've had anywhere in the world

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boysie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We turned up on spec to this hotel and booked a room for the night. I think it's a bit pricey for what it is but the room was fine, quite spacious and the parking was free. Staff were friendly and there is free internet in the lobby, limited to 15 mins per guest (just out of courtesy to other guests, if there's no one waiting they don't kick you off!). There was free wine and cheese early evening which wasn't the best but a nice idea and a complimentary breakfast, which is good as there wasn't much locally for a quick, cheap start to the day. There's a hot tub which was nice but it took several showers to get rid of the smell of chlorine! Located very close to Cannery Row. Would stay there again if we were in the area but would try and get a better deal by pre-booking.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indigogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Our experience at the Holiday Inn was fabulous. From the service at the front desk to the coffee stand open 24 hours; we had the best time. We were arriving into Monterey b4 our check in time and the hotel allowed us to park our car in the garage while we walked around. Our rooms were clean and the bed was probably the most comfortable matteress for a hotel I had ever experienced. The hotel was close to EVERYTHING!! We just couldn't have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blessedw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

Me and my girlfriend are totally satisfied with this hotel. Short 5 minutes walk to Cannry Row and nice 20 minutes walk to fisherman's wharf. Room was very clean and bed totally acceptable. Price was honest and fair for this time of the year and proximity to city center. Breakfast was really complete and fresh. Would recommend to everyone.
Overall I rate this hotel excellent because of location, cleanliness and breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mister_Simple_Truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights on our way from LA to SF. The location is perfect being right behind Cannery Row and it's very unusual for a hotel in this location to have free parking which will save you up to $20 a day. The hotel is a typical HI Express in that it's pretty basic, and our room (205) although compact was perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. The one minor problem was that because the hotel is built on a hill it is split-level and as a result there were quite a few sets of stairs to negotiate in order to get our very heavy bags from the elevator to the room. This would be a bigger problem for anyone with mobility problems.

Breakfast is served in the lobby which is pretty small so get there early or be prepared to wait for a table, but that aside it's fine. There's free wine and cheese from 5:30-6:30 every evening, which seems to be a Monterey tradition and it's a nice touch.

Cannery Row is 5 mins walk away, the Aquarium is about 10 mins, and Downtown and the main beach can be reached in 15 mins using the free tourist trolley service that runs until 7PM. I noticed that a previous reviewer complained about the noise from the seagulls, but you're staying right on the coast so what do you expect? We thought it added to the atmosphere and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stalban55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We enjoyed staying here! Free parking; great location that you can walk to Cannery Row and the aquarium. Nice atmosphere and free wine and cheese each evening! Rooms aren't big, but are clean and the lobby and courtyard are charming.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
Thank Travel_with_kidsPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
0.8 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row

Address: 443 Wave St, Monterey, CA 93940-1424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Monterey
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £129 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps to the Pacific Ocean and historic Cannery Row - some rooms with ocean view! Luxurious boutique-style hotel completely remodeled summer of 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row Hotel Monterey
Holiday Inn Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing