We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“thoroughly pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Fresno
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“thoroughly pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

After spending the night before at a dreary San Francisco motel, what a pleasure to find our delightful, spacious and comfortable room here. Friendly staff and nice lobby. Excellent location across the street from nice shopping center with a Whole Foods. Second-floor room was spotless, smelled fresh and clean, had a gas fireplace, two luxurious queen beds, even a small patio overlooking trees. Tasty breakfast in sunny dining room on ground floor. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandagman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    289
    114
    33
    42
See reviews for
219
359
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

We arrived late afternoon on the 27th of May and to my surprise, this room has no
air conditioning! While the weather was fantastic, the room was stuffy and the only air was either opening the window or using the fan that is supplied in the room. We were not comfortable leaving the window open so just had to stick it out. The rooms look wonderful online, however ours was small and there was a large skylight right in the center of the ceiling so as soon as the sun comes up, you have daylight in your room (we are from the east coast so daylight comes a little after 5am) The bed was not the most comfortable and It is close to the highway so lots of road noise and I was startled out of a sleep in the middle of the night. It is close to the mall so if that is important, you can walk to it.
My suggestion would be to look for a place more central to the wharf area and not so close to the highway and make sure to ask if there is AC in the room, can't imagine staying there in the summer!

Room Tip: stay away from rooms 107-110
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaNativegirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed here on may 27th and had a king room with a fireplace. It also had a microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. It was fabulous newly remolded with hardwood floors and granite countertops. Had a homey feel. I slept so sound in the bed. We sat outside at the fire pit next to the pool and had drinks and snacks it was very relaxing. The breakfast was good and fully stocked at all times. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Michelle turned on the fire pit and patio heaters as soon as you asked. The is a shopping center across the street that you can walk to. Check in and out were quick. Would stay here again. Great location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crzyincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

All of the reviews I read prior to staying raved about the in-room fireplaces. It's true, the fireplaces are the topping on the cake. The room we stayed in was lovely, roomy, quiet and warm. All of the amenities were just right, including breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was that we weren't able to use the pool or open pit fireplace--the weather was just too cool when we visited. While the Inn is not on the water, it was in a convenient location; although we had a car, which did make it easier to get around. A lovely stay, and I'd recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We were pleasantly surprised by the value for the price of this hotel. The staff was helpful from the beginning, always willing to give a hand or respond to our requests right away. The room was a "townhouse suite" and had 2 floors with 2 beds as well as 2 bathrooms, all very nicely furnished and decorated. There was even a fireplace, microwave and fridge in the room. The amenities include many terraces with cozy sofas, as well as a swimming pool and jaccuzzi. To top it all, there is a free continental breakfast and free wireless in the rooms! :)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AudetteSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Nice room which was very spacious and with a fire-place. Very comfortable. Reception was very helpful. Opposite the hotel, within walking distance was a shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FenFen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

The rooms were very roomy and comfortable. I loved the decor and the fireplace. The location was also ideal with a shopping mall right across the street. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawnGolferGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing