We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place but average scale because...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Starting with the good:
The hotel location is great near the renovated mall, downtown, the aquarium. I took all the hints from tripadvisor to stay on the top floor, away from the main road. This all worked out well. The suites are spacious and the amenities are nice like the free breakfast and parking. Went during the weekday so it was quiet and a good stay. Much of the room was well decorated and we loved the King room with fireplace.

The ugly: The walls are paper thin, there was mold in our bathroom (I told the front desk as we checked out and they said they would look into it...bummer nothing was offered because of that, and I have asthma too) See pictures. The service seemed ok, as the lady in the front was not super welcoming and the next morning after we discovered the mold she seemed to be indifferent.

Room Tip: Upper floor, near the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanbsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (787)
There are newer reviews for Mariposa Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

We were comfortable for our two day stay and the room was stylish and classy. The best thing about this hotel is the swimming pool, which is salinated (not chlorinated) and the perfect temperature and set off the road, and the hot tub which, although the tiles weren't perfect (there were some with chips) was very hot (104 degrees). We took a swim and a tub both mornings we were there, December 31 and January 1. What a great way to ring in the new year!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

My husband and I recently took a trip to Monterey and found the Mariposa Inn. We travel alot, and I am very picky about the places we stay. Most important, a seperate room, breakfast and not noisy. I stay up late, my husband in early. Anyway, I found the Mariposa Inn and it fit us perfectly.
We stayed in a townhouse ( # 309) and it was beautiful! It felt like we were in a small condo.
Very modern ( I am taking some ideas with me ), a fireplace, 2 bathrooms. One of the nicest
places we have stayed in a while. Daily cleaning was fast, the breakfast was great, room coffee Wolfgang Puck, and even the shampoos etc were high quality.
It is a small hotel so not alot of noise. Free internet. Also 5 mins to Fisermans Wharf, Cannery row, etc. We have stayed in Monterey many times and always stayed near the wharf. Too busy, you have to pay for parking, outside noisy and EXPENSIVE. Mariposa's rates are great. Get room # 309 if you can. Will be our hotel of choice from now on.

Room Tip: Get a Townhouse
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brod_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

This boutique hotel is quaint, small but lacks maintenance. When we first checked in, we discovered that our TV was broken. The clerk was kind of enough to upgrade us to a 2-bedroom suite. After checking into our suite, we discovered the faucet was leaking and onto the tiles. Because it was Xmas, no repair person was on duty. Then, one bedroom had a full size bed and the other had a King. There was no way my two grown children could sleep on a full size bed. The next day, the toilet stopped up. Clerk was too lazy to bring up a plunger. Way too many inconvenience for our stay. Will not be coming back.

Room Tip: If you have grown children, it's best that they have their own room(s). Beds are very small in...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuneBug016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at room no 201. The room was clean and decent. Though flooring outside the room area was not done nicely. The property served simple yet decent breakfast but the restaurant was quite small. The place was very near to main shopping center and we liked it

Room Tip: Try room no 201
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank singharay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This room, by any standard, was tiny. It is simply not a place I would recommend to anyone. The gal at the front desk was nice - but the facility itself left a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: Find another place
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie_in_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

Very clean rooms and close to everything. Best value for the money. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#33 of 56 in Monterey
553 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £83 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing