We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where did my money go???”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 2 May 2008

The only nice thing I can say about this place is that they have some nice landscaping, but that is confined to a single little garden. Other than that, it was a bad experience. First of all, contrary to the price listed on Tripadvisor, our room cost $229. It was the honeymoon room with a hot tub and a flat screen TV, which sounds like a good deal but the decor was old-looking and tacky, nothing special at all. It was like we were staying in a Motel 6 that happened to have a flat-screen TV and hot tub in the room. Also, we were appalled to find that there was a DEAD MOUSE in the tub. Appartently it had fallen in there and was basically scared to death, or perhaps starved to death. Anyway, that shows how much they care about the guest that they don't even check the rooms before you check in. We called the front desk right away when we found it, only for them to tell us that they couldn't do anything about it because there was only one person there. We asked for another room but they said they didn't have anything available. It took quite a while for someone to finally come to take the mouse away. I will say that I think the manager came from wherever he was to take the mouse away and apologize personally, so that was pretty nice. However, when we asked for a discount on the room, they only gave us a $20 discount on a $229 room, which wasn't even worth the $229 anyway! Another complaint I have is that the continental breakfast was very cheap - there were no fresh pastries at all; everything was provided by the likes of Sara Lee from the grocery store. I really don't know what they're doing with the money they charge for their hotel; it certainly isn't going back into pleasing the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tawvry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 640 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2007

For the price, this hotel is decent. The rooms are ample in size and have average accommodations. However, there is free high speed internet in the rooms, which was an unexpected perk. The hotel isn't located within walking distance of anything except other hotels so be prepared to drive to dinner. The continental breakfast was nice and the hotel staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lazumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2007

My family visited the Mariposa in August 07. We fit seven people tightly into the townhome room in the Mariposa. On the bottom floor were a pull out bed and a bed that came down from the wall. That was nice as we saved money on getting another room. There was also a full bathroom downstairs. The location is great- there is a shopping center with a Whole Foods, Petco, Rite Aid and some chain food resturants (CPK, PF changs) across the street. Of course we ate at Cannery Row but it is a good option! ,
All the attractions of monterey are also only a 5-10 minute drive.
The room conditions were good and it was really quiet at night and the continental breakfast had some decent bagels, cereal and muffins. The great thing is that it is a pet friendly hotel so my pooch came along!

So, now the bad... In the morning we had only 3 people take a shower and there was absolutely no hot water after. The showers were spread out too so it's not like we took them back to back. I mean, it's year 2007 and I am not at summer camp. I would hope that they could figure out a way so that their patrons can take hot, at least warm showers in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RydeTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2007

They call it the best kept secret of Monterey, and for a family of 5, it may well be. We stayed there for 3 days during the first week of August. The townhomes have 2 full bathrooms, and are very well accommodated. The Mariposa is directly across a beautiful mall, and only 5 minutes from the water. The staff was excellent, and the breakfast was certainly up to standard.
We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank buzzcat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bilbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2007

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sweetypie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2006

3  Thank anjillbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
567 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Monterey
Hampton Inn Monterey
#9 of 56 in Monterey
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £61 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing