We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for the Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great for the Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed here this past weekend; we had an amazing getaway to Monterey. When we first drove up I was a little worried it didn’t look very well maintained. When we walked into our room it was super cute and cozy. It is not the best hotel, but for the cost what can you expect. We paid less than $140 for a room that includes breakfast, free parking, and free wifi. I would suggest to request to be on the 3rd floor so that way you won’t have anyone above you. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    289
    114
    33
    42
See reviews for
219
359
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Love this hotel located right across Munras Ave from the shopping center and a very short distance from Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, Aquarium, Pacific Grove and Carmel. Easy access to freeway. Smaller hotel, great for groups, families, anyone. We had a suite, two floors, master and bath upstairs, and double murphy in the large living room with gas fireplace, microwave, fridge etc. Pool and Spa very nice, firepit for outdoor evening enjoyment. So much to do and see in this area any time of year. Bravo!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ViaggioCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

These people are as friendly as any I have encountered in recent travels. We stayed two nights and our room was really nice. A full suite with sitting area as well as room with fireplace overlooking the pool. The rooms have recently been redecorated and they are tastefully done. The baths are extremely clean and modern. The breakfast was very good with a good selection of fruits, breads, cereals, pastries, etc. Great location close to the Cannery row and the 17 mile drive as well as Carmel. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

In our 3 week trip to California this summer, this was the only hotel which was a disappointment. Although the room itself was well decorated, comfortable and clean, the outside areas of the hotel were shabby and unkempt and looked nothing like the pics on the hotel website. The pool area in particular could have been lovely but instead was dirty with empty bottles, spillages and bird poo everywhere. It was ok for one night but I wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer than that.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee_ree765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciudad Ojeda
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I believe this is the first negative critique of a hotel that I have made. The hotel in itself looked nice and cozy. The problem is their personnel. The night we arrived (wife, two teenagers and I) at the hotel from L.A. at around 8:30pm we were told that Expedia had overbooked and that our room with two double beds was not available, the only room they could offer us was a king bed. It sounded like a lame excuse but we were really tired so we asked if they could bring a rollaway bed but they had none. The family that came after us were said the same thing. The only solution they gave them was to refund their money. The very rude and unapologetic Jennifer told them that they could go and stay at the Hyatt. The man told her he wasn't going to spend a fortune at a room at the Hyatt and he left. At this point I said if she could give us both rooms so the four of us could stay. She made a comment I felt like you don't know anything, this doesn't work this way. So I asked please to try to solve the problem for us, we were very tired and I couldn't even think straight. I asked her to please call Expedia for us to fix things up amongst them since I Didn't know what to do. She literally said "this is ridiculous" like it was not her job to solve the problem. Expedia luckily found a Holliday inn 15 minutes away. JENNIFER, YOU ARE IN THE HOSPITALITY BUSINESS, so if you and the manager don't want to be bothered with these kind of problems, don't blame Expedia and put your rooms for sale on their site.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Pagnanid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here on our road trip from San Francisco to San Diego. I was concerned when we pulled up....ugh a motel? really? Asked hubby what he was thinking....... but once we got into room I apologized. Room was clean and modern. we had a fireplace in the room which was a nice touch. Most importantly, our room and bathrooms were clean. I also liked the hardwood floors as hotel carpets give me the heeby jeebies :-( We only stayed for a night but if we had stayed for another would've gone to the outdoor sitting areas by the pool and out back on 2nd floor to sit with a glass of wine (maybe hubby could've had a cigar?)
Breakfast room was small but we got what we needed and sat outside. Lots of seagulls flying around....some even going thru the trash can in the outside eating area and taking food out. Nothing really they can do about that other than a lid ....... but it was a little off putting.
Would recommend for a night or two.....no longer.....

Room Tip: 2nd floor front corner.....room with fireplace. yes this is on a busy street corner, but we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, Bay Area
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for one night in early August for a quick vacation to Monterey. We booked the townhouse suite which was pretty neat since it has an upstairs and a downstairs room. The kids really enjoyed running up and down the stairs and they loved the Murphy bed downstairs. Hubby and I appreciated the 2 bathrooms. Everything was clean. It was nice to have 2 tvs too. The check out time is 11am and check in is 3pm.

The hotel is nothing spectacular. It seems like all the hotels in Monterey are 3 star places that can charge high prices because of the location. It was nice to have free, covered parking. The breakfast was good. There was waffles, oatmeal, yogurt, pastries, and fruit and the usual drinks, coffee, tea, milk, juices. The room was very small though, so we took our food up to our room.

There is traffic noise because the property seems to be on the corner of two streets and there was a fair amount of traffic and you could hear it all the time.

This place was good for a short stay. Not sure if I would stay here next time, but it was nice to try it.

Room Tip: Liked the townhouse suite because it was two stories and you have no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hello_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing