We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/price tradeoff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location/price tradeoff”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Very nice hotel, would definitely recommend it all around. Good sized upscale clean room, looks recently renovated. Nice pool/hot tub outside and a nice sitting area with a tabletop fireplace. Breakfast was pretty standard hotel DIY buffet. A little busy but there is room outside to sit as well.

The only tradeoff is you are about a 20 minute walk to the waterfront which we didn't mind too much, but some would. We were happy to pay a much lower price and take the location. If money's no object you can find something closer to the water.

Overall I would definitely recommend it and would stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    293
    117
    33
    42
See reviews for
223
363
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, CA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Mariposa Inn and Suites is a great value for the Monterey area. I travelled here for one night on a personal errand and had a great little room, with a comfortable bed, nice TV, in room coffee and a perfect bathroom. For those of you that like to work out, they offer a complimentary fitness pass to In Shape fitness in Pacific Grove, which proved to be a great gym.

The included breakfast was also a big plus. Highly recommend it here. A nice value!

Room Tip: If you're by yourself get a basic King room on the Munras wing next to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

So impressed with Mariposa Inn! We weren't expecting much so we were pleasantly surprised! Great shower + robes provided. We had an issue w/ the tv (audio only) but it was late at night so we didn't bother asking anyone to fix it. Front desk notified upon checkout & apologized.
We arrived late at night & left early in the morning so basically all we required was a comfortable bed, shower & adequate breakfast to continue our roadtrip. Our exectations were beyond met. Would definitely return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cher179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here Oct.15 thru 17th and found it really pleasant. Townhouse was roomy and really clean and comfortable. Great continental breakfast, lots of goodies to choose from. Pleasant and helpful staff. No noise from the other rooms but could hear traffic from the street. The only negative would be that the several decks on the property were not clean, everything else was great.

Room Tip: Get a townhouse if family is going. It is an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polarbear6791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaside, California
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Convenient location right off 1 and across from the Del Monte Shopping Center. Bedroom was a suite with very comfortable bed and fireplace and flat screen TV and couch and TV with microwave and fridge in the TV console in the small, separate living area. Bathroom was large with great amenities. I would definitely stay here again. The staff was very friendly and the breakfast was nice as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuertoRico
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stay for one night . The room very clean and a good size with nice amenities. Good location in front of a Mall with Whole Food Market and nice restaurants. The only cons is the room had a very nice deck but it was not clean,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fournierSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is very modern and the staff are friendly. Great little pool and hot tub. The hotel isn't right on the beach but I would definitely stay here again and drive to the beach because the rooms were very clean and the amenities were up to date. Breakfast was good. For $100/night I doubt you will find much better than this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren_K_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing