We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On a busy street but our room was so quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We loved this hotel with the in-room fireplace and quiet ambience. Breakfast was good, staff helpful and room very clean. There was an issue with the shower head which was reported but never addressed during our stay but other than that very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

We booked this room through a Priceline bid and when we drove up, we were a bit apprehensive. The hotel is located on a main street filled with budget motels and from the street, this one appeared to be no different. But once inside the room we were swept away by the difference. The bedroom had lovely décor, super comfy bedding and a working fireplace, the bathroom was large with lovely accessories and above average soaps and such, and the living room was a separate room that had a microwave, fridge and flat screen tv. There were even bathrobes in the closet. We were extremely pleased.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the pool/Jacuzzi. These are quieter as they are further from the street an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2worldcitizens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

This hotel is a great value for the price. It's right off the freeway and across from a shopping center/mall with a Whole Foods and various eateries, which is super convenient. The room we booked had a microwave, mini fridge, and coffee maker, as well as a fireplace and large bathroom and 2 free bottles of water.

The lady working the front desk at check in was really helpful and helped us purchase tickets for local attractions and provided recommendations on dining and other activities. No complaints on service! Parking wasn't bad (free) and there were plenty of spaces.

The only thing that I wasn't thrilled about was the overall condition of the room. There were pictures missing from the wall (the brackets were left), wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom, and when I opened the shower curtain to take a shower an old towel that was there from the previous guest (I'm assuming) was there. There was also a Monterrey travel guide on the desk for 2010-2011... we visited in December 2013, so it was quite old.

I would stay again because of the price and location. Rooms were large and had plenty of amenities, so I would recommend to others as well.

While you're in town I would suggest going to the Aquarium and eating at their cafe for clam chowder. It might not be the absolute best in town, but it's much cheaper than other eateries and is excellent (museum food always is in my opinion)! Also, take the short drive to Seaside for Jim's Chinese Food. It's a small eatery with about 8 tables, but they do a lot of takeout business and the food is freaking amazing!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floors to prevent the elephant stomping of other patrons. Also, if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollylovesit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

The room is very clean and modern and had a very comfortable bed. I chose one of the standard King room w/o the gas fireplace. The continental breakfast was average and you could make fresh waffles, but otherwise just average. My only complaint was that the room was near the front of the building by the main road and had more road noise than what I like, but was very minimal later in the evening. Overall, good value for Monterey.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntfish1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I decided to stay in this hotel after reading all the good reviews of Trip Advisor. I expected to find a nice hotel, but it was more than that (especially for the good price paid). I was in my honeymoon and they gave us a room upgrade, which was lovely. The room was awesome, with a jacuzzi, fireplace, large bathroom with 2 showers and all the good amenities you can find in a good hotel. Continetal breakfast was complete, including eggs, waffles, juices, coffee, pastries, rolls and so on. Also, the hotel is located in front of a large mall, with all the big stores and a Whole Food Sales. It's only 2 or 3 miles far from Fisherman's Wharf. It's a pity it was too cold and we couldn't enjoy the swimming-pool - at least we have another good reason to stay there again in the future. Stay in Maripossa Inn and you won't regret!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank CarlawRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Easily accessible from Highway 1, minutes to Cannery Row and 17 mile drive, major shopping mall across the street. Rooms a good size, comfortable beds, easy parking, friendly staff provide good advice on local sights and restaurants. Spa a great way to unwind after a day's sightseeing. Good breakfast included. Would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OttawaSunshineseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This place is about a couple of minutes from Cannery Row. The Del Monte shopping mall is right across the street. The on ramp to Highway 1 is around the corner. It is in a very convenient location. The inn is small and no frills. However they do serve a free breakfast. I stayed in the suite which had un upstairs bedroom and bathroom and a pullout bed on the bottom floor which also had a bathroom. There was a gas fireplace too. For the price, I don't think you can beat it.
The parking was free and was full every night. But they find a place for you to park. It's not the Hilton, but you should know that with the price. I like the convenience of the place. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfuj1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £77 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing