We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay...nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay...nice property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I am a travel professional and stayed here on February 7 for just 1 night. This is a great boutique
hotel ..great value and rooms are comfortable and very stylish. Very convenient to Carmel
and the Wharf 5-10 min where you can find a variety of restaurants. Drive slow when you get
close as to not miss the entrance...shopping center across the street.
Breakfast is simple...yogurt, bagels, cereal..but adequate. If you like a hot breakfast best to go
into town...Old Monterey Cafe for a full breakfast. I found the staff to be very friendly and
welcoming..especially Oscar who checked me in and Daniel as well. Would definitely return
again with no hesitation.

Room Tip: get a corner room on top floor for less noise..get one with a fireplace for those chilly nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    289
    114
    33
    42
See reviews for
219
359
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel several years ago when it was first remodeled and it was fantastic. However, each time we have stayed there since then, it has declined a bit more. We stayed two weeks ago in one of townhouses, their second most expensive room category. Although the price is decent, the furniture was dirty, the upstairs blinds were broken and there was a leg missing on the couch. However, the biggest problem was the horrific customer service. We reported after the first night that the water in the upstairs shower was lukewarm and the heat lamp in that same bathroom was broken. Never once did the front desk employee offer a kind word or an apology. She seemed irritated with my request but promised to tell maintenance about it. When we got back from being out all day, neither problem was fixed and the front desk person who had taken over from the morning shift had no idea what was going on. He offered a suggestion for getting the water to be hotter and also a small discount on the price of the room. The heat lamp was an electrical problem, we were told, and they would be unable to fix it. The next morning, after another cold shower, I complained at checkout that I was frustrated that maintenance had not tried to adjust the water temperature. My husband could tell just by looking that it would be easy to adjust and if he'd had the right tool he would have done it himself!! It was the same woman from the morning before, and I can honestly say that I have never been treated more coldly or rudely than I was that day. A simple apology would have gone a long way but apparently customer service is not a priority in this place. In the end, we got a bigger discount so we ended up with a fair price, but truthfully, I would have preferred paying more money for hot water and a polite staff that cares for their guests! We won't be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly staff. We stayed in a basic king room, which was clean and had a sleek look to it, it had more of a executive feel, not super cozy. The resort as a whole had a nice park like setting. The bed was ok, a little stiff. Our friend stayed down the hall and had a fireplace suite, which did feel cozier. Overall not the most romantic hotel. The biggest complaint would be the noise. You can hear anyone next door who's coming or going. I kept thinking someone was opening the door. There was also a big gap between the door and the frame, so light & sound could creep in. I had picked this hotel under the assumption it was closer to the cannery row, but was very wrong. While it's an easy drive, it would have made for a long walk during the rainy season. Overall, it's a decent hotel, clean, sleek decor, and nice staff, but I would not say it was worth the $149 we paid.

Room Tip: If your gonna stay here pay the extra few bucks for the fireplace suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Visiting family, they recommended the Mariposa. It sounds like a boutique hotel, but it's not. Munras Ave is a long stretch of one motel after another. Most are not within walking distance to the waterfront attractions. The Mariposa is at the far end of the row. We stayed in a king suite that has a little living room area when you first walk in. Then there is a bedroom area with a gas fireplace. I suppose when the place was first decorated it was top notch modern, but it is now a bit tired. Our blinds were broken, the paint is chipped and the sofa stained. Yes, the towels were soft, but only two of them. I do like they offer real glasses and coffee mugs, but the in room coffee is still the weak, tasteless kind. My biggest disappointment was the "healthy beginnings" continental breakfast. NO it's not! It was no better than the usual unhealthy selections. And, the coffee was light colored water. When we mentioned this to the front desk, she said they call it "fresh". Well, it's not that either. Cost Co type rolls, cereal, sugary yogurt and those flipping waffles. But, a good back up plan...Whole Foods is just across the street, with the most amazing to go selection ever! We did find a great breakfast spot, Old Monterey Cafe. There are so many places to stay in Monterey, but this is not for the "discerning guest".

Room Tip: The second floor has a nice patio area to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norcalhummingbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were very impressed with our updated room and the modern bathroom. The beds were extremely comfortable. The entire facilities were spotless! The only problem we had was minor...getting into the parking lot off the street and back on the street. Other than that, we loved this place and look forward to the next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mopsy79363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We were placed in Rm #309, one of the townhouse units. As our visit transpired, we discovered 4 burned out light bulbs (were able to replace 3 with bulbs provided by desk). The shower in the lower room was extremely difficult to turn on, but once on had sufficient hot water, unlike the upper shower. The alarm clock time can apparently only be set if an ipod is docked. Blinds in the upper room were in sad state of disrepair. Front desk, given all these problems, did give us a credit off of our bill. However, I recommend avoiding this room and all those with lower 300 numbers, as the latter face Munras which is much busier than the side street. Those who are really sensitive to traffic noise may want to think about another motel. Breakfast is standard motel fare--nothing to recommend it. Go to Lou-Lous or Katy's Place instead. We do like the location as it is easy to get to hwy 1 to Carmel and to downtown Monterey on Pacific.

Room Tip: Choose townhouse units with #s above 309.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2calgrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

All in all very nice little hotel. Area is fantastic. Literally across the street from a huge shopping mall. Lots of places to eat and spend your money...Its 5-10 minutes away from the gorgeous and picturesque Carmel by the sea. Its about 10 minutes to Point Lobos State Preserve which has AMAZING amazing trails to hike. Seriously beautiful and amazing short hikes.
The decor of the hotel was very different and cool. All the artwork in the room was kind of contemporary with jellyfish motifs. The bathroom was nice and had a really cool mirror. See pics I am posting here.
Breakfast was ok. Nothing to write home about. There was nothing warm. No eggs, bacon, waffles, pancakes ...none of the above. The dining area was teeny and did not have enough room. People were eating standing up. Apart from that the dining area wasnt very pretty either.
As far as the rooms: there are two floors and no elevator so if you're on the upper level be prepared to schlepp your bags up the stairs.
We are pretty sound sleepers and can sleep through noise but if you're more sensitive, just know that every sound from the parking lot and ppl walking around can be heard like its right in your room. I dont know if there are rooms that dont face parking spaces but our specific room did and the parking spots are literally right outside your door (like in motels where there is a strip of rooms and parking spaces right outside the room). So - a bit noisy when ppl arrive and are talking to each other and closing car doors etc. Once we fell asleep we didnt hear anything though - so either the noise did indeed stop at some point - or - we are very deep sleepers.
The garbage bags were placed on top of the cans in the room (there were 3 of them) but for some weird reason were not actually put into the can. So - we had to start opening up each bag and placing it INTO the can so we could throw out garbage. No biggie - but annoying.
My husband says he saw a bit of mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. I did not notice that but he says it wasn't a lot - just a spot.
The mattress was very comfortable.
There was also a nice frosted glass skylight which allowed the sun to slowly filter in which was very cool.
All in all - nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 101seasonedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing