We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
San Leandro, California
2 reviews
“Lovely boutique hotel”
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We brought my parents down for the Dixieland festival at the beginning of March & had a very nice stay here. Service was great & friendly--they even upgraded us to a spa room which was fantastic. Everything has been updated--nice pool & spa, nice breakfast.
We will definitely stay here again!

P.S. If you have time, check out Maha's Lebanese Restaurant on Alvarado. Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    293
    117
    33
    42
See reviews for
223
363
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2009

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend and had a fabulous experience. A dash of color, soothing lighting, and updated fixtures make this place into a diamond. We did not use any of the order areas, but they looked inviting even with cooler weather. The staff was very helpful and curteous. We had an issue with our fireplace, and they came to remedy the situation quickly. As we planned our day in Monterey, they had more than enought resources to help us plan a fun-filled day.
The rooms are nicely put together. What sets this place apart from other inns and hotels of the same size are the rooms. They put color on the walls with a number of paintings; they placed updated furniture in the rooms; and they have nice, comfortable beds and bedding. I loved the iPod dock and the flat screen adds to the updated look.
This was an excellent value for the money. They do have a breakfast which is a nice way to start your day. The room is a tad small, but there's enough food to sooth the hunger.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoCrazyFolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2009

From the initial contact to get our reservation through checkout on the day we left, we were pleasantly surprised.
After quite a bit of comparison shopping online we decided to try the Mariposa Inn because the pictures that we saw made the hotel look interesting and because of the great value.
When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised by the very friendly Salena who was professional and efficient. We were also impressed by the well appointed room (#107). The decor is beautiful and the room was comfortable and spotlessly maintained.
The breakfast room was clean and well stocked and the attendant there was polite and very efficient as well.
The property is beautifully designed and well presented down to the finest detail . And the entire staff that we met, including housekeeping, was committed to making our stay comfortable. This was all that much more impressive because of the value. I have paid a much higher price in my travels and gotten a lot less.
The entire experience was fantastic and exceeded my expectations.
I would recommend this "boutique" hotel to anyone who visits Monterey.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unclepeetza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2009

Set up a golfing weekend in Pebble Beach, and didn't want to blow my budget on a stay at one either the Lodge or the Inn. There are several hotels from which to choose on Munras Avenue, but by far, the Mariposa Inn was the best.

Very clean, close to golf/sightseeing, and the townhouse rooms are quite spacious.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

Thought this was the best boutique hotel in Monterey. Great facilities and Service. The outdoor Fire pit was a true relaxing place. The rooms were very nicely done. Mariposa Inn is true hidden treasure in monterey.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pramodpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2009

The Mariposa Inn isn't perfect but bless their heart, they're trying.

I'm guessing many of these reviews were written before their remodel as it does not fit any of the descriptions given. We arrived later on a Saturday evening and was greeted by a modern looking lobby (with glass stone fireplace and warm colors / modern furniture) plus an extremely friendly front desk person. She was so nice and gave a wonderful first impression of the hotel. Another nice perk: we were booked for the Executive King but were given a free upgrade a townhouse (which is funny since there were only 2 of us!) which was nice. I thought the rate was reasonable (~$199) especially for Monterey.

The room(s) itself were very modern with dark furniture and nicely remodeled bathrooms. The upstairs bathroom had a large tub and I loved the sinks! Plus they provide robes! The towels were not at all like the scratchy ones you find at the budget motels but soft and fluffy. Great schwag as well, most of it was H2O plus but I noticed after a few days they started slipping in Ecossentials. No, don't do it! They refilled every day though which was appreciated. The downstairs showerhead was better though.

Plenty of room for 5 people. King bed upstairs, pull down full sized murphy downstairs (next to the fireplace!) and I'm not sure if the couch was a pullout but it could've been.

The garden / patio area is beautiful with nice outdoor heaters and a fireplace. Also a large outdoor couch that would be fun for a large group. Free breakfast was pretty decent and the person in there was really friendly and accommodating. She told us we didn't have to leave just because it was 10!

The only seeming problem I could see with the Mariposa is upkeep. I noticed they were lax about a few things such as the legs on the desk not being polished or water spots left on the sink faucet. Also there were some chipping on the door of our room. Since we had two bathrooms, it wasn't as annoying but the upstairs showerhead was somewhat broken and the heat lamp would blink on and off after a few minutes. As long as they maintain what they are trying to present, I think this is a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed, iPod alarm clock, bathroom, flat screen TVs, internet
  • Disliked — Daily cleanliness wasn't always perfect
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkchompsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We had read the reviews on Trip Advisor, and the positive comments about the Mariposa Inn are all true. The staff was accommodating, friendly, helpful, and offered suggestions for our stay. The inn sells passes to the Aquarium, local sights and tours, which purchasing through the inn was convenient for us since we have two little ones who don't like to stand in long lines for tickets. The continental breakfast offered a wide variety of fresh fruit, pastries, breads//muffins/bagels, and juices/coffee/tea. It held us over until we could get into town to eat lunch. It is conveniently located near PCH, the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, and a mall across the street for shopping or dining. The room was so modern, with thick towels, soft linens, a refrigerator, and a microwave! The fireplace was perfect for heat and ambiance. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank GfromOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing