We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the Hotel and all the Amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the Hotel and all the Amenities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2009

My husband, my mother n law & I were upgraded to a two bedroom suite. We really enjoyed our room. My mother n law was suppose to stay with us for only one night but once we were upgraded and were surrounded with plenty of room for everyone, she decided to stay the entire time with us. She was downstairs and we occupied the upstairs room. We enjoyed the pool area and free breakfast daily. The staff was great from the ladies helping us at check in to the cleaning crew.
This was our 4th time staying at this hotel and believe me it has come along very nicely. This was the first time we really stayed around and enjoyed the room.
Hats off to the staff and renovation of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAGIRL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    289
    114
    33
    42
See reviews for
219
359
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

This is a nicely renovated hotel with a lot of free amenities, e.g. free wi-fi access, parking and continental breakfast. Location wise it's pretty close to downtown Monterey, I was able to walk to downtown in half an hour (don't recommend walking back thorough it's mostly up a bit a slope). Del Monte shopping centre is right across the road where you'll find Whole Foods and various relatively main stream dining options. It's also close to Carmel so be sure to check out the quaint shops there, it's only a short drive away.

I was upgraded to a king room with a fire place, but it faces the main street so traffic noise could bother a light sleeper. Another thing, the walls are thin and you'll hear almost everything. I'll still come back though as the rooms are clean, the sheets are clean, soft and feel very nice to the touch plus a group friendly, professional staff team. For the price point, you'll getting a lot of bang for the bug, just be sure to ask for a room away from the main street traffic.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LelandGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

We had previously stayed here last November 2008 and was very happy so decided to book another stay. When they said there was a $99 per night special from Sunday to Thursday I thought it was a great deal. Unfortunately this time they place us in room 219. This faced out towards the street and one can be awakened by the traffic in the morning. What bothered me the most was that the room had paper thin walls. We slept very little the first night because we were awakened several times by a crying baby in the next room. In the morning we were rudely awakened by a noisy neighbor talking on the phone in the patio, the drive by traffic and by the upstairs bedsprings creaking in a rhythmic pattern. The second night we had some next door neighbors eating pizza and staying up very late talking. There would be nothing wrong with this except I could hear very word of their conversation. I could even tell that they had a strong southern accent.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

My family and friends of ours all stayed at the Mariposa Inn and Suites this past weekend and we enjoyed the time very much. I wanted to comment particularly on the service we received from the person at the front desk. There were a total of 6 of us staying at the hotel and all of us found her friendly, helpful and available the whole time we were there. The rooms were big and clean and the pool area was spacious and attractive. Good hot tub. We had two teenagers in our group and they liked it as well. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgrosssanfrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2009

My husband and I booked a one-night stay as part of our trip along Hwy 1 from San Francisco. We booked mainly because of reviews on Trip Advisor, location, and special price as part of the Monterey tourism website. The rooms are exactly as advertised - very nicely decorated with an oriental touch. Well equipped with high-end toiletries, coffee and tea. Each unit has a bar frig, ipod dock (nice touch), and microwave - an added bonus if you are staying a few days. Terry robes were provided. Our room had a kingsize bed with high-end linens and a fireplace (which worked perfectly). Breakfast was simple but satisfying - cereals, fruit, yougurt, fresh fruit, and fresh baked goods, coffee and juice. It was an ample start to the day. We had an outside room rather than one that faced the gardens, and the hum of traffic on the major road outside the hotel could be heard - it wasn't terribly loud - just an annoying background noise - and a flaw in an otherwise enjoyable stay. Staff were very helpful in finding an appropriate restaurant and directing us to the 17-mile drive (which is only moments away). The computer was a bonus and was up and running - and gave us an opportunity to check our e-mails. We read of a Lebanese restaurant as part of a previous review of the Mariposa but could not locate it in the phone book or in any of the restaurant listings. However, on the way to another restaurant we came across it, and we had a very enjoyable Lebenese meal (my husband is of Lebanese extract). The food was homemade, delicious, and very well presented. The restaurant itself is quite plain, but we were very pleased with our meal. It was also very reasonably priced. The restaurant is Maha's and it is on 470 Alvarado Street, which is the main downtown street, very close to the Mariposa Inn.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlifetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
419 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

Great updated suites and rooms. We stayed in one with 2 TVs and a fireplace. The suite was excellent and great value. We would stay here again. I echo most of the comments from previous reviewers. Great value, clean, good breakfast and well appointed and decorated suites.

If the Managment would concentrate on fixing the small things this property would be not just great but Outstanding.
The cons as we saw them are as follows and they are minor in nature but just thing that if done would make this place so much better.
When checking in we asked if we could store our luggage as we were early. We were advised by the front desk they did not have a luggage room. We found out the next day that they did but we were not allowed to use same.
The spa temp the first night was cold(too cold to use) it was fixed the next day. Our gas fire place did not work and was not fixed for the 4 days of our stay.
The suite had everything but no wine glasses.
The pool and spa frenquently ran out of towels.
On one day our bed was not made just the covers pulled up.
One night the lights in the pool and spa were not working.
A group of guest wanted the outdoor fireplace on one night but the hotel staff did not know how to start same
The internet in the lobby was difficult to navigate and some of the desk staff had no idea how to make it work

As we stated this is a great property and we would stay here again. Hopefully the management will get on top of the maintance issues. Other guest complained of similar problems but all really liked the Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birtleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

This review is biased - it is definitely influenced by the fact that when we arrived, we were told that had received a free upgrade to one of the hotel's best rooms. Yes, we really enjoyed the luxury of a fantastic spa bath in our room, but it was much more than a great room that made our stay.
We arrived two hours before check-in and our room wasn't ready, but the receptionist gave us a map, suggestions for lunch places and a free phone number that we could use to check when our room was ready. The level of service, and attention to detail, was consistently high throughout our visit.
This hotel has everything that defines a good hotel - well-furnished, comfortable, clean rooms, a reasonable quality (continental) breakfast, pool, free wi-fi, parking, convenient location (it's about a mile and half from Monterey town centre, slightly further from Cannery Row and the aquarium). However, it's the extra details that distingish a good hotel from a great one - the fantastic toiletries, the firepit areas, the computer, with printer, available for guests to use, the double showers, the bottled water. This hotel really excelled with the attention it paid to doing everything it could to make the guests' stays as comfortable and enjoyable as possible, and that's why we really enjoyed our, way too short, stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fancyrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.8 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#34 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing