We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We showed up late, and were greeted by very friendly faces saying, "We've been waiting for you!" The room was a very nice size with beautiful decor and a great bathroom.Very cool sink. Reliable wireless internet. Wish we had time to take advantage of the pool and deck area. Good continental breakfast in the morning. No problems, great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vix3n422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

596 - 602 of 799 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2009

The rooms had been renovated recently. All is new and clean. Room is a bit small (we stayed in a room with 1 king bed with no fireplace). The location is okay, it is closed to highway 1 and a few minutes drive to Cannery Row and old town.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into my room at the Mariposa Inn. Not only was the staff accommodating by letting me check in two hours early, but they also gave me a free upgrade on the room. Everything about this place is unique and beautiful. All the other hotels on the strip have the pools near the street but here it is quietly tucked away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great value in a room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikefuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I picked this hotel based on other reviews I read on TripAdvisor and I was very happy with my choice! In the very over-priced and expensive Monterey area, the Mariposa had the only reasonable rates with a touch of modern elegance. Our room was small....the king bed didn't leave much floor space available...but full of unexpected amenities. At every turn I could see the thought and care taken into providing comfort to their guests: bathrobes, soft sheets, extra blankets, ipod player alarm clock, etc. I was quite surprised at the amount of goodies they were able to pack into the small room.

The bed was quite comfortable and noise from the road was not a problem. What I particularly liked was the skylight in the ceiling. Again, thinking about their guests' comfort: the main window in the room looks out onto the walkway in the bog-standard motel style, so one is able to close the curtains for privacy yet still have lots of natural light flowing into the room. Just great!

The staff were friendly and helpful. I didn't swim in the pool yet it looked inviting.

Overall, a very pleasant stay for a very decent price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desertbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Wow. Very nice room (one queen room is small, but adequate). Even though room was near the street - no complaints about noise as in earlier review. Staff friendly with excellent restaurant recommendations. Wide variety of good quality food for breakfast. Excellent value and even better with AARP rate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houstonkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

what a great place! dave our host made our stay so wonderful, so many ideas and full
of directions who needs mapquest!
we ended up staying two nights instead of one & with an upgrade.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wld3inukiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Having spent a two wonderful days with my girlfriend in and around Monterey we can thoroughly recommend the Mariposa Inn and can only echo the positive comments people have previously written. The room, service, complimentary breakfast, location, rate etc, etc…. everything was great.

The only negative thing of note was that our room was near the hotel entrance and a communal walkway (laid out like a typical motel) and a few people kindly decided to have prolonged, loud chats directly outside our room at 1am and then again at 6am. Although this was obviously not the fault of the hotel it may be worth requesting a quieter room in the complex (i.e. nearer the pool) so ask for one of them.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buzz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
3 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £77 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing