We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, modern Hotel with unexpected amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 13 July 2009

My husband & I stayed at Mariposa Inn for my birthday. We were pleasantly greeted when we arrived & upgraded to one of the King Spa rooms. We knew it was going to be a great stay! We were blown away when we walked into our room, it was great! The rooms are very modern & clean. They have a heated outdoor pool & jacuzzi as well. There is a nice breakfast included. I would definitely recommend this hotel & plan to stay here again when I take my mom to Carmel for her 60th birthday.
The management has done a great job of upgrading this hotel, I would say it competes with the best of the 4 stay hotels in the area...it's definitely not a 2 star hotel!

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ohmslaw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 594 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stayed here for one night in July 2009. Came a bit early, but that wasn't a problem at all. Even got a free upgrade to a room with fireplace by the very friendly clerk.

The room was pleasant, quite big and a nice bathroom. Our main concern was that there wasn't any A/C, but that turned out to be no problem. It was cool enough with a window pane open to have a good night's sleep. The continental breakfast was OK. Didn't have time to test the pool and hot tub, though.

The hotel is quite close to Hwy 1. Took us about 10 min to drive to Cannary Row and Montereay Bay Aquarium, so we felt a bit out in the woods. Fortunately there's a very nice shopping center (Del Monte Shopping Center) across the road, and there we found some great places to eat. The clerk recommended LALLA Grill, which was incredible! (At the cinema end of the Del Monte center.)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirikiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We arrived at the Mariposa two hours early after a very exhausting drive from Yosemite. Not only did they let us check in early, but they surprised us with a free upgrade to a townhouse suite. My boys walked in the room and and exclaimed, "This is awesome. I wish we could stay here longer." They really like the pull down Murphy Bed, fireplace, and flat screen TV. I appreciated the very warm and modern decor and SPACE! Little touches like H20 bath products, Wolfgang Puck coffee, and complimentary bottles of water were much appreciated. The free breakfast was varied and delicious. The next time we are in Monterey, we will definitely stay at the Mariposa.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We showed up late, and were greeted by very friendly faces saying, "We've been waiting for you!" The room was a very nice size with beautiful decor and a great bathroom.Very cool sink. Reliable wireless internet. Wish we had time to take advantage of the pool and deck area. Good continental breakfast in the morning. No problems, great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vix3n422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

The rooms had been renovated recently. All is new and clean. Room is a bit small (we stayed in a room with 1 king bed with no fireplace). The location is okay, it is closed to highway 1 and a few minutes drive to Cannery Row and old town.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlueBubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I was pleasantly surprised when I checked into my room at the Mariposa Inn. Not only was the staff accommodating by letting me check in two hours early, but they also gave me a free upgrade on the room. Everything about this place is unique and beautiful. All the other hotels on the strip have the pools near the street but here it is quietly tucked away. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for great value in a room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikefuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

I picked this hotel based on other reviews I read on TripAdvisor and I was very happy with my choice! In the very over-priced and expensive Monterey area, the Mariposa had the only reasonable rates with a touch of modern elegance. Our room was small....the king bed didn't leave much floor space available...but full of unexpected amenities. At every turn I could see the thought and care taken into providing comfort to their guests: bathrobes, soft sheets, extra blankets, ipod player alarm clock, etc. I was quite surprised at the amount of goodies they were able to pack into the small room.

The bed was quite comfortable and noise from the road was not a problem. What I particularly liked was the skylight in the ceiling. Again, thinking about their guests' comfort: the main window in the room looks out onto the walkway in the bog-standard motel style, so one is able to close the curtains for privacy yet still have lots of natural light flowing into the room. Just great!

The staff were friendly and helpful. I didn't swim in the pool yet it looked inviting.

Overall, a very pleasant stay for a very decent price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desertbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,502 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#30 of 56 in Monterey
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £77 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing