We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
308
315
129
37
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
315
129
37
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews murphy bed whole foods yogurt continental breakfast fire pit pool and hot tub flat screen cannery row boutique hotel mile drive busy road waffle maker nice room the breakfast area stayed here for one night big sur fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel on a last minute travel site where the hotel name is concealed before purchase. Price was OK for the area. Rooms are remodeled but the (small) grounds needed a little freshening up. Breakfast was what you would expect - toast, muffins, scones, oatmeal, cereal and OJ, coffee, tea. The one night stay would have been fine but in the middle of the night, we heard either rats or squirrels scurrying around above the ceiling all night (we were on top floor), which made for a sleepless night and they were loud. We will not plan on returning until Management cleans out the attic!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stefanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

We are very sorry, and absolutely shocked that you appear to have had such an experience during your recent stay with us. This is not the usual feedback that we get, and not the usual experience that our guests have. We believe that we provide a clean, safe and comfortable place for our guests to stay. Thank you for your comments - we will investigate this. However, we sincerely wish that you had let us know about these issues with your room during your stay, because we would happily have given you another room to ensure you had a great stay with us. We would love for you to stay with us again - we are sure that everything will be to your satisfaction on your return visit. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

During our 2 week road trip honeymoon, this definitely was the worst hotel on our trip - no air con (get a plug in fan only), no blinds for skylight (you wake up when the sun comes up), rude receptionist and location right on the junction of 2 busy roads which is very noisy.

Pros: The rooms were OK and breakfast had a waffle maker.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gremma_Harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

We are so sorry that your stay with us was spoiled by one member of staff. This is most unusual, we are renowned for our friendly and helpful staff. We will be reviewing your comment with the relevant department, and we will ensure that such an incident does not happen again. It's great that you found the room to be good and that you enjoyed the breakfast. We aim to provide a clean comfortable hotel, and professional service to all of our guests, and the vast majority have a wonderful time with us. We hope that your recent visit didn't inconvenience you too much, and that you might consider staying with us again - we are absolutely confident that you will have a much better experience.

Thank you.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Pros:
Free parking, nice staff, easy to find.
Cons:
We expected a nicer, cleaner room. There was mold or dirt on the wall over the bathroom door, the toilet ran all night, the wallpaper was peeling off the wall behind the sink.
This is NOT a boutique hotel by any stretch. This is a 50's hotel.
Would not go back.

Room tip: I can't add a tip. Only stayed there one night.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Dear Ray, we are disappointed that your room was not as you wished, and that you didn't let us know that you had issues with your room, because we would happily have given you another room. We would love for you to stay with us again - we are sure that everything will be to your satisfaction on your return visit. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

My wife and I visited Monterey for a couple of days of Car Week. We used to stay at Mariposa Inn when our kids were traveling with us due to the availability of the two story suites with a bedroom upstairs for us and a hide a bed downstairs for the kids. We decide to try it again bad stayed I a suite on the third floor. They have updated their rooms since our last stay. Our suite had a nice room on the third floor overlooking the pool area. There was a large bedroom area, nice size bathroom and a smaller sitting area with a sofa bed. The room is really well-decorated and the bathroom has granite counters and a nice curved shower rood which makes for a very roomy shower experience. We have had a really enjoyable stay and despite the crowded breakfast area and somewhat uncomfortable bed we will stay here again. I think it is a good value for Monterey and the location worked out well for us.

Room tip: Our third floor room was quiet and had a nice view out to the pool area.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrDadrwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Glad you decided to stay with us during your visit for the Car week. We're delighted to hear that you liked our refurbished room - that's exactly the feedback that we wanted to hear! We really hope that you'll be back to stay again - we are confident that you will have a perfect experience on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel with clean top notch rooms: HD big screen TV, fast Wifi, good coffee machine, many other amenities, even a cozy fire place was in our room! A simple French style breakfast is included. The nice lady at the reception gave us a list of restaurants in downtown Monterey that proved a winner (see my restaurant review).

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariposaInn, Guest Relations Manager at Mariposa Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Thanks very much both for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us during your recent trip to Anaheim. We are thrilled that you had such a comfortable stay with us, and that you experienced our good, service-focused hospitality.We do hope that you will be back in Monterey, and we look forward to seeing you again when you are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews