We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A reasonable option for a stay in Monterey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mariposa Inn and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Melbourne
Level Contributor
210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A reasonable option for a stay in Monterey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

OK so its not the Hilton and the renovation is kind of (unintendedly) almost a parody of 70s "retro", but we found it clean, quiet, and perfect for our needs - i.e. a comfortable place to stay but not really a place to hang around in. Quite good breakfast also.

Its not close to downtown, though it is convenient to the Highway 1, but you'll need a car if you're to get to the city, shops, fisherman's wharf or cannery row - all within 5 mins drive.

There's a few of annoying things, like non-allocated car spaces (first in best dressed) room door handles that go up instead of down, lack of plugs for the bathroom sinks (apparently the sinks ordered were non-standard) s-l-o-w lifts, and the wireless internet didn't have much juice, but overall not a bad choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    287
    114
    31
    41
See reviews for
215
358
27
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

The Mariposa Inn has been remodeled. It is beautiful! Our room had a fireplace and a flatscreen tv above the fireplace. The room was decorated beautifully. The bathroom sink was outside of the shower/toilet area, which I like. A delicious continental breakfast, with fancy pastries, yogurt and granola, fruit, bagels, etc was included with the room price. Plus in the room was a coffee pot, which I like. The staff was very helpful, giving us maps and suggestions for eating places. There is a nice pool and a hot tub outside, along with two firepits with nice seating around them. The price of this inn was the same as a Ramada and so much better!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbird47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

A wonderfully modern, clean and spacious hotel room with great ammenities. We got upgraded from a king with flat-screen tv to a townhouse suite! Townhouse suite has a queen murphy bed, couch, full bathroom, fireplace, and flat-screen tv on first floor. On the second floor, king bed, chaise lounge chair, full bathroom and another flat-screen tv. Room came with a mini fridge and microwave. There is a swimming pool and outdoor fireplace, so you can gather with friends and families. It's right across from a mall where there are a number of quick bite restaurants. There is a continental breakfast room. I would definitely stay here again and high recommend it! Often gets sold out, so plan ahead and shop around for great rates.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YankeeFan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2009

I agree completely with another review's comparison to a Kimpton Hotel. The hotel is a smaller boutique hotel, and the rooms apparenty had recently gone through a beautiful renovation. The rooms are lovely and spacious, with lovely beds and flat screen tvs. Wireless internet was also free, which was great. Our room had a separated living room, and was more than enough for us and our dog. Although we did not try the pool, it seemed nice, and the outdoor patio was very tasteful - if we had more time, we would have loved to have sit out there to enjoy a glass of wine at night.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast consisted of basic fruit, pastries, bagels, cereal, and the like, and was actually pretty good to start off the day.

The area of the hotel is a little away from the wharf, but there is a mall across the street (which we didn't get a chance to check out). However, it was easy to get around to everywhere we needed to go. We didn't realize until we left the hotel and came back later that there is a whole strip (15+) of hotels/motels leading up to the Mariposa Inn. We can only assume that the Mariposa Inn is one of the nicer hotels.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigTenFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2009

Stayed 2 days, perfect hotel, nice staff, nice breakfast, very nice pool area, good location close to Carmel and Monterey centre, near shopping mall.
Best hotel for that money during our several trips to USA.
Highly recomended!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank couple92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkpur, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We had a wonderful night at this cozy, charming hotel. We love staying at Kimpton Hotels and this reminded us of one with all the careful attention to detail, the lighting in the rooms, the quality materials used in the room etc for such a great price.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carrieclb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2009

My wife and I stopped here for one night on our way to San Francisco. Lovely modern room. Free parking, swimming pool, fridge, microwave, free Wi-Fi, LCD tv,walking distance to a major shopping centre and a very nice complementary breakfast. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bogla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.9 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.3 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.9 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mariposa Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariposa Inn and Suites

Property: Mariposa Inn and Suites
Address: 1386 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mariposa Inn and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mariposa Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariposa Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing