We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fair”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great location, great service, needs a little remodeling.
Hit the local farmers market on Tuesday afternoons/evenings!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    518
    221
    72
    25
See reviews for
372
393
34
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This facility was clean, spacious, and (most of all) in a great location to walk everywhere - but you would have thought something would have been included in the $$$ price! Internet was $12.95 extra. Parking was $20/day extra. Breakfast was extra. You name it and it was extra!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisyfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Hotel needs a renovation, rooms are clean and well maintained but look old. Staff nice and helpful.Wi-fi costs 12.95 per 24h

Parking is Valet only for 20$/day (or park 3 blocks away for 7$/visit).

The only reason to stay there is if you are attending a conference in the Monterey conference center.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

My husband, two kids and I stayed for a Saturday night at the Monterey Marriott. I went through priceline, but didn't end up getting a deal at all--ending up paying the full price I would have paid if I reserved straight through the hotel. Initially I was disappointed finding out it was this hotel we reserved, but figured we'd make the best of it for one night.

The hotel is semi-dated and feels relatively dark on the inside. The hotel room was clean with a good amount of space for all of us (our kids are both under 2). The bed was great to sleep on and sheets felt like a high enough quality to make them soft. We didn't have a great view or anything really special worth writing about in regards to the room, but it worked for us for 1 night. I did use the pool with my older son and it was a decent temperature (tepid...not cool not warm). It was hard to regulate the temperature to keep it constant throughout the night...it would get either warmer than it should or cooler than it should. N

Positives: Very friendly staff and comfortable bed

Negatives: Average feeling hotel, no refrigerator in our room, no great view, close to the aquarium but not walking distance

If you are able to pay under 200 for this room, this hotel may meet your expectations...pay anything much over and you may be kicking yourself for spending so much when you could have paid an extra 100 or so per night to stay a few hundred feet from the aquarium or right on Cannery Row ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StandingRoomOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Pluses
- well located in historic downtown Monterey, five minutes from Fishermans Wharf, beach, shopping, ten minutes from Cannery Row and Aquarium
- service unusually good for even a Marriott, from valet to check in desk to concierge
- great ocean views for many rooms
- good sized health club with outdoor pool

No significant minuses...we would stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okeechobee, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed here overnight for a business meeting nearby. The building is a bit dated, but it was clean, everything worked and every person on staff that I encountered was friendly, professional and ready to help. The hotel's location is only a block and a half to Fisherman's Warf and the coastal jogging trail. There are many places to eat all within walking distance. This hotel would be my first choice on a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JVBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We booked this hotel last minute and were not expecting all that much after reading the reviews here. This hotel truly beat our expectations. Our room was modern, spacious, and had a nice view of the harbor. The hotel staff was courteous and helpful. We would certainly recommend this property if you're looking for a nice, business style, hotel in downtown Monterey.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habs07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
521 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing