We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and beautiful hotel in Monterey”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We stayed here primarily for the convenient location of being within walking distance of the heart of Monterey.

The hotel itself is pleasing in its decor; clean, elegant, and spacious. The service is stellar as well.

The room had a great "beachy" feel to it, and the view was outstanding. The best part though, was their extensive breakfast buffet.

Wow! The layout was magnificent! Everything I could've asked for or imagined in a breakfast buffet was there. Not only was it there--it was excellent quality.

A danish there wasn't just any danish...it was a delicious and delectable danish. Sausage gravy and biscuits? WOW, the best sausage gravy I've ever had. Of course there was a great omelet station as well. I ate so much I had to skip lunch!

The hotel was walking distance from many bars and old fisherman's wharf. Super convenient! We had a great time here!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLINTON1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

I was in town for a conference and found this hotel to be quite convenient to the convention center (of course) in addition to Fishermans Wharf and Cannery Row (about a mile walk but very scenic along the water). Using the conference rate, it really was a very good value for the money. What stood out to me the most were the staff who went out of their way to greet you and to assist you. The room was nicely laid out with plenty of counter space in the bathroom. The only complaint I had were the towels which were threadbare and very thin. It would seem they could cough up a few bucks to have nicer towels! The restaurant was very good as well (I ate breakfast as well as a few lunches). The sportsbar was a fun place to have a drink in the evening. I would definitely recommend this hotel for other travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2g0lf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

The Marriott is in a great spot being a few minutes walk away from the Fisherman's Wharf attractions. The hotel is everything one would expect of a Marriott (incldung the price!), and is very comfortable, well-appointed with very nice rooms. Our room had a particularly comfortable king bed and was very quiet. Our room rate came with breakfast for $10 which was reasonable and the quality of food was good. We had to pay extra for valet parking $20 pewr night) though as there was nowhere else locally to park our vehicle securely. Pricey but very convenient I suppose. One strange thing was that there do not appear to be complimentary in-room safes for storage of valuables. Overall, a nice hotel in a great spot and we would probablt stay there again - if we could afford it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SussexAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Aquarium package was an overall great deal with breakfast buffet included. The staff was very kind, The room was comfy and clean. The breakfast buffet did the trick so we didnt have to go out in the morning. The location was great just a short walk to the wharf and cannary row. The valet parking was costly but very handy and fast service. I will be going back as soon as I can. Also nice pool, hot tub and fitness room that I did not take advantage of.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truthbeheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My sister was at a conference at this location and I joined her for a long weekend. We loved the location, the staff was really friendly and compared to the other hotels, the price was great. The beds wwre really comfortable and the rooms were a nice size. The only complaint is that the bath towels were thin, over worn and over washed. Defintely need to be replaced. The concierge was a doll!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

I Just checked out of the Marriot in Monterey CA. It has a very nice location, just next door to the convention center, and a block or so away to Fisherman’s Wharf. There is lot's to do close by but everything is going to cost you.
The Hotel is an older property but it is fairly well maintained. Our room had new carpet, a flat screen TV, and a nice vanity area. The width of the room was comfortable owing in part to the two double beds instead of Kings. The shower was nice and hot, and clean but it was located in a funky closet with the toilet with a sliding door that made too much noise to close at night so as to not wake your roomies. It was dark in there. The bedding was comfortable and the room was quiet.
The biggest pain was the lack of Wi-Fi in the room. There was ethernet available for 12.95 a day, and it was OK but only one person at a time could access it. there was spotty occasional Wi-Fi in the lobby and convention area. But better Wi-Fi was available in almost every cafe and eatery right across the street. Really, there is no excuse for a hotel of this caliber and at this price range not to have Wi-Fi available in the room. it was a major inconvenience. I've stayed in $45.00 La Quinta Inn's that did better on this score, and actually were more enjoyable places to stay as a result. The room cost $200 per night at a discounted convention rate. Add in the taxes, and Wi-Fi and it was closer to $250.00 per night. The service was OK, but I really don't need someone to open the front door for me all every time I go in and out.
Parking will cost 20 a day for valet service. They do this because their parking is in a garage under the hotel and there isn't enough room down there to park yourself. This made getting your car a little inconvenient, and made keeping stuff in the car difficult. It also made me uncomfortable every time I got my car, not being sure if the valet expected a tip. They didn't get one, except on the last day. That would get REALLY expensive REALLY fast to tip every time you drove somewhere.
They have an exercise room that was actually well used. They had a decent set of free weights, unusual for a hotel. The aerobic equipment was old and poorly maintained. Only one of the three elliptical trainers worked, and that one was wobbly. Each had a TV and they had complimentary earphones you could have to listen with. They also had a water cooler with bottled water for free (the only things complimentary in the whole place). The pool was right outside the exercise room and suitable for lap swimming. The only time I wanted to soak in the spa, it was closed (and remained closed for half the stay). If you stay here, you may prefer jogging to using this room. I had a jog along the waterfront from the hotel room, all the way down to the end of Canary Row and it was about 3 miles round trip.
But the location really was nice. There were downtown cafe's and eateries (the ones the locals use) just a block away. My favorite coffee spot was right across the street (and had free Wi-Fi - Lumiere Cafe). You could, conceivable walk all the way to Cannery Row but you're looking at a 3 mile round trip. For the price you’re better off at the Portola hotel next door; it has a much more relaxed atmosphere and was slightly closer to the Wharf.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quiet_Traveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

If you enjoy having your door opened for you and nice hot showers, this hotel is recommended. Otherwise, prepare to pay a lot of money (we paid 210 at conference rates) for uncomfortable beds, weird, noisy sliding pocket doors for the bathrooms, NO WIRELESS in the rooms and slow to no wireless in the lobby and a spa that is 'down' every time you want to use it. To be fair the service was very good and the desk staff were great. But the room internet was wired ethernet for 12.95 per 24 hours. The conference rooms, where I attended meetings, did not have wireless. The conference promoters had to rig it up themselves.

We were very disappointed in the quality of the rooms for the price. We would have done better at a Holiday Inn Express or La Quinta Inn.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor, and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chardob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,016 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#13 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £137 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a memorable setting at Monterey Marriott. Our hotel in Monterey, California offers guestrooms that feel like a retreat, with perfect views of charming downtown Monterey or the beautiful Bay. We sit in an ideal location, next to the Monterey Conference Center and close to shops and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing