We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel to stay for the Big Sur Marathon”
Review of Monterey Marriott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Monterey Marriott
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel to stay for the Big Sur Marathon”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Perfect hotel to stay if you are doing the Big Sur Marathon! A few steps from the Expo and transportation to the start line is a block away. It is centrally located and much of the activity in Monterey can be done at walking distance. Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are good looking, comfortable, and clean, but bathrooms need to be remodeled. Elevators are very slow. This hotel is perfect for the marathon, but not so perfect for a vacation. I will rather stay in a placer with a breathtaking view.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside pool are very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redsoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    518
    221
    72
    25
See reviews for
372
393
34
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

Our room was well kept and tidy. The bed was extremely comfortable. I wouldn't say that I would stay here again, because it lacks character, but it's worth it if you're into touristy stuff.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrattAttack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Great location for runners. Close to expo center and provide transport to race start.

Staff was excellent with smiles and very helpful with an early check in and request for flowers delivered to the room.

Bathroom shower not clean :( 3rd floor ice maker broken. $20.00 per day for parking is out of line on top of the $280.00 per day charge for room.



  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
580 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Nothing special and no character. It's your average Marriott -- but, with long waits for the elevator. You can do much better if you plan to send time in Monterey

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed here on business for two nights this week and had a really pleasant stay. I had a late flight into Monterey but the front desk staffer was friendly and made an effort to find me the best room she had avaialble even though I didn't ask. I had paid an extra $20 per night to book a "bay view" room, which was worth it given the step-out balcony in the room and the ability to open the sliding glass door and let the bay breezes in.
Everyone at the hotel was really friendly and really helpful, from the front desk, the valets, the bartender in the late-night restaurant, and even the bell assistants. Clearly they have great management and employees here. The room was big, nice bathroom, and very clean. The hotel also is located in the heart of downtown Monterey, which makes it easy to walk around and get a feel for the place. Don't miss a walk along the beach or the recreation trail - just a five minute walk from the hotel. Beautiful and relaxing.

Room Tip: Bayview rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DnvrTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmdale, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had two free nights or probably wouldn't have paid the price to stay here. But, it is a very nice hotel, not too far from anything. We walked to the aquarium. Breakfast buffet was great. Rooms were clean and quiet. People were great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mizkat1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Calif.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed at the Monterey Marriott for a two nights. I love Marriott's in general and this one lived up to my expectations. It's in a great location for a visit to Monterey. You're within walking distance to the pier, shopping and great places to eat. I don't understand the complaints of a cramped room. We had a king room with a sitting area that was quite spacious. I love, love, love the bedding that is used at the Marriott. We had the breakfast buffet in the cafe and it was well staffed with a good selection of hot food. Very nice lobby with helpful staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovemypugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monterey Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monterey Marriott

Property: Monterey Marriott
Address: 350 Calle Principal, Monterey, CA 93940-2416
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Monterey
#12 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#14 Family Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monterey Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Monterey Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monterey Marriott Hotel Monterey
Marriott Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing